• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 8 Clubhouse

Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,574 (1.62/day)
Likes
918
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
just cancel the updating, and then update 1 by 1
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2007
Messages
7,325 (1.91/day)
Likes
995
Location
C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
System Name Unknown
Processor AMD Bulldozer FX8320 @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling XSPC Raystorm 750 EX240 for CPU
Memory 8 GB CORSAIR Vengeance Red DDR3 RAM 1922mhz (10-11-9-27)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Storage Samsung SSD 254GB and Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
Display(s) AOC 23" @ 1920x1080 + Asus 27" 1440p
Case HAF X
Audio Device(s) X Fi Titanium 5.1 Surround Sound
Power Supply 750 Watt PP&C Silencer Black
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
just cancel the updating, and then update 1 by 1
Its been a bit of a pain.

After I got back it got stuck at 13 percent which apparently seems to be due to a sound driver conflict. Since I couldn't get back to windows I had to do a refresh which thankfully worked. Now I'm going to try and uninstall the sound driver and try the updates again, probably one by one.

Its also annoying how HP doesn't tell you what the keys are to enter BIOS or Recovery. Thankfully after using HP so long, I was able to guess what they are. Although I'm sure its online or in the manual, it was convenient when they just told you right then and there.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Another Start Menu: http://www.startisback.com/

Very similar to Start8, cheaper too (2 licenses for $3, 5 for $5). Automatically matches your GUI language.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
732 (0.24/day)
Likes
367
System Name Current
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.8GHz (4.3GHz Turbo)
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Cooler Master 212 Evo Push-Pull
Memory 16GB DDR3 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC x2 SLI
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 EVO SSD + Seagate 2TB HDD
Display(s) 28" Asus PB287Q 3840x2160p
Case Thermaltake Urban S41
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Cougar CMX 700W v3
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 Pro | Linux Mint
Just read a thread here about a Windows 7 Explorer wrapper for Windows 8. Seems interesting. Probably good for those who dislike Metro-style that much.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
Yesterday morning, I got up to go to work. I walked outside and noticed the trashcan at the end of the driveway (trash went out the night before). I set my surface on the roof of my car and walked over to grab the trashcan and take it back to the house. I then proceeded to get in my car and started driving down the street. Made my first left at another street and drove down until I got to RT 1. Made my right hand turn in the middle of 60mph traffic and apparently I had forgotten my Surface is on my roof! (well, WAS on my roof) it had flown off and laid in the middle of the road. I didn't notice my Surface was not sitting next to me for another half mile when I made a very quick U-turn! Driving back the direction I came from with tears in my eyes, I was scanning the roads looking for my tablet. I get down to where I made my turn onto RT 1 and see it laying in the road. I stop (luckily nobody was behind me) and watched the last group of traffic drove by. Each car passed by with the tires on each side of the Surface until the very last car. The tire of the car ran completely over the Surface and next thing I saw was my brand new $700 tablet and touch cover flying through the air in separate directions!
More reading and pictures in the link.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
More reading and pictures in the link.
Looks awfully thick and heavy for a tablet. Would NEVER buy a windows tablet. My Toshiba Excite Tegra 3
with quad core processor and 32 Gb storage is faster and lighter than that paper weight on steroids. Oh I forgot it is also
over $200 cheaper.
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2010
Messages
2,146 (0.75/day)
Likes
499
Location
England
System Name White Noise
Processor AMD 1090T
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Corsair H80 (single pull config) + 3x 140mm ThermalTake Riing fans
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Ballistix Tactical PC3-14900 @1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 Core 4GB
Storage 120Gb OCZ Agility 3 + 2x 500Gb WD Blue (raid 0) + 1Tb WD Green
Display(s) HP 24XW
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi + Samsung HT-C450 via SPDIF
Power Supply BeQuiet! Pure Power 850w + Cablemod custom cables
Mouse Logitech G502 Core
Keyboard Cooler Master Master Keys Pro L
Software Windows 10
Looks awfully thick and heavy for a tablet. Would NEVER buy a windows tablet. My Toshiba Excite Tegra 3
with quad core processor and 32 Gb storage is faster and lighter than that paper weight on steroids. Oh I forgot it is also
over $200 cheaper.
But can it be ran over and still be found working? ;)
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
But can it be ran over and still be found working? ;)
I guess that is a compelling reason to buy the tank. I plan on leaving my tablet on the super highway as soon as it arrives. More useful for shock testing than for those overpriced MS productivity apps. I can see myself really getting off on kicking it and jumping up and down on it. What a Great toy!
 

DynoDon

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Minor update. As mentioned earlier I've got W8 running on a separate HD. Been a week now. No issues. I'm no power user. Rarely have more than 3 windows open. Main uses are a little word processing (Office 2000, we'll see how that goes), surfing (I will have a bunch of tabs open there FWIW), and Quicken 2010. Been using Quicken for years so my data file is a bit large. Takes a moment to load but after that it runs quick. What I really like though is the overall speed. Boots up much quicker. I estimate boot time is 1/3 - 1/4 what it is on W7. Even on my old machine this thing is, for me at least, plenty fast. On a new machine with an SSD it must run at eye-blink speed. With Word, Excell, Quicken, Thunderbird and Pale Moon all open I've still got a gig of ram left so I'm OK with that.

Still being cautious, running 7 & 8 on the 2 different disks but gaining confidence daily. :)
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
582 (0.12/day)
Likes
150
System Name Lambda 4.0
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asrock Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming K6
Cooling NZXT Kraken X41
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB PC4-25600 (2x 8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980Ti GAMING 6GB
Storage Intel SSD 530 180GB, 2x Samsung 840 500GB, Samsung 850 Pro 500GB, 2x WD 1TB Black Edition
Display(s) 2x Dell UltraSharp U2414H
Case Fractal Design Define R5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DGX PCI-E 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite Chroma
Keyboard Logitech G19s
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
I guess that is a compelling reason to buy the tank. I plan on leaving my tablet on the super highway as soon as it arrives. More useful for shock testing than for those overpriced MS productivity apps. I can see myself really getting off on kicking it and jumping up and down on it. What a Great toy!
Somehow I get the feeling you don't like Microsoft products :laugh:
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,902 (2.21/day)
Likes
6,571
Info

By default .Net Framework 3.5.1 is off in Win8. I found a good guide on how to install .net framework offline. It can be good for those who have slow internet or just don't want to waste traffic. You'll need your Windows 8 DVD or you can mount an iso, it doesn't matter.
It's just one line, go to cmd and run it as admin and type this:

dism /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFX3 /Source:X:\sources\sxs /LimitAccess


X is letter of your dvd drive or mounted image
 

DynoDon

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2012
Messages
10 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Howdy all,

I'm running W8 on my old HP Pavilion just fine. My son, the techie, not so good. He has a homemade box running a ASrock MoBo mod P67 Extreem4. Did an upgrade to W8. All OK EXCEPT the lan driver no workie. Latest LAN driver was no help. (He says he found somewhere that on an upgrade install vis a clean install this is an issue. I haven't found that on the net yet.) He then attempted to upgrade the BIOS and Windows won't boot anymore. He's gonna attempt to reinstall W8 and see what happens.

This all happened just tonight so, meantime, any hints?

Thanks!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,130 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,564
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Howdy all,

I'm running W8 on my old HP Pavilion just fine. My son, the techie, not so good. He has a homemade box running a ASrock MoBo mod P67 Extreem4. Did an upgrade to W8. All OK EXCEPT the lan driver no workie. Latest LAN driver was no help. (He says he found somewhere that on an upgrade install vis a clean install this is an issue. I haven't found that on the net yet.) He then attempted to upgrade the BIOS and Windows won't boot anymore. He's gonna attempt to reinstall W8 and see what happens.

This all happened just tonight so, meantime, any hints?

Thanks!
check AHCI/IDE mode in the BIOS, thats likely the case for his no booting after the update.


as for the lack of LAN driver, look for a generic one based on the LAN chipset. or use a spare of some kind (wifi, for example)
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Howdy all,

I'm running W8 on my old HP Pavilion just fine. My son, the techie, not so good. He has a homemade box running a ASrock MoBo mod P67 Extreem4. Did an upgrade to W8. All OK EXCEPT the lan driver no workie. Latest LAN driver was no help. (He says he found somewhere that on an upgrade install vis a clean install this is an issue. I haven't found that on the net yet.) He then attempted to upgrade the BIOS and Windows won't boot anymore. He's gonna attempt to reinstall W8 and see what happens.

This all happened just tonight so, meantime, any hints?

Thanks!
check AHCI/IDE mode in the BIOS, thats likely the case for his no booting after the update.


as for the lack of LAN driver, look for a generic one based on the LAN chipset. or use a spare of some kind (wifi, for example)
Did he clear the cmos on the board after the update.He should and go into bios after boot up and select DEFAULT Options,And then do what Mussels posted.

As for lan drivers does Win8 have them installed when it loads?If yes just use them until he update in Windows Updates,Microsoft is slow on certain hardware drivers in Win8.Also look for a post to a link from Microsoft downloads for them...It should be in this thread somewhere. ok It is post 326 in this thread ....Try searching here

To use this Web site's full functionality, you must be running Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 or later.

http://catalog.update.microsoft.com/v7/site/Thanks.aspx?id=140

http://catalog.update.microsoft.com/v7/site/Search.aspx?q=Atheros+AR9285
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
check AHCI/IDE mode in the BIOS, thats likely the case for his no booting after the update.


as for the lack of LAN driver, look for a generic one based on the LAN chipset. or use a spare of some kind (wifi, for example)
Could also have something to do with secure boot.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
Somehow I get the feeling you don't like Microsoft products :laugh:
No I don't like their overpriced and under-performing productivity apps. If they knew how to write a multithreaded application properly I might have a little respect for them. They are monopolists who write operating system version called windows 8 that has no real reason for upgrading. The user interface is only useful for touch screen users. it is pure garbage for most other people. They want to tie you in to buying their Microsoft store apps when there is no reason to do so other than giving them more money in their pocket. Then they pretend Bing search is better than Google search, what a joke. Has Microsoft ever made a map application that accurately represents all the streets in a given community??? NEVER

Screw them and the crap they palm off on the unsuspecting public.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,889 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
So I was tinkering with a computer a guy gave me, and after swapping RAM and HDDs I'm pretty sure it's something with the IDE controllers. Or cables or whatever. However I found a SATA port there so I plugged in an old laptop drive and tried that and lo behold I was greeted with a Windows 8 Dev Preview!

So i can confirm it works on these hardwares:

Prescott Celeron 2.4 Ghz
First generation 5400rpm SATA HDD
256MB DDR

It's not usable, I've spent like 10 minutes just to get here and posting.:p But it works! I have snother 256MB memory to put in so I'll try it again I think. Or not. But now I know the problem of the computer.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
I went into an electronic store yesterday and I saw a few laptops running windows 8. I thought I would mess around with it, see what it's like. I clicked on music headphone tile, and then xbox music opened up. I couldn't for the life of me figure out how to exit the application, or why xbox music opened up. So I turned around and walked away.

Anyway, my sister is running a sony vaio n series I think it is. Any chance I could whack 8 on it?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Metro apps don't close, they just move to the background. You can kill them with Alt+F4 but there's no close button. To "exit" an app just press the start button.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Messages
679 (0.37/day)
Likes
738
System Name Hard Times
Processor X3450@4Ghz
Motherboard Asus P7H55M
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 12gb DDR3 1333Mhz CL 9@1600 CL7
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 980 Xtreme@1500Mhz
Storage SanDisk Extreme 120Gb SSD (os) , WD Caviar Blue 2 TB (Games), WD Caviar Green 1TB (Storage)
Display(s) 32" Samsung HDTV 1080P
Case Fractal Design Focus G Mini
Audio Device(s) Onboard HDMI
Power Supply EVGA G2 550w
Software Windows 10 Pro CU
You can close them, right click on their open thumbnail at the top left when on a different screen and click close.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
397 (0.21/day)
Likes
83
Location
Brooklyn, New York
Processor AMD FX-9790 at 4.65 GHZ
Motherboard Asus Crosshairs V rev 1.0
Cooling Swiftech H320 cpu liquid cooling
Memory G. Skill Trident X 8GBx2 (16 GB) 2400 mhz dimms
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 290
Storage 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD, 500 GB Samsung 840 Sata III SSD, Samsung 840 PRO 240 GB Sata III SSD,
Display(s) Samsung 23 inch LDEC monitor
Case Rosewill BlackHawk Ultra Full Tower Gaming Case
Power Supply Seasonic 860 watt Platinum Plus 80 psu
Software Windows 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench 11.5 64 bit Open GL 81.46 FPS Cinebench 11.5 CPU 7.93
You can close them, right click on their open thumbnail at the top left when on a different screen and click close.
And that is simpler than closing an app on win 7 ??? Bullcr-p!
One more reason not to move to windows 8!!!!!!!!
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
You can close them, right click on their open thumbnail at the top left when on a different screen and click close.
Good to know. Not like I use metro apps anyway. :p
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
Metro apps don't close, they just move to the background. You can kill them with Alt+F4 but there's no close button. To "exit" an app just press the start button.
You can also just grab the top of the app and drag them to the bottom of the screen and they will close.

And that is simpler than closing an app on win 7 ??? Bullcr-p!
One more reason not to move to windows 8!!!!!!!!
Read what I just said above. Just as simple as win7.