• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 8 FREE Developer Build

Joined
Aug 23, 2009
Messages
2,454 (0.80/day)
Likes
593
Location
Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
System Name Current gamer
Processor Intel 980X
Motherboard Evga Classified
Cooling Phanteks
Memory 12 GB
Video Card(s) VisionTek 7970
Storage Samsung 256GB ssd - WD 1TB
Display(s) ASUS 144Hz
Case NZXT Phantom Enthusiast
Power Supply Antec 1200
Software Win 7 64
Installed it the other day no problems. Installed CPU-Z and when it launched it crashed the OS...in no mood to mess with this any further lol. :laugh:
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
560 (0.23/day)
Likes
22
Location
Islamabad
System Name Hhumas-PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Extreme CPU X9650 @ 3.00GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.0GHz
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling ZALMAN CNPS 9700 NT 110mm 2 Ball Ultra Quiet
Memory OCZ Platinium 2x2GB
Video Card(s) ZOTAC GeForce GTX 680 2GB 256-bit GDDR5
Storage WD Green 500 GB , WD 500 GB
Display(s) Dell U2410F
Case Casecom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Corsair HX1000
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 32 Bit
i have downloaded it .. but i am unable to install it .. also created its boot able usb .. but when i start its setup it doesn't show any hdd or partition where do i install it
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,936 (2.20/day)
Likes
6,640
i have downloaded it .. but i am unable to install it .. also created its boot able usb .. but when i start its setup it doesn't show any hdd or partition where do i install it
I've heard someone had this problem too. They booted with live cd (windows pe), initialized and formatted drives (as nfs indeed). After that windows 8 boot dvd/usb was able to recognize them.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.10/day)
Likes
1,331
I've heard someone had this problem too. They booted with live cd (windows pe), initialized and formatted drives (as nfs indeed). After that windows 8 boot dvd/usb was able to recognize them.
Use ctrl+f10 or shift+f10 or something during setup, then start diskpart and use clean on the disk. No other live disk required.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,640 (2.87/day)
Likes
8,536
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,936 (2.20/day)
Likes
6,640
Today I disabled Windows 8 Defender and tried to install some free antivirus software: (as admin with 7 compatibility of course).

I tried to install AVG. It failed with severe error on the last stage of installation.

Then I tried to install Avast. From the first attempt it didn't even run, from the second attempt it bsod'ed with kernel error. Wonderful.

And finally I tried to install Avira. In the beginning it said I need to uninstall Windows Defender (pffft as if it was possible, it was off anyway). However it installed just fine and even did a quick scan. But after scan was complete avscan.exe gave "the instruction referred memory at blah and memory can't be read". As if I could do anything about the memory. Oh joy.

Ok so getting back to Windows Defender then, LOL happy day.


p.s. safely removing USB drives sometimes ain't as easy under W8 as I'd desire.


Just found a thread on MSDN so yeah AVG ain't gonna work (error I got was absolutely the same as theirs)
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Fo...l/thread/d85883bb-6d62-4efe-a600-cf250d739ee4
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.55/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
Joined
May 4, 2007
Messages
2,165 (0.55/day)
Likes
361
Location
Wallingford, CT
Processor Intel i7-5930k
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X99
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 4x8GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666 15-17-17-15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
Storage 1x Plextor PX-512M6S SSD, 1x WD 750gb HDD, 2x Hitachi 2TB HDD, 1x Seagate 4TB HDD
Display(s) 2x Dell P2314H
Case Fractal Define R4
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse ROCCAT Kone Pure Color White
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB - Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Professional x64
Also, added the NEW 8012 build to the OP.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Downloading right now. I will install it in a VM and if it performs well then I will install it in a partition like the previous build.
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2010
Messages
5,125 (1.78/day)
Likes
1,665
Location
Manchester uk
System Name Quad GT evo V
Processor FX8350 @ 4.8ghz1.525c NB2.64ghz Ht2.84ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte 990X Gaming
Cooling 360EK extreme 360Tt rad all push/pull, cpu,NB/Vrm blocks all EK
Memory Corsair vengeance 32Gb @1333 cas9
Video Card(s) Rx vega 64 waterblockedEK + Rx580 waterblockedEK
Storage samsung 840(250), WD 1Tb+2Tb +3Tbgrn 1tb hybrid
Display(s) Samsung uea28"850R 4k freesync, samsung 40" 1080p
Case Custom(modded) thermaltake Kandalf
Audio Device(s) Xfi creative 7.1 on board ,Yamaha dts av setup
Power Supply corsair 1000Rmx
Mouse CM optane
Keyboard CM optane
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 15.69K best overall sandra so far
Yeah, I know. I have windows eight on an external drive, and if I disconnect the drive, it will offer both and default to windows 8, even though the volume containing that system is missing.

using MSCONFIG you should be able to turn off that selection or the option to boot the os load screen at all, plus more besides and make that new type of boot permanent after testing it of course ive rid my pc of old os's boots this way many times

i didnt like win8 at all and metro is not for me
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
WTF It says I don't have sufficient physical memory but I allocated 512 MB, even with 1 GB :confused:



It even says the same in the physical machine *Goes to re download the ISO again*
 
Last edited:

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
its not system RAM it needs, its hDD space. sounds like it might want that 100MB partition for boot stuff.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
its not system RAM it needs, its hDD space. sounds like it might want that 100MB partition for boot stuff.
Nah finally was a corrupted ISO download, strange never happened me that :confused: the message above appears straight when I booted from the ISO :)
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,936 (2.20/day)
Likes
6,640
Check isos on their checksums after download if you don't want to get them corrupted.

The MD5 for the 32-bit download is 9b7798438fa694ecfa465c93a4c23c97
For 64-bit is dfcb53c7b32351784c37e5de0a7b1167
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.50/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Check isos on their checksums after download if you don't want to get them corrupted.

The MD5 for the 32-bit download is 9b7798438fa694ecfa465c93a4c23c97
For 64-bit is dfcb53c7b32351784c37e5de0a7b1167
Cool, thanks! I didn't knew that utility! effectively, the previous downloaded ISO had mismatched checksums. The new downloaded one matches fine :) Now I am installing it!
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.52/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Also, added the NEW 8012 build to the OP.
No offence but 8102 is the same as Sept 15 when it was released nothing new in it. Mine from the Sept 17 install reads 'Evaluation Copy. Build 8102_winmain_win8m3.110912-1733.92eb4451821f0730', and that was what I tried telling in the other post Windows Developer Preview is build 8102.......Just wanted the OP of the other thread to post in here.

PS
I seen in the other thread that if you ran win update in Win8 it goes to 8102,So yeah nothing new if you did that already. And mine has been reading 8102 since Sept 17 like I said it did an update .
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,586 (1.33/day)
Likes
2,743
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
anyone got MSN or any other chat programs able to work? So far I can only run Steam. Games wise, Warcraft and the Curse add on manager are working just great and im noticing a little less memory usage when playing WoW and using a browser w/ 4 tabs open for FB games.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.84/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
mmm... I don't seem to be able to mount ISO images:



Was the option removed or something? Both Alcohol 52% and DaemonTools won't install properly so I'm left with no way to mount ISOs.
 

gbird

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
35 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Montego Bay, Jamaica
System Name TSHAPECREATIONS
Processor AMD PHENOM II X4 965
Motherboard ASRock 890GX PRO3 AM3+
Cooling Thermaltake V1
Memory Kingston Hyper X 1600mhz 2x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon 6870
Storage 750GB/320GB/160GB WD/SEAGATE SATA II
Display(s) HANNS.G 22'' HDMI FULL 1080p
Case NZXT M59
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Power Supply SeaSonic S12II 520 Bronze 520W 40A 80-87 PLUS BRONZE
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
I have been using the Developer Preview from the same night it went live on a MSI WIND U160DX Netbook as the default OS. It runs ok seeing that its not even a beta but a pre build. I have no problem installing Deamon tools and mounting ISO. The boot/resume time is ridiculously fast. Cant wait to try out the beta in January.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
5,936 (2.20/day)
Likes
6,640
Was the option removed or something? Both Alcohol 52% and DaemonTools won't install properly so I'm left with no way to mount ISOs
No it wasn't. It works perfectly. When I right click on iso file it gives two options burn and mount. (in Windows 7 only burn).


Just checked: these options disappear and icon as well if you install some third party app that works with iso (7-zip, nero etc).
 
Last edited: