• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows Defender can Significantly Impact Intel CPU Performance, We have the Fix

Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Messages
990 (0.81/day)
Location
Tel Fyr
System Name Purple Haze | Vacuum Box
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (-30 CO) | Intel i7 3930K 4.5GHz, 1.4V single - 1.36V all core load
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max | Gigabyte G1.Assassin 2
Cooling Dark Rock 4 Pro, Arctic P14 & P12 case fans | NH-D14, Arctic P14 & P12 case fans, 2x Sunon 45x10 VRM
Memory 32GB Ballistix (Micron E 19nm) CL16 @3733MHz | 32GB HyperX Beast 2400MHz (XMP)
Video Card(s) AMD 6900XTXH ASRock OC Formula & Phanteks T30x3 | AMD 5700XT Sapphire Nitro+ & Arctic P12x2
Storage ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB, Toshiba P300 3TB x2 | Kingston A400 120GB, Fanxiang S500 Pro 256GB
Display(s) Mi 2K Gaming Monitor 27", AOC 24G2U
Case Modded MS Industrial Titan II Pro RGB | Heavily Modded Cooler Master Q500L
Audio Device(s) Audient iD14 MKII, Adam Audio T8Vs, Bloody M550, HiFiMan HE400se, Tascam TM-80
Power Supply Rosewill Capstone 1000M | Enermax Revolution X't 730W (both with P14 fans)
Mouse Logitech G305, Bloody A91, Amazon basics, Logitech M187
Keyboard Redragon K530, Bloody B930, Epomaker TH80 SE, BTC 9110
Software W10 LTSC 21H2
"Completely remove the software and all associated files, folders, and registry items." the best solution indeed.
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
447 (0.15/day)
System Name My system is my pet?
Processor Intel Core i5 9400f 2.9GHz/4.0 Turbo (NoOC)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370M D3H rev. 1.0
Cooling An okayish Cooler but it is better than Intel's stock
Memory Corsair Red Line 8x2 16GB 3000MHz (NoOC) DDR4-3000 15-17-17-35 (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15R) V1.35 ver 4.24
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce MSI 980 Ti Golden Edition (NoOC)| Spare: GTX 650 Ti 1 GB
Storage Samsun 860 EVO 1 TB | Spare: WDC Black 930 GiB WD1003FZEX
Display(s) Asus VG248QZ 1920x1080 144hz 24" (Current: 60hz, because Contrast is lowered with 60+ Hz)
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply Corsair 850W RMi power supply (Overkill I know -long story-)
Mouse Logitech M187 wireless (First day of use 30-9-2021)
Keyboard Logitech K270 wireless
Software Windows 10 21H2 / Nobara Linux (Modified Fedora Linux)
Nah it doesn't delete - it quarantines them. You can do two clicks and get them back and excluded from future scans (It doesnt like a few of my router hacking tools, but it's also clear that they're "Hack Tools" and potentially unwanted)

When you compare the results instead of techspots view on them, it's not quite what they make you think
Equal best protection, equal best usability, 5.0 of 6.0 for performance

The ones they recommend like Avast have constant popups peddling addons and upgrades, so i'm not sure how that's got better usability
View attachment 298710

Their forums had the best answer on this one (Still an issue now, older post was just the funniest and first hit)
View attachment 298711
With Avast, I do custom installation with only the needed components installed. I don't get any of those crapware that you mentioned. Then, I also set it to "Game Mode". With this setting, I don't get nagged. Works pretty well.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,061 (4.07/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
With Avast, I do custom installation with only the needed components installed. I don't get any of those crapware that you mentioned. Then, I also set it to "Game Mode". With this setting, I don't get nagged. Works pretty well.
That's just the thing, when you install the bare minimum, it nags you about some other stuff you "should" install. Complete with the usual "we have detected X on your system, but if you install Y from us, it will take care of it for you".
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,061 (4.07/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Not that I've seen. The diferences are in the edition of Windows being used. Home deletes without prompting. Pro handles things depending on user configuration.
Considering the target audience, that's probably the right thing to do. Annoying as hell for those of us that know how to use a computer.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,061 (4.07/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Deleting files without gaining user consent is NEVER the right thing to do.
I was just poking at users that just click "next", "next", "next" and then they're like "umm... I didn't do anything".

Technically, if you can determine that a file contains a virus that has already wiped some of the data/code in the file, you can't recover that. It's ok to just delete it. But first you'd have to determine that with a (very) high degree of confidence.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
20,628 (3.41/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 7950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Elite X670 AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory 64GB (4x 16GB) G.Skill Flare X5 @ DDR5-6000 CL30
Video Card(s) XFX RX 7900 XTX Speedster Merc 310
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply FSP Hydro Ti Pro 850W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeed Wireless
Keyboard WASD Code v3 with Cherry Green keyswitches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (legit), Gentoo Linux x64
I was just poking at users that just click "next", "next", "next" and then they're like "umm... I didn't do anything".

Technically, if you can determine that a file contains a virus that has already wiped some of the data/code in the file, you can't recover that. It's ok to just delete it. But first you'd have to determine that with a (very) high degree of confidence.
Still as a tech always gain consent to do so, trust me. Right it may be, but you don't want an angry customer, even if it's an irrationally angry one.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
That's just the thing, when you install the bare minimum, it nags you about some other stuff you "should" install. Complete with the usual "we have detected X on your system, but if you install Y from us, it will take care of it for you".
As someone else pointed out in those links/threads, it begins to spam you once it does scans, or detects certain types of activity. Can take a bit before it begins the nagging and it's extremely offputting.

Not that I've seen. The diferences are in the edition of Windows being used. Home deletes without prompting. Pro handles things depending on user configuration.
I've never seen that - it moves them to quarantine to stop them being able to trash your PC while it waits for a user to click something, but it's never, ever deleted them outright.
Googling this shows it to have been the default back in windows 10 as well unless a group policy was set.

They'd never have gotten away with deleting false positives without a massive backlash
1685765586646.png


And then this:
1685765622349.png



So it may delete if its a KNOWN virus, while PUP's and 'tools' are quarantined
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,553 (6.56/day)
Location
USA
I've never seen that - it moves them to quarantine to stop them being able to trash your PC while it waits for a user to click something, but it's never, ever deleted them outright.
Googling this shows it to have been the default back in windows 10 as well unless a group policy was set.

They'd never have gotten away with deleting false positives without a massive backlash
1685765586646.png


And then this:
1685765622349.png



So it may delete if its a KNOWN virus, while PUP's and 'tools' are quarantined
See this is the problem with microsoft's nonsense, their variable policies cause so much uncertainty and confusion. This is a perfect example of why I don't bother messing with it at all. It get's deleted and replaced by something that works the way it's supposed to. I have better things to do with my time than to sort through microsoft's incompetent BS.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
See this is the problem with microsoft's nonsense, their variable policies cause so much uncertainty and confusion. This is a perfect example of why I don't bother messing with it at all. It get's deleted and replaced by something that works the way it's supposed to. I have better things to do with my time than to sort through microsoft's incompetent BS.
I dont see how its variable?

Delete if known 100% to be malware, quarantine if it's in a grey area
(Where it'd be bad in a work/business environment, but a home user can over-ride if they did want it)

As an example, keygens and eth mining tools end up in that second category - they dont go overboard and delete a keygen just because its for microsoft products, for example.

I dont see how it's possible for any AV to NOT delete known viruses immediately... what else are you expecting?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,553 (6.56/day)
Location
USA
I dont see how its variable?
How do you not? They change there minds more often than most people buy new pants. The decision makers at microsoft frequently go in circles on policies, sometimes as frequently as in-between updates.

what else are you expecting?
USER PROMPTING and complete information WITHOUT the fear-tactic wording.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
58,413 (8.24/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570-F (BIOS Modded)
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.15V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.750v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Phillips 32 32M1N5800A (4k144), LG 32" (4K60) | Gigabyte G32QC (2k165) | Phillips 328m6fjrmb (2K144)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE ( Sexy white keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
Benchmark Scores Nyooom.
How do you not? They change there minds more often than most people buy new pants. The decision makers at microsoft frequently go in circles on policies, sometimes as frequently as in-between updates.


USER PROMPTING and complete information WITHOUT the fear-tactic wording.
As someone using the AV, i'm not getting that experience in the slightest.
I'm not seeing it change behaviour, it's consistent.

Confirmed known dangerous active viruses are instantly deleted, anything potentially wanted is quarantined - and you get a popup telling you and offering you a choice of what you want to do

You're talking about things without explaining what you even mean... i'm not seeing these changes. I showed a link from a few years back with windows 10 showing its the same as now in 11.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,553 (6.56/day)
Location
USA
You're talking about things without explaining what you even mean... i'm not seeing these changes. I showed a link from a few years back with windows 10 showing its the same as now in 11.
You don't install and reinstall various versions and editions of Windows on a daily basis. I do. Try it sometime, you'll figure out what I'm talking about fairly quickly.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
13,061 (4.07/day)
Processor Intel i5-12600k
Motherboard Asus H670 TUF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 2TB Crucial MX500
Display(s) Dell U3219Q + HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Confirmed known dangerous active viruses are instantly deleted, anything potentially wanted is quarantined - and you get a popup telling you and offering you a choice of what you want to do
Both can't be true at the same time. I get what you mean, but poor wording ;)
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,206 (1.25/day)
Not only has this issue not been fixed by Microsoft, the same reduced performance problem is happening on Intel's 12th Gen CPUs. When this issue first surfaced last year, Windows Defender was not running its secret and probably broken code on 12th Gen and newer Intel CPUs. Now it is.


If you have a 12th or 13th Gen CPU, try running the Counter Control program. Usually about 5 minutes after booting up, part of Windows Defender will start up doing something important.
 

Computerjul

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2023
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
Not only has this issue not been fixed by Microsoft, the same reduced performance problem is happening on Intel's 12th Gen CPUs. When this issue first surfaced last year, Windows Defender was not running its secret and probably broken code on 12th Gen and newer Intel CPUs. Now it is.


If you have a 12th or 13th Gen CPU, try running the Counter Control program. Usually about 5 minutes after booting up, part of Windows Defender will start up doing something important.

Can i use ThrottleStop on a Desktop-PC? I do not have a laptop or notebook but i would like to have the performance boost for Windows Defender but i dont want to change anything else.

I downloaded the software and started it and i can see that "BD PROCHOT", "SpeedStep" and "C1E" are enabled by default. I just want to get the performance boost for Windows Defender and keep everything else on the default settings and default behaviour like it would be without ThrottleStop. What settings would you recommend in this case or should i not use ThottleStop on a desktop at all ?

Kind regards
 
Last edited:

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
7,206 (1.25/day)
Can i use ThrottleStop on a Desktop-PC?
I use ThrottleStop on my desktop computer everyday. As long as your computer has an Intel CPU that was released during the last 15 or so years, ThrottleStop should work fine. What CPU does your computer have?

Post some ThrottleStop screenshots if you need help.
 

Computerjul

New Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2023
Messages
2 (0.01/day)
I use ThrottleStop on my desktop computer everyday. As long as your computer has an Intel CPU that was released during the last 15 or so years, ThrottleStop should work fine. What CPU does your computer have?

Post some ThrottleStop screenshots if you need help.

Thank you. I have a Intel i7 6700k (Skylake) in my desktop. Yes, so i have a few questions regarding these 3 options that are enabled by default and my question is somewhat tricky to explain.

- BD PROCHOT
- SpeedStep
- C1E

In your guide it says "On older CPUs (pre-Skylake), toggles the software-level governance of CPU clockspeeds". Does that mean this option has no effect at all in my case since i have a Skylake CPU ?

The option BD PROCHOT sounds like it is not necessary on a Desktop with a GPU & CPU that have good cooling. BUT if this is a default Windows feature that is enabled by default anyways, regardless of whether ThrottleStop was ever started or not, then I could also leave it on since it doesnt change the default behaviour of my computer which is exactly what i want. Or is this a features that come with ThrottleStop. It sounds like a laptop feature or is this a general Windows thing that also applies to desktops ?

By default (without using ThrottleStop at all) my CPU clock is always changing between 0.80 and 4.00Ghz most of the time depending on what i am doing. Is this behaviour called "C1E" or is this something else that comes with ThrottleStop ? The reason im asking is i am curious what changes the application exactly makes to my computer as soon as i start the app. Because all i want is the Windows Defender Boost and everything else should behave in the same way it would without using ThrottleStop. But since there are these 3 options that are enabled by default i thought they maybe change the default behaviour of my computer. Thanks in advance for the help.

Unbenannt.PNG


Kind regards
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
1,269 (0.35/day)
Processor i7-4790K 4.6GHz @1.29v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII Z97
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) Asus Tuf RTX 3060 V1 FHR (Newegg Shuffle)
Storage OS 120GB Kingston V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300, 500GB M.2 @ x2
Display(s) Lenovo y27g 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse Glorious Model D
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : needs updating
Was this ever officially addressed or is this fix still used?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,553 (6.56/day)
Location
USA
This issue was not fixed. I have heard from users that have told me it also happens to the 12th Gen and newer processors. This issue was swept under the carpet.
Are you sure? I have not seen it in recent system builds. Since about September, everything seems well. (You know me, I'm no microsoft defender LOL!)
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
8,946 (6.07/day)
Location
Louisianna
System Name Ghetto Rigs z490|x99|Acer 17 Nitro 7840hs/ 5600c40-2x16/ 4060/ 1tb acer stock m.2/ 4tb sn850x
Processor 10900k w/Optimus Foundation | 5930k w/Black Noctua D15
Motherboard z490 Maximus XII Apex | x99 Sabertooth
Cooling oCool D5 res-combo/280 GTX/ Optimus Foundation/ gpu water block | Blk D15
Memory Trident-Z Royal 4000c16 2x16gb | Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb
Video Card(s) Titan Xp-water | evga 980ti gaming-w/ air
Storage 970evo+500gb & sn850x 4tb | 860 pro 256gb | Acer m.2 1tb/ sn850x 4tb| Many2.5" sata's ssd 3.5hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 | Cherry Entertainment center on Test bench
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with 2-Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1000P2 with APC AX1500 | 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U
Mouse Redragon 901 Perdition x3
Keyboard G710+x3
Software Win-7 pro x3 and win-10 & 11pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Never hurts to keep WD in check.
 
Top