• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows Home Server Power Pack 1 Coming Soon

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Microsoft has detailed plans to update its Windows Home Server OS with the release of Power Pack 1. Coming soon, most notably the first Power Pack for Home Server will fix the corruption issues that have plagued the OS since its release. The flaw has been acknowledged by Microsoft for some time now, but until now nothing major has been done.
Due to the nature of the shared folder data corruption bug (KB #946676) a broad beta test program with sufficient time for feedback is required. The time line for a final release will depend on this feedback and testing, in order to deliver a fix of the highest quality. To meet our goals for the beta test we need the number of beta testers who are actively using and testing the Power Pack 1 beta to ramp up very quickly
Microsoft issued this statement to all Windows Home Server users. If you want to participate in the Power Pack 1 beta process, head on over to the Microsoft Home Server website.

Show full news post
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#2
wow... they sure are taking their time time with those issues.. Interesting it's going to be called a Power Pack vs. a Service Pack.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2007
Messages
179 (0.05/day)
Likes
11
System Name My last amd rig for now i love my new i7
Processor Amd fx-9590
Motherboard ASROCK Fatal1ty 990fx pro
Cooling liquid
Memory G. Skill Ripjaw ddr3 1600 x32gb
Video Card(s) Dual AMD XFX 7990
Storage Samsung 840 pro
Display(s) asus
Case Dell 1520 c2d@2.6 4gb ddr2 667 8600m gt 500gb 7200rpm hitachi
Audio Device(s) Asus ROG g60J I7@2.8 8gb ddr3
Power Supply Antec 1200w
Software windows 7 x64
#3
they arent really taking their time for a service pack/power pack it usually is a year to year and a half process think about between sp2 and sp3 was like what 5 years this has been a less than 6 month old os so its really fast shoot this beta was nearly out in time for the vista sp1 release which is over twice as old as whs. i am happy and signed up for the beta hopefully this will smooth out my back up so x64 vista will finally be supported in the console like suggested from microsoft then i can finally take stupid xp off my system ( i keep it just to run the console back up) lol
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2007
Messages
1,140 (0.29/day)
Likes
63
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
System Name Cozad (Asus G60JX)
Processor Core i5 M 430
Memory 8 GB DDR3 1066
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce 360M
Storage 500GB
Display(s) 16 inch LED LCD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#4
I didn't mean the time it took to launch a Power Pack, I meant the time it took to correct the file corruption.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#5
we want x64 support!
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,946 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#6
I can has a need for virtulisation. WHS, Server 08. I might try the new virtualisation manager with this.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#7
There is NO EXCUSE for such a delay to fix corruption issues. Just goes to show that no "home user" is in a position to sue the pants off MS. So MS is complacent and takes its time. If MS had such an issue on their datacentre range of servers YOU BET THEY WOULD BE UP 24-7 FIXING THE ISSUE.
 

JoJoe

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
106 (0.02/day)
Likes
14
Location
California
System Name J64
Processor AMD Athlon 7750BE @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard ASRock AOd790GX/128M
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Memory 4Gb Wintec DDR2-800 (4x1Gb)
Video Card(s) ATi Radeon HD 4830
Storage 2 X 320GB Seagate in RAID 0
Display(s) 19" LG Flatron
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Claro
Power Supply 600w Seasonic M12
Software Microsoft Windows XP 64-bit
#8
The reason why it has taken so "long" to fix the corruption bug is that the bug is in a core part of the operating system. Takes time to fix things like that. Also, the extensive testing to make sure the bug IS fixed takes time.

And, honestly, the corruption is failry rare.

People need to realise that WHS is not a total back-up solution. No one back-up device is. "Don't put all your eggs in one basket." You know? If your data is really, truly important to you, you'd have it backed up in more than one place.