1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wireless Router

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Thermopylae_480, Feb 2, 2007.

  1. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Is there a way to use a wireless router to connect to a wireless network? Kind of like using the router as a wireless network adapter, and having it connected to your computer via ethernet.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
  3. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    If your device (or both?) supports roaming you can do it, otherwise it's most likely possible with some models. It depends on the software that's on the router. Linux routers for example should be relatively easy to mod. (ie from AP mode to client, routers often use normal mini pci nics)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    It's a Linksys WRT54G, modded with the DD-WRT firmware. Which I think is Linux based.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    556
    Location:
    Earth
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    8,671 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,663
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I was going to use the word "Bridge", which is exactly what this article describes using the WRT54G. That box is the enthusiasts dream for firmware hacks. Beware that there are multiple versions of the WRT54G, and I think some firmware only works with some particular versions.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)