• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

World Community Grid February Team Challenge

Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
It says 0db cooling so I guess they're right.


145 unlocked!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 9, 2008
Messages
4,561 (1.34/day)
Likes
2,700
Location
Kingston, Ontario Canada
System Name My Rig | Kids Rig
Processor Core i5 3570K @ 4.0 ghz 1.15 vcore | FX 8350 @4 ghz
Motherboard EVGA Z77 FTW 1.21 BIOS |Gigabyte 990FXA UDH (rev 4.0)
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO R2-push/pull with 2x 120mm PWM | CM Hyper 212
Memory Mushkin Blackline 4GB x 2 1600mhz XMP profile |G. Skill 4GB x 2 DDR3 1866mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 8gb | Asus Strix R9 390X 8GB
Storage Kingston SSDNOW V300 120/240 GB OS & Games / 1000 GB Data | 320GB OS / 500GB Data & Games
Display(s) Samsung S24D590 24" PLS 5ms 60hz refresh with Enhanced Sync | BenQ GW2270 22" VA 5ms 60hz refresh
Case NZXT 810 Switch |Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DSX w/ Logitech z623 | Realtek
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 750W 80+ Gold | CoolerMaster GS750M 80+ Bronze
Mouse Razer Diamondback Chroma | Tt Level 10M
Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma w/ meka-membrane keys | MadCatz S.T.R.I.K.E. TE w/ Kailh brown
Software Windows 10 Pro | Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Thanks to Norton/Lt_JWS/Guitar for the 2nd pc parts :)
I have decided to throw the AMD Laptop into the mix. I really don't want to stop work on my 7870 so i will use the AMD dual core to get a few CPU WU's in so i may qualify for the prizes (already did cpu wu's for a day on the i5).
 

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Tried to see if the board would run the 965 from my Phenomenal rig but it's hardlocked into 800Mhz for some reason :confused: CnQ disabled and changing multipliers don't do anything.

The 965 isn't supported but the 955 is; I lowered the multi to 16 but it's still going at 800Mhz as if CnQ was locked. Power options at maximum performance. Latest bios flashed.

Weird thing though, the CPU support list puts the 955 as a 95w CPU but it's actually rated for 125w.
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,527 (1.12/day)
Likes
6,075
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
Dual P3 800MHz, Linux.
Core 2 Duo Mobile 1.8GHz

When will this average... erm.. average out?


Tried to see if the board would run the 965 from my Phenomenal rig but it's hardlocked into 800Mhz for some reason :confused: CnQ disabled and changing multipliers don't do anything.

The 965 isn't supported but the 955 is; I lowered the multi to 16 but it's still going at 800Mhz as if CnQ was locked. Power options at maximum performance. Latest bios flashed.

Weird thing though, the CPU support list puts the 955 as a 95w CPU but it's actually rated for 125w.
Does the board identify the processor? It sounds like it's an unsupported CPU and it's just running in "Failsafe" mode until you flash a BIOS that adds compatibility. I had the same problem with putting my X6 in my DFI LanParty DK 790FXB (fixed with a new BIOS).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Goddammit, this is giving me a headache. For some reason the Asus 6450 will only work with the asus drivers BUT it doesn't have the OpenCL/DC libraries :banghead:

I installed several drivers, 12.4 all the way to 13.2b5, none worked with the card, CCC failed to load saying that there was no ATi hardware present and device manager shows "Standard VGA card". Installed the Asus drivers included on the CD which worked but didn't have the libraries so I looked at the asus website to download updated drivers but they are the same ones as the CD. OMFG!

Tried to force feed the driver on the device manager but Windows says that it doesn't match the card. I tried to use the asus driver and install the libraries from 13.1 but it doesn't work (GPU-Z shows OpenCL/DC unchecked).

I guess that asus puts a different device ID on the bios, otherwise it should work fine with the AMD drivers. Going to flash the card to a different bios tonight, wish me luck.



EDIT: maybe I should just edit the INF file. Anyone knows how can I learn the dev id of the card?
 
Last edited:

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Dual P3 800MHz, Linux.
Core 2 Duo Mobile 1.8GHz

When will this average... erm.. average out?




Does the board identify the processor? It sounds like it's an unsupported CPU and it's just running in "Failsafe" mode until you flash a BIOS that adds compatibility. I had the same problem with putting my X6 in my DFI LanParty DK 790FXB (fixed with a new BIOS).
That Pentium 3 is doing a sweet job there! :roll:

I get about 650 PPD from a PentDC Mobile 2GHz, so I'd expect it would average out just below that. It usually takes a couple weeks for the average to reflect what is actually happening.

I think that the board identifies the processor--with the HP DC5800s I have, they will POST/boot with an unsupported CPU, but until I update the BIOS it gives a warning every time it boots and runs the fans at 100%.
 

C4LIN

New Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Location
Bucharest, Romania
Count me in!

It's official now! I'm proud to announce a Team challenge for the last three weeks of February and first week of March. The competition will run from February 8th to March 8th.

The requirements & rules:
  • Post in this thread saying that you're joining the competition
  • Crunch at least 25,000 BOINC points for TPU's WCG team (this is doable even with a Core 2 Duo--I want everyone to have a chance)
  • (Preferrably) turn in points at least half of the days between Feb8 and Mar8
  • Winners will be chosen on March 8th or 9th with Random.org
  • You can enter late! If you don't see this until after the 8th, still post saying you're interested, and drop me a PM!
Count me in guys! :rockout:
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
Phenomenal enters the fray.

phenomenal.JPG



I would bring Green Tea online but I'm afraid of poping a fuse or something. :fear:
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2006
Messages
4,527 (1.12/day)
Likes
6,075
Location
Washington, US
System Name Lappy
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Sager NP9870
Cooling A lot smaller than I'd like
Memory Samsung 4x8GB DDR4-2133 SO-DIMM
Video Card(s) GTX 980 (MXM)
Storage 2xSamsung 950 Pro 256GB | 2xHGST 1TB 7.2K
Display(s) 17.3" IPS 1080p G-SYNC
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-FI MB 5, Foster 2.1 channel integrated
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard 3-zone RGB integrated
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Not slow
I would bring Green Tea online but I'm afraid of poping a fuse or something. :fear:
= MORE CRUNCHING!

I'm just kidding. Don't actually do it. It's a safety hazard.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
I'm pulling my hair out with the asus 6450. It indeed uses a different device ID (1002-6779) than standard 6450's and the latest driver on asus website is 8.861 (cat 12.6). OpenCL support requires driver ver. 9 (cat >12.10). Tried to mod the inf file but it still gives me error. I don't know how customized are these so I think it's more problem than is worth.

I'll pickup another and sell this one as I don't think the shop will take it back just because asus doesn't have updated drivers.

Goodbye to the most bitching HD6450. It wasn't mean to be :cry:

 
Last edited:

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,902 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,115
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
Lets add a copy of TorchLight 2 to the giveaway :toast:
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
worked out the 6450 troubles :D



Managed to OC the 145 to 3.4GHz and the 6450 at 800/800. Going at 1 WU every 35 minutes
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.89/day)
Likes
8,478
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine
Processor Intel 4790K
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX
Cooling Corsair H100i and video card custom loop
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer
Video Card(s) Dual liquid cooled HD7970's (Thanks to Norton!!!)
Storage Crucial M4 256 gig SSD
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum
Software Windows 10 Pro

[Ion]

WCG Team Assistant
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
13,391 (4.45/day)
Likes
14,251
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
System Name Niedersachsen / Ribe / Minsk
Processor i3 3240 / i7-3520M / 4x Opteron 6376 @ 2.86GHz
Motherboard BIOSTAR H61M / HP Q77 / Supermicro H8QG7
Cooling Stock / Stock / 4x 1U G34
Memory 1x8GB / 2x4GB / 4x4GB
Video Card(s) GTX260 / Intel HD 4000 / nVidia GT310
Storage 80GB Intel SSD / 256GB Intel SSD / 2x 60GB SSD (RAID1)
Display(s) Dell 3007 + HP 2245w / 12.1" 1366x768 / None
Case Antec NSK3480 / HP / Supermicro 1U
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax 500W / HP 130W / Supermicro Gold 1400W
Keyboard IBM Model M
Software Windows 7 (Niedersachsen/Ribe) / Linux Mint 17.2 (Minsk)
Awesome! :toast: :respect:

That HD6450 looks really funny with the Zalman cooler :D
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
What was the solution to the problem TRWOV?
IRQs. Changed an option in bios "Assign IRQ to PCI" to Enabled. I guess that the IGP was conflicting with the card somehow... maybe due to Hybrid Crossfire?


EDIT: BTW, is there some way to unlist a device? I re-installed Windows while troubleshooting and it appears twice on the devices list. I uninstalled the boinc client before re-installing Windows, I thought that would do it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
It is allright, it always does that per installed OS, in case people multiboot. It won't cause any harm.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
867 (0.29/day)
Likes
207
Location
London, UK
System Name The one under the desk / Media Centre
Processor Xeon X3730@3.6GHZ / Phenom II X4 805E
Motherboard Gigabyte P55M-UD4 / Asus Crosshair III
Cooling Corsair H70 + 2*PWM fan / Arctic Alpine 11
Memory 16GB DRR3-1333 9-9-9-27 / 4GB Crucial DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCU GTX 680 / Gigabyte 560TI
Storage Kingston V200 128GB, WD6400AAKS, 1TB Seagate 7.2kRPM SSHD / Kingston V200 128GB
Display(s) Samsung 2343BW + Dell Ultrasharp 1600*1200 / 32" TV
Case C'M' Silencio 550 / Some ancient SilverStone brushed aluminium media centre
Audio Device(s) No.
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower XT 675W / EVGA 430W
Mouse Mionix Naos 3200 / Generic PS2
Keyboard Roccat Ryos TKL Pro / Evoluent Mouse Friendly Keyboard (Logitech OEM)
Software Windows 7 Ult x64
Benchmark Scores Nah.
If there's coil whine on a silent gpu, is it false advertising? it's more than 0db
Iirc, silent is actually defined for advertising purposes as a set level of noise, which most people would consider audible.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2005
Messages
307 (0.07/day)
Likes
187
Location
Neuchâtel, Switzerland
Processor AMD FX-8350 "Vishera"
Motherboard Asus M5A99X EVO
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G.Skill DDR3 2133MHz 16GB
Video Card(s) CrossfireX Asus 5850
Storage Crucial C300 128GB
Display(s) Samsung SA950
Case Coolermaster Storm Sniper
Power Supply Corsair AX850
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Deadline question(s)

Questions about deadlines.

I have some WU scheduled and I don't think my PC is going to get around to even starting some of them, let alone finish them.

What happens to them?

Should I stop crunching (with the GPUs) and do more FLOPs (cpus) to see if I can do more cpu tasks only?

Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
If they go past the deadline they'll get dropped AND the other people working on the same WU won't get validation. If you're having that problem set a lower buffer or no buffer at all and use Mindweaver's auto report utility so that WUs get uploaded when finished (the client uploads WU every 2 1/2 hours by default).

If you're only working on GPU WUs uncheck all other proyects except Help Conquer Cancer on the projects page on the website, that way you won't get more CPU WUs. To finish the current CPU WUs you have suspend all the HCC WUs, go to the projects tab, select WCG and press "Don't ask for new tasks". After finishing the WUs set it back again.

Another way is to cancel the WUs but I don't know if that does something to your rep :confused:
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,670 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,213
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
Questions about deadlines.

I have some WU scheduled and I don't think my PC is going to get around to even starting some of them, let alone finish them.

What happens to them?

Should I stop crunching (with the GPUs) and do more FLOPs (cpus) to see if I can do more cpu tasks only?

Thanks in advance.
If you're running gpu wu it will still provide cpu wu's- if you intend to use just the gpu then see the info on this post to disable the cpu wu's:

http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2837778&postcount=21556

It's best to do that if most, or all, of your cpu is being used for gpu work ;)


If they go past the deadline they'll get dropped AND the other people working on the same WU won't get validation. If you're having that problem set a lower buffer or no buffer at all and use Mindweaver's auto report utility so that WUs get uploaded when finished (the client uploads WU every 2 1/2 hours by default).

If you're only working on GPU WUs uncheck all other proyects except Help Conquer Cancer on the projects page on the website, that way you won't get more CPU WUs. To finish the current CPU WUs you have suspend all the HCC WUs, go to the projects tab, select WCG and press "Don't ask for new tasks". After finishing the WUs set it back again.

Another way is to cancel the WUs but I don't know if that does something to your rep :confused:
These tips are helpful too (Thanks TRWOV! :toast:) as far as "rep" is concerned, yes at a certain point you will be restricted by WCG if you have too many aborts, errors, invalids, etc... so it's best to avoid these if you can- once the rig has established a record of good results then you tend to get more favorable work.
*Note- I don't know the exact criteria for the restriction or its nature :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
I was afraid of my little 1000VA regulator not keeping up when I want to play on a console since I've connected 3 PCs, 4 consoles, receiver and switch to it. Usually only 2 or 3 things are on at a time so 1000VA seemed enough but since the 3 PCs are crunching now I picked up some peace of mind:


View attachment 50076

1800VA should be enough. :toast:
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
Does a regulator ensure stability on the electricity (voltage, ampèrage, etc.) your devices use? Wikipedia did not help me much.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
It's protection mainly. If the voltage or current gets too high the fuse in the regulator will blow instead of letting the damage get to your devices. It also corrects voltage spikes and drops.



edit: goddamned Windows update, it restarted Phenomenal but it was stuck in post because of a MAC problem. Don't know how long it was like that :banghead: If I hadn't changed the AVR I don't know when would I have noticed it. Crunching now.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
7
System Name N/N
Processor AMD 1055T @ 3800 MHz
Motherboard M4A785TD-V Evo
Cooling Hyper 212+
Memory Ripjaws 1600 CL7 2x 2048
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic
Storage WD Blue 640 Gb
Display(s) LG 23"
Case CoolerMaster 690 II Basic
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DG
Power Supply CoolerMaster Extreme Power+ 460w
Software WinXP 32 SP3
Benchmark Scores I'm just too old for benchmarks
It's protection mainly. If the voltage or current gets too high the fuse in the regulator will blow instead of letting the damage get to your devices. It also corrects voltage spikes and drops.



edit: goddamned Windows update, it restarted Phenomenal but it was stuck in post because of a MAC problem. Don't know how long it was like that :banghead: If I hadn't changed the AVR I don't know when would I have noticed it. Crunching now.
The fuse opens when the current gets too high, voltage could be very very high and the fuse remain untouched. In a stabilizer, voltage regulation is performed by relays and AC transformers. The main problem with those devices is that generally they have bad quality (slow response) components, which worsen the AC output instead of stabilize it. For example, think a <0,5 sec. electricity "micro-cut", relays sets to "push" more voltage, but when the input stabilizes there is a mechanical delay before the relays goes back to normal, so the output becomes high voltage... you don't want that in your PC. Besides that, the stabilizer also consumes electricity, if you put your hand over the casing, you should note that is warm. Heat comes from electric energy (see Joule Effect) and goes to waste.

The primary of a PSU takes care of those AC fluctuations using a more effective way with big capacitors, transistors and PWM ICs. So if you feel uncomfortable with plugging your PC directly in the outlet, you might consider use one decent Online UPS instead the "chinese-made" regulators/stabilizers. I'm not saying you have one of those bad stabilizers, just telling for your information :)
 
Last edited: