• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X1600 add voltage controls please

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,164 (3.77/day)
Likes
1,428
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#26
Yes I think I could modify the memory timing in Rabit, but not in ATi tool for the x1600pro/I would flash it IF I new it was safe for it.
 

ARTOSOFT

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
369 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Singapore
#27
Voltage modification for my ATI PowerColor x1600pro 512MB AGP fail! I can only increase Vgpu from 1.29v to 1.30v. That's already half the way of VR (~5k), and I can't go further 1.30v. Test with ATITool also always reset my PC, even I can reach 599MHz for Core, not worthy. So sad, probably my card have lemon GPU on it :banghead: .

Luckily I still can return it to the condition before trying voltage modification...

Regards,
Arto.
 

ARTOSOFT

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
369 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Singapore
#28
I don;t want to sound like a broken record, but how does the powercolor x1600pro with the extra bios they give you OC 100 without uping the voltage?
DaMulta, do you know where to download OC bios for x1600pro 512MB AGP?

My last resort to squeeze extra juice from my card...

Regards,
Arto.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,164 (3.77/day)
Likes
1,428
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#29
No I have looked for that bios everywhere.


Lucky I go 570 on the gpu on my with a zalman 7300 and it locks withen 5 minites.

550 is super stable for me.

I hit 3940 on 05 my last try,/But now that I have a new MB, and memory in this machine I need to see where its at now.
 
Last edited:

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.79/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#30
guys the overclock bios you are talking about just has different memory timings as w1zz arlready said. the extra few mhz u will gain from is it not worth the latency.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,164 (3.77/day)
Likes
1,428
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#31
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=31565


Doom 3 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 47.6 33.0 24.7
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 53.6 38.9 28.9

Doom 3 High Quality FSAA 4X + Aniso 8X 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 29.8 20.4 13.3
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 34.8 24.1 15.8

Far Cry 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 61.33 46.36 34.17
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 68.85 50.91 40.25

Far Cry High Quality FSAA 4X + Aniso 8X 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 37.34 26.91 17.41
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 43.38 31.77 20.64

Half Life 2 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 58.74 48.70 42.14
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 63.07 57.15 49.06

Half Life 2 High Quality FSAA 4X + Aniso 8X 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 41.39 26.58 20.73
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 45.61 31.76 24.65

Quake 4 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 80.4 56.6 43.1
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 90.5 66.3 49.7

Quake 4 High Quality FSAA 4X + Aniso 8X 1024x768 1280x1024 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 56.1 39.0 25.0
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 64.3 46.0 29.3

FEAR 1024x768 1280x960 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 41 30 19
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 46 33 24

FEAR High Quality FSAA 4X + Aniso 8X 1024x768 1280x960 1600x1200
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 25 16 10
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 30 20 13

Composite Figures 3Dmark 03 3DMark 03 Game2 Game3 Nature
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 7255 50.8 43.3 50.9
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 8446 59.8 50.1 59.6

Composite Figures 3Dmark 03 Single Texturinng Multi Textur. Vertex Shader Pixel Shader 2.0
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 1137.5 1953.0 35.3 46.3
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 1347.9 2345.0 41.1 54.5

Composite Figures 3Dmark 05 3DMark 05 Game1 Game2 Game3
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 4250 19.4 12.5 20.3
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 4953 22.3 14.7 23.7

Composite Figures 3Dmark 05 Single Texturinng Multi Textur. Pixel Shader VS /VS complex
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 1237.0 1997.6 95.7 50.4/37.3
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 1460.8 2398.4 114.6 60.4/44.7

Composite Figures 3Dmark 06 3DMark 06
Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 1913
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 2243

SM2.0 Test Score GT1 GT2


Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 680 5.076 6.258
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 795 5.876 7.380

HDR/SM3.0 Test Score HDR1 HDR2


Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 711 6.438 7.774
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 850 7.728 9.263

CPU Test Score CPU1 CPU2


Power Color X1600 PRO 500/800 MHz 512MB 1783 0.572 0.890
Power Color X1600 PRO 600/945 MHz 512MB 1851 0.583
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,164 (3.77/day)
Likes
1,428
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#32
4105 in 05 now
 

ARTOSOFT

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
369 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Singapore
#33
guys the overclock bios you are talking about just has different memory timings as w1zz arlready said. the extra few mhz u will gain from is it not worth the latency.
Interesting, could you please explain more?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Arto.
 

powerup

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
70 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#34
Pentium 4: Clock 2.4GHz, FSB 533MHz. Memory DDR 333MHz 1Gb.
ATI PowerColor x1600PRO 512MB AGP + Zalman VF-900CU LED, ATITool: Core 576MHz, Memory 468MHz.
--3dmark01: 13,037.
--3dmark03: 7,302.
--3dmark05: 4,152.
Have you tryed WarCat 6.8... You will get way more points than that with WarCat 6.8. I got 4559 in 3dmark05 after WarCat 6.8 I got 4675.:toast:
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.79/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#35
the Overclock Bios you were talking about eariler.

all it could possibly be is a different set of memory latencies as there are about 4 core areas that impact a clockspeed, those are:clock frequency (set is bios), memory latency (set in bios, voltage (done on hardware with x1600 so no software voltage control) and heat controlled by the adaptive fan control (set in bios).

those four things are what u tweak to get better performance.

that so called overclocking bios more then likly increases memory latencies allowing for higher frequencies. that in itself is a bad thing as the ram doesnt have much potential in the first place (128bit data bus). that bios also more then likly increases the set fan speed per certan temp. such as stock bios may have the fan at 35% @ 40c the overclocking bios may have it at 50% at 40c, therefore keeping the core cooler allowing for a higher overclock.
 

powerup

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
70 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#36
the Overclock Bios you were talking about eariler.

all it could possibly be is a different set of memory latencies as there are about 4 core areas that impact a clockspeed, those are:clock frequency (set is bios), memory latency (set in bios, voltage (done on hardware with x1600 so no software voltage control) and heat controlled by the adaptive fan control (set in bios).

those four things are what u tweak to get better performance.

that so called overclocking bios more then likly increases memory latencies allowing for higher frequencies. that in itself is a bad thing as the ram doesnt have much potential in the first place (128bit data bus). that bios also more then likly increases the set fan speed per certan temp. such as stock bios may have the fan at 35% @ 40c the overclocking bios may have it at 50% at 40c, therefore keeping the core cooler allowing for a higher overclock.


That temp is hot, My Blower fan controller broke so its on the motherboard but its 30% slower but its a HOT day out today. My Commin temps are 39c on idel and 47c on load

Anyways, Look at my memory. So far with any other card that has 128-bit never got that far
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.79/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#37
um...every x1600xt beats that as the ram chips are rated 700mhz... that is a very nice overclock for a x1600pro however. im guessing its a pci-e 256mb one?
 

powerup

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
70 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#38
um...every x1600xt beats that as the ram chips are rated 700mhz... that is a very nice overclock for a x1600pro however. im guessing its a pci-e 256mb one?
nope, Powercolor X1600Pro 512MB AGP that takes floppy connection. I have the thread to volt mod it but I dont know how to use the metter to get the voltage etc..:slap:

EDIT: Rember ati tool shows half of the ram speed. 459mhz x 2 = 918MHZ
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.79/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#39
nope, Powercolor X1600Pro 512MB AGP that takes floppy connection. I have the thread to volt mod it but I dont know how to use the metter to get the voltage etc..:slap:

EDIT: Rember ati tool shows half of the ram speed. 459mhz x 2 = 918MHZ
yeah go look at x1600xt spec: 587mhz core 1380mhz ddr ram. like i said the mem chips are specd about 700mhz. also known as 1.4ns.

on the other note that is a very good overclock given the ram and the fact that the agp bridge likes the overclock. my buddies wouldnt touch 550 even though we knew it could clock higher.
 

ARTOSOFT

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
369 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Singapore
#40
yeah go look at x1600xt spec: 587mhz core 1380mhz ddr ram. like i said the mem chips are specd about 700mhz. also known as 1.4ns.

on the other note that is a very good overclock given the ram and the fact that the agp bridge likes the overclock. my buddies wouldnt touch 550 even though we knew it could clock higher.
That x1600xt IIRC using DDR3 memory. Powerup card and my card using DDR2 memory, only 2.5nS.

Regards,
Arto.
 

ARTOSOFT

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
369 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Singapore
#41
Have you tryed WarCat 6.8... You will get way more points than that with WarCat 6.8. I got 4559 in 3dmark05 after WarCat 6.8 I got 4675.:toast:
Currently I am using DNA driver. In DNA driver, 3dmark06 improved, but not on 3dmark01SE, 3dmark03 and 3dmark05. Maybe I will switch back to ATI catalyst in the future.

Regards,
Arto.
 

powerup

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Messages
70 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#42
That x1600xt IIRC using DDR3 memory. Powerup card and my card using DDR2 memory, only 2.5nS.

Regards,
Arto.
yea DDR2

Currently I am using DNA driver. In DNA driver, 3dmark06 improved, but not on 3dmark01SE, 3dmark03 and 3dmark05. Maybe I will switch back to ATI catalyst in the future.

Regards,
Arto.
Yea, I hate 3dmark01SE, if you have a fast card but slower ram and slower CPU you really pay for it in that benckmark
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,164 (3.77/day)
Likes
1,428
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#43
If you have a His X1600PRo AGP the Iceq cooler is better than the Zalman 7300CUled. It now over heats after 30 mins of bf2 at 550 when before it would run all day all night no problems.
 

ARTOSOFT

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
369 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Singapore
#44
the Overclock Bios you were talking about eariler.

all it could possibly be is a different set of memory latencies as there are about 4 core areas that impact a clockspeed, those are:clock frequency (set is bios), memory latency (set in bios, voltage (done on hardware with x1600 so no software voltage control) and heat controlled by the adaptive fan control (set in bios).

those four things are what u tweak to get better performance.

that so called overclocking bios more then likly increases memory latencies allowing for higher frequencies. that in itself is a bad thing as the ram doesnt have much potential in the first place (128bit data bus). that bios also more then likly increases the set fan speed per certan temp. such as stock bios may have the fan at 35% @ 40c the overclocking bios may have it at 50% at 40c, therefore keeping the core cooler allowing for a higher overclock.
Thanks Kenny for explanation.

Another question, does it affect GPU speed, while if we are talking about memory latency is for memory speed?

Regards,
Arto.
 

ARTOSOFT

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
369 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Singapore
#45
As now I am preparing myself with vga bios editor, vga bios uploader and downloader, I am ready to learn something new: memory timing modification.

Anyone can point me a good link to start? More specific, for my ATI PowerColor x1600pro 512MB AGP with infineon 2.5nS memory chips.

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Arto.
 

Taylor

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#46
X1600 newbie...

Hi all,

I am new to the forums, and had downloaded ATITool 0.25 beta 14 to see if I could learn how to try to squeeze alittle more out of my ATI X1600 PRO 512MB AGP card. Stock cooling. When I've been following your thread since I too have a X1600, but I'm just learning about OC. My first problem, when I opened ATI toll, it says my idle Temp on the GPU is ( as I write this..) 62C, temp chip is 45C.... from what I'm reading, this is too hot and its idleing!!I have the case off hoping this would help, but as you can see , its hot. When I was trying to figure out how to use the tool, I tried the max core function first to see what happens.. it got to around 590 after about 10 minutes, but the temp was running around 79C. I aborted it after about ten minutes of running. I'm still trying to figure out how to use the tool, but I need to know if these temps are too hot, or expected on a overclocked X1600. Any help for the newbie would be gladly appreciated.
Taylor
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
1,773 (0.38/day)
Likes
97
Location
Singapore
System Name Half-fucked overclockedd
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k 3.40Ghz @ 4.20Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67 UD7 B3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2O 920
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3 8GB X2 1866Mhz (Model F3-2133C9D-16GXH)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS 1080Ti Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital Black Cavier 2TB X2
Display(s) Dell U2715H 2560X1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur Spectrum
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional
#47
Hi all,

I am new to the forums, and had downloaded ATITool 0.25 beta 14 to see if I could learn how to try to squeeze alittle more out of my ATI X1600 PRO 512MB AGP card. Stock cooling. When I've been following your thread since I too have a X1600, but I'm just learning about OC. My first problem, when I opened ATI toll, it says my idle Temp on the GPU is ( as I write this..) 62C, temp chip is 45C.... from what I'm reading, this is too hot and its idleing!!I have the case off hoping this would help, but as you can see , its hot. When I was trying to figure out how to use the tool, I tried the max core function first to see what happens.. it got to around 590 after about 10 minutes, but the temp was running around 79C. I aborted it after about ten minutes of running. I'm still trying to figure out how to use the tool, but I need to know if these temps are too hot, or expected on a overclocked X1600. Any help for the newbie would be gladly appreciated.
Taylor

With regards its best to keep your GPU below 70C as being hot for too long might shorten the lifespan of the card. I keep my card at 56C with 100% speed on stock fan.
 

Taylor

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#48
Hi, Thanks for the reply.
Is there a way to keep the fan at 100% without ATI tool running? Until I figure a way of cooling it down so I can run it OC'd, I'm not going to OC it yet. Like I said, at idle, with the fan running 100% it's running at acceptable range, but under load is still getting too hot. I'll fix the cooling problem shortly. Then I'll need to understand a proper way to OC the card to acceptable levels, set it as a profile so I can switch to the profile when running a game or working in my modelling programs. Thanks for the replies!
 

ARTOSOFT

New Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2004
Messages
369 (0.07/day)
Likes
3
Location
Singapore
#49
Hi, Thanks for the reply.
Is there a way to keep the fan at 100% without ATI tool running? Until I figure a way of cooling it down so I can run it OC'd, I'm not going to OC it yet. Like I said, at idle, with the fan running 100% it's running at acceptable range, but under load is still getting too hot. I'll fix the cooling problem shortly. Then I'll need to understand a proper way to OC the card to acceptable levels, set it as a profile so I can switch to the profile when running a game or working in my modelling programs. Thanks for the replies!
Download your vga card bios (it is better to use your own bios), use Rabit to edit bios, flash it back to vga card. There are a parameter contain fan speed according to temperature in bios. Edit all to 100%.

I edit my own bios, now fan speed according to temperature is follow my need.

Regards,
Arto.
 

Taylor

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
25 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#50
Great! I saw a tutorial somewhere about how to make a copy of the BIOS onto a floppy I believe, if I can find it then I'll try copying it and see about Rabit. Thanks artosoft.
Taylor