1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
    Thats a great idea. Too bad I chucked my big pile of Nissan engine junk lol. If you can take a photo of it that would be great. A PVC pipe cap (not conductive) fitted onto the valve's stem with a washer and spring on the bottom of it would be a nice way to push upwards too.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2014
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,371 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    Well here's my rig in all its glory, this is my 5th attempt at building my own liquid cooling system.
    image (2).jpeg image (3).jpeg image.jpeg
    I know I know its too awesome (Just kidding lol).

    Its something thats still a work in progress. Im trying to find a better spot for the light controller (That only controls the couple of black light bars) due to the last slot being taken up sadly so im still working on that. Its a bit heavy to say the least lawlz, I have alot of fun trying to bring this to LAN parties and getting it all setup and happy.
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  3. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    346 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    I couldn't find a case that i liked that would fit my 360 monsta rad so got a test bench for now, hoping to get it setup in the next week or so.
     
    d1nky, adulaamin, cadaveca and 3 others say thanks.
  4. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,720 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,943
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    not new not main rig, but at my job they tossed away a DC7900 from HP again (already in nostalgic hardware club also) the only problem i could find in that PC was ... dust rust and no opening free to let the air pass :D (even the PSU intake was full)
    so a bit of cleaning, putting a new HDD in (they destroy the original HDD for customers Data protection), a new heatsink,a R7 240 and win 7 64 pro... well not too bad for a HTPC (also the DC7900 is quite silent ... only 1 100mm and the PSU fan) temps are good and all run smooth

    you can see some remnant of the dirt that was in the PSU vent, will clean it a bit later
    IMG_20140510_021645_726.jpg IMG_20140510_021639_870.jpg IMG_20140509_153834_705.jpg IMG_20140510_021709_817.jpg IMG_20140510_021714_290.jpg IMG_20140512_031836_600.jpg
    and just for your eyes ... the previous heatsink: corroded copper rust on the steel part and overdried thermal past (same model with 2 heatpipe and full copper base)
    oh and the PC was in a SPA/Welness area where i work ... so around 30° and 80% humidity constant
    IMG_20140510_021755_402.jpg IMG_20140510_021734_421.jpg IMG_20140510_021727_224.jpg
    that make me think: they replaced it with another SFF from HP but with a i7-3770... nahahhaha just have to wait till they say: oh it's unrecoverable you should replace it and put it in a dump ... the DC7900 was put in service in january 2014 and was in a new state (a 2008 model but new from the stock) all pc's they declared as f.u.b.a.r were all good ... (1 DC7700P 2xDC7900 )wait wrong ... a DC7600 with a P4 was indeed non recoverable ... north bridge heatink retention riped off and north bridge die cracked (i wonder how they did that ...

    also: should i worry about my G602... way more than 2 month (roughly 2 month and 2 weeks) that i changed my AA battery ... (Energizer Lithium ... )
    already 2 weeks more than the maximal endurance mode reported from logitech, and i use it on max DPI and on a 50/50 endurance, performance use ratio :D
    nope there is no better wireless AA powered mouse!
    Capture d'écran 2014-05-13 17.34.46.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2014
    cadaveca and Vario say thanks.
  5. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,371 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    I see you put in some Velociraptor drives, very nice! I built a minor gaming M-ITX machine recently for a friend on a budget who wanted minor gaming and something small for a good value. I put an 7850K, overclocked it with an H100i (CPU and GPU) and slapped in 3 Western Digital Velociraptor 1tb drives that I got on sale on newegg (shell shocker couple weeks back for less than 100 bucks a piece). He didn't like SSD's nor did he like the price so getting these like this added alot of power and they are very reliable drives in the end for his purposes.
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  6. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,720 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,943
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i got mine for 45chf (swiss francs) it has a little problem : sometime it doesn't get recognized in the BIOS but a small reboot or 2 and he's fine... (that's why i don't use it in the main rig) but it's a 150gb (i have a external Thermaltake Max 5 external enclosure with a 500gb for the movies and pics)

    and the A10 7700K i have atm in my main rig will probably go in a mITX box later ... :D
     
    GhostRyder says thanks.
  7. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,371 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    Cool, I currently for myself use a Samsung 840 Pro 512gb drive for my desktop and a 1tb seagate barracuda for everything else. I have considered many times going back to running a raid setup with a new set of those drives, but in the end I stuck with an SSD. They are very good and very reliable from what ive experienced so I have always looked at them with envy even considering setting them up for a storage system. :)
     
  8. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,802 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,063
    I have seen quite a few HP DC7100 USDT that had the same issue. I think HP did a crappy job of soldering the retention loop and the clips on the heatsink put too much tension on it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,684
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Unfortunately I don't seem to have any pics. I parted out the machine a few years ago, and don't think I have any data backup discs from that era. The PVC pipe cap makes a lot of sense. I used nylon washers and spacers ( needed to support three cards) and affixed the valve to the bottom of the chassis with a blob of silicon gasket gel - all very high tech!
     
  10. cmanning27

    cmanning27

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    65 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    United States of America
    Hello everyone! I think this is my 3rd time posting an updated setup over the years lol. I put off cleaning my loop for a LONG time and it was nasty.

    I got new coolant and tubing and while I was at it, I figured it's time for a new case so I can fit my rad inside. Well, my feser monsta lite didn't fit right so I just got a new rad. Then I just kept adding stuff to the cart and before I knew it I had a bunch of stuff. New case, rad, pump, new res, GPU blocks etc..

    Anyway here are a few pics. I kept the blue green. I just can't change the color. :toast:


    IMG_20140511_155733.jpg IMG_20140511_155809.jpg IMG_20140511_155819.jpg
     
  11. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    Finally filled the hole on my optical drive bay, excuse the crap pic :)

    20140514_190648_LLS.JPG
     
  12. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    793 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Location:
    Finland
    Got rid of the 120mm AIO and went back to air.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
    Nice CPU Cooler!
    Can that fan in the front pull through all that filter?
     
    9700 Pro says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. moonboystrikesback

    moonboystrikesback

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Here's some more Thermalright love. Just bought the relatively new True Spirit 140 Power for 45 bucks a few weeks ago, and it's fantastic. With a single TY-147 it's SILENT at the maximum 1200RPM and performs better than my old Hyper 212 with two Cougars in push-pull. Here it is in my rig, currently chilling a 2500K that's hard at work crunching.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    793 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Location:
    Finland
    Thermalright HR-02 Macho rev.a B&W :toast:

    Yeah, it pulls pretty fine. Though the filter(s) collect pretty much dust and cat's hair, I clean them about 2 times in a month. :D There is another similar on the upper of that, both Nexus 120mm fans, can't remember the model. Pretty quiet even with 12 volts. :) Came bundled with my #2 rig's case, so I switched them (the Fractal stock fans are on my #2 rig)
     
    Vario says thanks.
  16. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    My newest acquisition. An AsRock AM1H-ITX and an Athlon 5350 along with a 80mm Fractal Silent Series R2 fan to replace the stock fan. Currently running with my 2*4GB Avexir 2400CL10 kit, but I am going to get another kit for it at some point. Currently running it off a borrowed Asus charger, but going to get a similar power supply for it. Also have an Intel wireless 7260-AC with 2 laptop antennas on it.

    Next plans: SSD, memory, perhaps HDD and case.

    IMG_0689.JPG
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    793 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Location:
    Finland
    Looks pretty nice! I'm just wondering that what were they thinking on AMD, since AM1 doesn't have the similar retention bracket as AM2-AM3+/FM1-FM2+ :S People sure have old big tower coolers, which could run those AM1 chips passive very nice.
     
  18. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    That's probably because it's large. And to be honest, the stock fan wasn't loud at all. The 80mm is just because I for once want to try to make a silent machine. :p
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
    It can run without the 24 pin connected?
    Are you going to add a pull fan? I have come to the conclusion that for that kind of case layout, pull fan just adds more turbulence since the rear exhaust is so close. Looks good!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    793 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Location:
    Finland
    At least I don't need a pull fan since the exhaust fan is so close to the heatsink :D
     
    Vario says thanks.
  21. moonboystrikesback

    moonboystrikesback

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Vario, I'll probably throw in another TY-147 in a month or so. Those fan clips are a nightmare to work with after the heatsink is mounted, though, and that's the only way fans can be installed.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2014
    Vario says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    744 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    688
    Location:
    Denmark
    Indeed. Straight off a 19V DC adaptor. One of the big reasons I bought that particular motherboard.
     
    Vario says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,371 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    I have been wanting to try one of those myself! Cool system, I love that motherboard for the way you have it hooked up (the power adapter).
     
  24. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    346 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    I'm having second thoughts about using the test bench i bought now due to the amount of dust it's going to attract and also i would have to run my fans on the outside of the bench because the radiator is so thick.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I'm just going to connect it up through a pci pass through and keep using the TJ08 for now.
     
  25. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,371 (3.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,939
    Location:
    Texas
    Now that is a radiator, very nice selection! By the way, how do you like that Lamptron Fan controller, never really used that one as I went for the Akasa FC Trio and have been curious since they look like good controllers.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)