1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Aetherius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Ky, USA
    Hey guys! Nice to see others getting 4.3 - 4.6+ ,depending on circumstances, with air! I was a little surprised at first when I was first able to get my rig to 4.7 on air, but later it turned out to be too much b/c under full loads doing distributed computing I ran into stablity issues! But so far 4.5 is doing well(1.38v)! And I enjoy reading this thread too, since I have joined up! :D
  2. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    Can i join this club but just got fx-4100 will put tonight..
  3. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    223 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    I usually like to try and keep my cpu/motherboard socket temp sensor reading to a max of ~60C.
  4. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ

    4100 do not qualify!!!! :laugh: J/K man...
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Very nice overclock. How much PPD are you getting from this thing?
  6. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam

    :nutkick:
  7. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    WELCOME to the FX OC'ers CLUB :toast:
  8. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Any of you in the USA and have a Microcenter Store close by they just sent me an email with this deal...

    $50 Off Select AM3+ Motherboards with purchase of AMD FX 4100 ($105) or FX 6100 ($150) @ Microcenter B&M
    AMD FX 4100 - $105 [microcenter.com]

    AMD FX 6100 - $150 [microcenter.com]

    PRICES GOOD 12/09/11 - 12/11/11

    It is a Brick and Mortar deal so you cannot get it online :( but for those of you with a store close by this seems like a decent deal. I am going to take a drive down and see if they will do it with an 8120... :rockout:
  9. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    Got some problem encountered here:

    overclocked on bios about 4ghz but when i checked on cpu-id its shows 3.7

    on windows is 4ghz. see pictures attached

    Attached Files:

    • denz.jpg
      denz.jpg
      File size:
      184.6 KB
      Views:
      63
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    What bios settings do you have?

    And do you have any power management features switched on?
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I say windows might be a filthy liar. Have you recently OC'd to 4?

    Edit: Disregard that. /\ I didn't read your post right :banghead:


    Does hardware monitor show it at 4?
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    now my rig doesn't boot up......

    yep been oc'd tp 4.ghz
  13. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    I think it's enough to go further atm..

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
  14. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    So its better now? Thats a pretty nice clock.

    Out of curiosity, whats the max voltage for those?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    Thanks! 1.8v on my mobo. still trying to go lower voltage.
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2011
  16. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    kewl
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Have you tried leaving the bus speed at 200 and up the CPU Multi? Do you have your HT and NB on AUTO or you have them running at higher speed than default?
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Aye let us know all your bios settings and we'll help you get that chip running like a dream.

    A sexy dream.
  19. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Set Turbocore=Disabled, i had similar problem at first.
    HUSKIE says thanks.
  20. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    Just OC'ed from 4.4 to 4.7ghz

    Attached Files:

    • 4.7.jpg
      4.7.jpg
      File size:
      91.6 KB
      Views:
      72
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Is that stable? Good job. :toast:
  22. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    Yup!!!:rockout::rockout:[​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That's darn good from AMD Quad! Impressed.
  24. MarcusTaz

    MarcusTaz

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    433 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Location:
    NJ
    Anyone else running a sabertooth? I'm not lazy just do not have the time... i have the 6100... thanks.
  25. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Not sure but with that mobo you may be able to unlock extra cores from 6 to 8. My Crosshair V hasd that bios option. :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page