1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Hardware Canucks got the FX-8350 up to 4.90GHz on air with little Voltage increase. There is also proof that DX9 games run better on INTEL's i5,s and i7's. But DX10 and especially DX11 they are equal to the FX 8300's.

    I find this interesting, it seems as though the FX is more geared to newer software versus the old. This may explain why FX does well in Multi-Threading vs. Single Threading.
    http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/hardware-canucks-reviews/57446-fx-8350-cpu-review-amds-vishera-arrives-17.html
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The FX-8350 went down in price. $206.99. I am sure I can get to 4.80GHz with 1.385v or lower running all 8-Cores. We Shall See :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2012
  2. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=176843
     
    WarEagleAU and Super XP say thanks.
  3. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I bought mine from NCIX for 189. They had it for that price for a couple weeks. I think their regular price is 199
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i found out that the reason why it would not clock well is because of my dram volts was too low it did the same thing with the 8150 when i up the volts to 1.665v it is stable at 4.63ghz baybe ill try for some higher clocks now
     
  5. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Picked up the FX-8350 today. The good news, I finally get it, the bad news, can't do anything but stare at it until I get the time to install it. Now where did I put that AS5 thermal paste :D

    Who's knows about batch numbers? My batch is 1244.
     
  6. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Where can you find the batch number? Other than the chip itself, is it on the box anywhere?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    On the CPU, it's actually the package number. They has 1233, 1236 & 1244 numbers on a bunch of them. I ended up picking the highest number. Probably means nothing though.
     
  8. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Ah. I already have my CPU installed and dont really wanna take it out. And I'm out of thermal paste...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Hey guys... Good thread here.

    I'm currently working on OC'ing my new 8350. Got it in the other day and built a whole new rig. If anyone would like to contribute their knowledge, my thread (with tests and whatnot) is over here. Currently having some stabilization issues with P95 and unsure whether it's RAM or not.

    Rock on, AMD. Been an AMD for life and probably will never change.
     
  10. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Prime 95 has not been optimized yet for Vishera cous and will in most cases give errors. That is not a reflection on your cpu. I strongly suggest you use the Intel Burn test instead. There are other test you can use bit I am not knowledgeable about them. If you give the IBT 20 runs at high level and your cpu passes it is a good indicator your cpu is stabie at that frequency.
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  11. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Thanks mate I've been adding IBT to the mix as well.
     
  12. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
  13. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Here's my FX-8350 OC so far, running all 8-Cores at 4.60 GHz Stable and at max 59C. Ran Intel Burn Test for 1/2 hr no problems. Set vCore at 1.375v and like always bios always rounds it upward. Tonight if I have time, I will try for 4.80 GHz and the magic 5GHz with the vCore as low as I can keep it.

    [​IMG]
     
    os2wiz says thanks.
  14. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Damn that's nice man. I have to move my vCore significantly after around 4.3... I'm running 10 stable passes IBT now with 4.6 and 1.4875v... Still won't go through p95 error free though.
     
  15. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Sounds good.
     
  16. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Forget about prime 95 it is not compatible at this point with the the Vishera architecture. Hopefully a fully optimized version will be released soon. I would run IBT at high not regular and do 20 runs. Why 1.4875 volts? Did you raise voltage as little as possible as you increased the ,multiplier or id you up the voltage several increments at a time? I thought my core voltage is high at 1.43 volts.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  17. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Im pretty sure hes kept it as low as possible. He has a thread pertaining to trying to get a stable oc, see post 1009
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    4.80 GHz at 1.385v - 8-Cores
    http://valid.canardpc.com/2619422
    What? 1.4875? What I first did was leave the vCore on Auto and upped the Multiplier to get 4.40 GHz running all 8-Cores. Ran a bunch of tests and passed with low temps.
    Next I set the vCore to 1.375v and upped the Multi to get 4.60 GHz running all 8-Cores. Passed the tests. Then I upped the vCore to 1.385v and set the Multi to get 4.80 GHz, after about 5min Intel Burn Test warning came up telling me the CPU temp is too high and/or my CPU voltage is too low, so it auto stopped the test. All other tests such as CPU Burn-in v1.01 did great along with SuperPI.

    Gaming at 4.80GHz also showed no issues. I took it slow and steady upping the speed just so I can break in the CPU. This method has gained me some nice OC's in the past such as my FX-8120 @ 4.40 GHz w/ 8-Cores at 1.375v.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
    os2wiz and Irony say thanks.
  19. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Nice. Im gonna try that on mine tonight
     
    Super XP says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Up the vCore 0.010v at a time :D Break her in nice and she will perform for you better.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  21. Garage1217

    Garage1217

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    212 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Az
    I have a really hard time after working with several 8350's believing that is a stable overclock at 4.8 & 1.392. By stable I mean it can run prime95 for at least an hour straight without a core or two dropping out, yes I still use prime as it is quite brutal. The ones I have worked with get really power hungry after 4.6ghz. 4.8 has generally required 1.475 - 1.5V+ and rises to a ridiculous level past 4.9-5ghz requiring 1.55+. My best was a clean run at 5.1 at close to 1.596v Which was done for giggles only.

    Best trade off with vishera so far to keep voltage / power consumption low and a reasonable overclock usually sits around 4.6ghz. :toast:
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  22. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Yep. I went to 5.0 a few days ago, would boot but couldnt stress it. Dont remember volts; beleive it was 1.50

    I heard prime95 isn't working right with vishera. It seems everyone gets cores dropping at almost any oc. I willagree 4.6/4.7 is the golden clock for me. 1.4v
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Unfortunately yes, keeping volts as low as possible and increasing in small increments (my BIOS only allows .025 increase increments). It runs games all day with the voltage lower around 1.4 but IBT craps out almost instantly if it's under 1.45ish.
     
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
  25. Garage1217

    Garage1217

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Messages:
    212 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Az
    Prime 95 is just brutal, not an issue with it IMO but I could be wrong. Vishera just seems to be touchy compared BD or PH. I managed to get my rig setup right now at 4.8ghz and it will run prime all day long but feels equally power hungry to my 8150. As I have stated before, 8350's are simply power hungry little chips if you push them past 4.6ghz but they will get it done if you feed them
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page