1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I don't see the point of overclocking 1 core no matter how high it goes. It is nothing more than an intellectual exercise. Tell me how high you go with all 8 cores overclocked and stable. Now I am not trying to knock your achievement but it is pointless to me . My intention is to maximize the useful work I can do at the minimum power level within stability.
     
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,179 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,664
    Plus 1 to that.:toast:
     
  3. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I'd try upping the volts 1 increment and retest IBT. A run of less than 20 at normal or preferably high really is important. You may crash when running at full load in an application that is cpu intensive .
     
    nt300 and Super XP say thanks.
  5. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I ran Prime 95 for about an hour and Core 7 & 8 had errors. I find this interesting because even at stock speed and voltage I get errors.

    Anyhow believe it because I am running at 4.80 GHz at 1.385v via bios (Bios always sets it a little higher) Rock Stable. When I can play L4D2, Skyrim, Metro 2033, Rage etc. none stop for a few hours and no crash, to me that is rock stable.

    I may up the vCore another 0.010v to 1.395v and test the Intel Burn Test because this is the only test IMO that acually makes my temps go up. Not even Prime95 does this.
    Just upped the voltage. Now it's sitting at 1.4v. Will run IBT Very High for 10 times. Should equate to around an hour.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
    nt300 and os2wiz say thanks.
  6. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Super XP... I've heard more than one person saying p95 is almost useless to run with our Visheras because it isn't updated to utilize them 100% or whatever. So I personally am not getting too worried about my 2 cores stopping work. If I can run IBT on VHigh for 10+ passes, and BF3 for hours, I'm pretty happy.
     
    Super XP says thanks.
  7. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    194 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Hi Everyone.

    When you are taking about the vcore you are running, what do you have your LLC at?

    I'm running ultra fast LLC on the CHV for 4.625GHz @ 1.4675v in the BIOS and the H100 cooled temp is about 56 - 59c on the internal sensor and around 69c on the socket probe with 2500MHz HT and CPU-NB, RAM at 2000MHz, 9-12-9-28 and it's pretty solid with ambient around 20 to 22c. With ambient more around 18-20c the CPU temps drop to 54/61c. I have HTT at 250MHz and desktop/apps/games are smooth as silk, AIDA benchmarks are all in the top 3 or 4 positions with the OC RAM virtually equaling the top Intel chips (although they only need 1600MHz for that performance and are not OCed), which was kind of my goal: Vishera + H100 is the same price as a 3770 with box cooler. So more fun and the same performance(ish) for the same price. :rockout: The only down side is power consumption really. :cry:



    I have a whining pump on the H100 so have an H100i on the way which will also have a better fan config to the H100 installed and with luck will drop the temps.

    I seem to have a brick wall at about 4.6 too, I can boot at 5Ghz but it's not stable and as mentioned, I'm sure I can up the volts but that seems to produce major diminishing returns regarding power/temps versus performance gains. :banghead:

    Maybe we'll see another stepping at some point that will improve this and give us 5GHz where we currently have 4.6 <dreams>. :ohwell:
     
  8. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I leave my llc turned off. I decided to actually follow the description in my bios for once, and it said am3+ cpus should have llc turned off. Im sure thats probably specific to my board
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    4.80 GHz w/ Bus speed at 200 - Stable w/ 1.395v set in BIOS running all 8-Cores.
    [​IMG]

    4.80 GHz w/ Bus speed at 240 - Stable w/ 1.420v set in BIOS running all 8-Cores. Running Intel Burn on Very High for 1hr.
    [​IMG]
     
    johnnyfiive says thanks.
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    GFlops on 8350 are terrible. Just sayin
     
  11. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Awesome dude! really nice results, especially with that voltage:rockout:
     
  12. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Umm, didn't really notice until you brought it up. I get higher numbers when running this test on standard.
    Thanks, and it only took me more than 24hrs :eek: Taking it real slow should gain you better results, for me that is, it seems to work.

    My FX 8350 OC Interpretation is at 4.80HGz, 8-Cores, at 1.42v seems to be the sweet spot.
    @ 4.40GHz you should be able to run Stock vCore as I did running IBT for hours and not breaking past 55C.
    4.60GHz is the best setup with a vCore of 1.385v - Rock Stable running all 8-Cores and keeping temps below 58C.
    For now I will stick with a higher bus speed and lower multi despite the fact I hate uneven numbers :D
    ALL IN ALL - I LOVE THIS PILEDRIVER......
     
    nt300 and os2wiz say thanks.
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    can u post power usage @ default volt and speed and OCed speed? Just wanted to see what kind of power draw you are getting.

    Nice OC there.
    :toast:
     
    nt300 and Super XP say thanks.
  14. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I meant a run of NOT less than 20 is important in IBT. Excuse my error. I run it at high, on very high the temps go to the ceiling and your setup may not handle it. Most people use regular but I like high.
     
    nt300 and Super XP say thanks.
  15. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    301 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Um, super xp that 2nd pic shows an error on the last line?
     
  16. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Yes it crapped out on me after about 70 minutes I believe. I can run IBT for hours on standard but running it on Maximum or even very high seems to generate massive heat and it auto stops the test depending on the CPU temp.
    For anybody owning a FX-8350 I would recommend leaving your vCore on “AUTO” and set your CPU speed at 4.40GHz. Then in Windows, load up CPUID, then test your setup with IBT.
    You will witness the CPU Voltage fluctuate. On my setup the voltage was bouncing between 1.2v to 1.38v. From there you can decipher what to do next when upping your CPU speed in 200MHz increments.
     
    nt300, ...PACMAN... and os2wiz say thanks.
  17. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    How about running it on high. That really is good enough. Like I said most people run it on standard.
     
  18. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    So when it fluctuated from 1.20 to 1.38 in CPUID what was the voltage you set when going to 4.6 GHZ?
     
  19. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    So when it fluctuated what did you set it at in bios to go to 4.6 GHZ? I am not sure how I decipher that fluctuation at 4.4 GHZ.
     
  20. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,493 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,594
    os2wiz - please do not double or triple post. Use the Edit function.
    Thanks
     
    os2wiz says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    You have done well and thanks for the abundance of information you impart to all of us.
     
    nt300, ...PACMAN... and Super XP say thanks.
  22. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Started my OC from scratch last night, I can run 4.5 on stock volts quite stable. (1.32) Makes me quite happy, thats where I'll keep mine for the most part probably
     
    Super XP says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    My Final Overclocking Settings: This is IMO the best balance for low voltage at high speed. I've increased the bus speed to compensate for not running the CPU at 4.80GHz via 1.42v. I'll take the lower temps over higher speed, but with higher temps. I am tempted to further drop the vCore another 0.01v and test to see if it will pass.

    Anyhow the pic below shows my results, so it is indead possible to run Piledriver with low voltage at a high OC.

    CPU vCore = 1.40v
    CPU Clock Speed = 4700 MHz
    CPU Multiplier = 17x
    Bus Speed = 277 MHz
    Hyper Transport = 2800 MHz
    North Bridge = 2500 MHz
    DDR3 Ram Speed = 2200 MHz

    Passed IntelBurnTest on Very High - 1hr 20Min Test Run.
    Passed BurnIn Test
    Passed Prime95 - 1hr Test Run

    Max Temp = 59C / Min Temp = 18C

    [​IMG]
    1.4v at 4.70 GHz and running 100% stable for hours. Please see post above for screen shots. :D
    http://valid.canardpc.com/2621692
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
    nt300 and os2wiz say thanks.
  24. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Nice JOB! How many fsb settings did you play with before you settled on 277? Did you go through all the 230, 240s, 250s,260s??? I tried the 277 like you and I found I could not get it to work for me. I wouldn't go above 1.446 volts. They say different chips have different fsb series that work for them and there are dead zones fsb that won't work . So I am settled at 20 multi and 233 fsb HT link 3026, NB frequency 2572. Dram is 2172 frequency at 9-10-9-28. CPU voltage 1.44 v . CPU-NB voltage 1.225. VDDA 2.65 v Dram voltage 1.63 v


    QUOTE=Super XP;2805418]My Final Overclocking Settings: This is IMO the best balance for low voltage at high speed. I've increased the bus speed to compensate for not running the CPU at 4.80GHz via 1.42v. I'll take the lower temps over higher speed, but with higher temps. I am tempted to further drop the vCore another 0.01v and test to see if it will pass.

    Anyhow the pic below shows my results, so it is indeed possible to run Piledriver with low voltage at a high OC.

    CPU vCore = 1.40v
    CPU Clock Speed = 4700 MHz
    CPU Multiplier = 17x
    Bus Speed = 277 MHz
    Hyper Transport = 2800 MHz
    North Bridge = 2500 MHz
    DDR3 Ram Speed = 2200 MHz

    Passed IntelBurnTest on Very High - 1hr 20Min Test Run.
    Passed BurnIn Test
    Passed Prime95 - 1hr Test Run

    Max Temp = 59C / Min Temp = 18C

    http://img.techpowerup.org/121219/Bus Speed - 277.jpg

    1.4v at 4.70 GHz and running 100% stable for hours. Please see post above for screen shots. :D
    http://valid.canardpc.com/2621692[/QUOTE]
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
    Super XP says thanks.
  25. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    It seems as though I have no problem upping the bus speed. On my FX-8120 it was not possible at all for me, not even at 210MHz.
    For my current setup I tried between 220 to 300. All booted up with no issues. But due to my ram speed I was forced to drop the bus down to 277MHz so I can try and get an even number OC (4.70GHz) but at the same time getting my RAM speed close to it's default. Also the NB and Hyper Transort speed was also easier to set with about 277MHz.

    I played Skyrim for hours and ran into no issues.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page