1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ArmA II&III HQ

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,084 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Not to poke holes in everything you just said.. but I'm going to do just that..

    1. Naval mines are magnetic, you bring a metal vessel anywhere near them and you're gonna have a bad time. (Hence why minesweepers are generally wood hulls)

    2. How is deciding when you're discovered in any way a knock on realism? In real life you almost never get discovered when it's convenient for you.

    3. Few things here, the mission is a bust if A. the enemy kills you, or B. the enemy radios to their bros and lets everyone know that you are there.. A. will happen if you run, because you're not really a hard target as you try to swim away. B. will happen if you don't kill the patrol.
     
    erixx and Killer_Rubber_Ducky say thanks.
  2. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Well said Well Said. Every time I read one of those types of posts, I bang my head on the closest hard surface until I don't remember reading it.:banghead::banghead:
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,000 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,241
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Maybe thats the problem.......:p
     
    erixx says thanks.
  4. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,393 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Funny but your arguments are totally empty. Nobody says getting close to mines.

    You cannot relocate to a better point to disembark, on a tens of kilometer long coast you have to arrive just and precisely where those lonely SIX, okay MAGNETIC, mines are? Come on!

    I would have put mines in front of ALL beaches around a harbor or any other solution but not something that makes BI Studios look dumb!

    Scripted games can hardly make it feel realistic, but nobody should defend such dumb scripts.
     
  5. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Cool beans dude. Let's see you make the mission. Considering the mission was made for a specific purpose, perhaps you should ask BIS why they did that. Instead of talking shit behind their back.
     
  6. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,393 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    I do not make missions but I do play them and I notice issues, pardon!

    You are talking shit,HERE. Every frekking forum is made FOR talking "behind their back" be it intel, amd, nvidia, Bohemia or DICE, we talk whatever pleases us, we do not take into consideration money making companies when we talk HERE.
     
  7. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    That is true, but it is common knowledge within the ArmA community that BIS listens to the customer and will respond to inquiries. That said, my meaning of the statement was that instead of talking shit about the mission devs, why not ask them yourself? Perhaps they had a specific reason for making it that way. Perhaps it had to do specifically with the story line. When an experienced soldier (ShibDib) explains the holes in the complaint, don't throw the constructive criticism back in his face. Likewise, if a Game Dev Company produces a mission you do not like or think it could have done better, hop on their forums/feedback tracker and state your case. At least then, you get your question answered and perhaps you will come away feeling better about the situation.

    Also, "we do not take into consideration money making companies when we talk HERE." could not be more wrong. Since many of these companies and then some watch these forums, what is said here can have a negative or positive effect on them. BIS hopped on TPU TS to chat about ArmA 3. Then there was the phantom AMD R10 card hoax that caused major waves in the tech community. Yes, we shoot the breeze on here, but when we have gripes about a game or product, most of us actually tend to take it to the DEV/Company to make our case. Either that, or we take the knowledge from others who have spoken with the company/dev about said case.
    If "we do not take into consideration money making companies when we talk HERE." actually happened, I kind of doubt that TPU would be getting the review samples it does.
     
  8. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,393 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    I really appreciate the elaborate answer but we live in total different worlds. I have no time or interest in contacting devs. I am bored to hell with logins and passwords to thousands sites and checking all kind of stuff. Live is not infinite. I used to have correspondence with the "Avon Lady" in the past, great times indeed, OpFor!
    I stand by my statement that it is a dumbed down mission. BI is famous for there script issues, so nothing new.

    I take this opportunity to congratulate all the mission makers, pro or amateur!
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  9. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    I need some assistance with a project I am working on.

    I am trying to add the ACE and ACRE mods to the 404 Wasteland Chernarus 3.0b mission.

    The List of addon weapons, rucks, items, equipment, ammo, and special items is below. The name of the item is in quotations.


    The problem I am running into is not knowing how to add a crate or modify an existing set of crates to include these items so that they will spawn randomly like the rest of the crates.
    Plus, I am trying to tackle the goal of making it so that everytime the server restarts, each faction's default radio channel is randomized so that no one can join one faction during one server session, then change factions the next session and know the default faction channel.
    Since the factions can change their channels and freqs at any given time, the only thing would be that the default channel should be random. Also, since once a player dies, someone can loot their radio from their body and gain access to all the frequencies stored in the radio.

    Here are the classnames for the ACRE mod.

    On another note,

    Here are a couple Screenshots from the new Invasion 1944 for ArmA 3. Aka Invasion 1944 V3.0
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2013
    erixx says thanks.
  10. droopyRO

    droopyRO

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    144 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Romania
    Don`t know if posted before, but i loled(turn on subtitles):
    [yt]dKccZ-njlfw[/yt]
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  11. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,936 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,211
    Well, I just finished the first episode of the campaign earlier.

    :p
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  12. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    thoughts?
     
  13. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Is anyone willing to help me with my scripting challenge of integrating ACE and ACRE into Wasteland? I have a cannibalized version that some features work but other dont etc.
     
  14. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,936 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,211
    The hardest things to do:
    - controlling the UAV (which I haven't done properly even during the showcase)
    - destroying all the watch towers with mortar fire

    :laugh:
     
  15. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,084 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Haven't had a chance to look at it. Work is kicking my ass lately
     
  16. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Yeah, I have been tweaking around on it. I found out from United Operations that we would have to essentially build wasteland from scratch to make it work right. I am unsure how to build wasteland from scratch though.

    Here are a few things I would like to add to Wasteland(my friends say we should call it Aceland)
    • Functioning Cargo Paradrop for players and cargo(vehicles, crates)
    • ACE wounding system
    • ACRE Radios and restransmission towers
    • Topolka and Pobeda Dam effects
    • Additional BMP passenger slots(riding on top of armored vehicles)
    • Rappelling
    • shoot from vehicles such as MH-6J benches
    • Missions with AI convoys that have to be destroyed
    • Roving bands of Indie AI (like the DayZ AI mod)
    • replace all the ArmA 2 stock weapons with ACE weapons that have duplicate versions.
    • Dynamic Weather and Day/Night cycles
    • Weather seasons including snow during Winter seasons.
    • Random HALO spawn option

    The plan is to start with ACE wasteland and maybe add ACRE later.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2013
  17. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,084 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    762
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,604 (10.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,102
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    TPU Wasteland server based on Tonic's build is up! 205.144.212.5:2302
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
  20. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
  21. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    606 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    I've noticed a Bug while playing Arma 3 today that makes Me wonder if it's JUST on My end, or if others are ALSO experiencing it. When I have a M320 launcher equipped on My assault rifle, and I go to fire, If I click the mouse three times VERY quickly instead of once, it will actually fire Three, rounds @ once without reloading instead of one. It happened while using white flares, but I'd HAVE to assume that the issue would work for ANY 40mm underslung projectiles.(I also checked MY ammo, and it only count's the SINGLE fired projectile , instead of the three that where Actually fired) exploit.:)

    Nope , I'm EVEN stupider than I thought. I hadn't realized that the flares where 3rnd flare ammo. Duh!!
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2013
  22. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    no worries mate ^_^ we all have our bang head on wall moments. I have been playing ArmA III Wasteland on Sa-Matra's Wasteland and so far it has been amazing. Especially on the Altis map. Ill have some amazing footage uploaded soon. Driving using the xbox 360 controller is a smooth experience and those roads are amazing. Driving in the hills going ~80Km/h doing switchbacks and hills and dips is exhilarating especially when you have no way to repair the vehicle or way to heal yourself.
     
  23. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,594 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    I was wondering about this game,but when i read metacritics it shows that arma 3 is not as good as flashpoint. is it true?
     
  24. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Depends on your point of view. OFP has been out for a very long time and was made originally for consoles. Even then it had its fair share of bugs. ArmA 3 is a major improvement from OFP.
     
  25. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    295
    Fixing to add this set of animations to my ACE Wasteland mod ^_^




     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page