1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 9.4 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by alexp999, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Ill give this a try. Hopefully it fixes the issues I have been having with 9.2 and 9.3
     
  2. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    I gained about 300 3dmark 6 points :)
    but here again i lost about 200 when i installed 9.3
     
  3. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Ugh, had to disable catalyst ai to get rid of vantage artifacts. Before, having it disabled caused these artifacts... weird
     
  4. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Nope still didn't fix my issues. Back to 9.1 for me.
     
  5. SparkyJJO

    SparkyJJO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    What issues?

    I'm on 9.2 right now. 9.1 was a little odd for me, couldn't put a finger on it but there was just something off. But other than that I really haven't had any problems with any drivers.
     
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    The best reason for CCC IMHO. :toast:
     
  7. SparkyJJO

    SparkyJJO New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    except CCC won't let me go over 790 on my 4870 :rolleyes:
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    thats a known crossfire problem. You have to reboot between enabling/disabling crossfire.
     
    Hybrid_theory says thanks.
  9. Hybrid_theory

    Hybrid_theory

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    ontario canada
    Thanks, a reboot did the trick. It's running right now. 3dmark 06 gained me back the 700 points i lost in 9.3. hopefully vantage will go up as well.
     
  10. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I have my bios modded at 700 core & 1000 mem for my 4830. Every CCC release after 9.1 downclocks my 4830 to 585 core & 900 mem. I can't OC the card with any program at all (CCC, Riva tune, etc).
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    I've gone up 400PPD in F@H with these over 9.3
     
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,635 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,850
    I believe one thing tho is most of those Cards that are PCI Express actually will probably become part of the AGP Hotfix Suite as Radeon 9k some models of the Radeon X*** and then X**** are AGP while the rest are PCI Express.
     
  13. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,749 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    you can use Cyberlinks software to encode using ATI GPU
     
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    this is the an expect good driver for 4xxx from ATI , but i expect it come with havok physics
     
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,530 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,308
    So when I paid $549 for a X1800XT new, and it worked fine with the software provided, then to a 3870, and it worked fine, and now to a 4850, and it doesn't work on operating systems out in mass, I should have to buy another piece of software, (that fucks with my canon transfer and editing software) to make something advertised work?


    Nothign against you, this rant is about ATi and their software support. If I pay a grand for a high definitino camera that supports the files natively, and alot of money for a all AMD/ATI system, their shit should work. Not, mebey, or only for users with XP-X86. But for the new operating system that has been out for ohh 2.5 years or so, it should be supported.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    what are you looking for again? i can find links for AviVo video conversion software on the ATI site, for vista x64
     
  17. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Wait a month or two ;)
     
  18. shagg

    shagg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Florida
    I know its a shameful copout. But I reinstalled vista64 and was able to get rid of that code 43 error. running asus m3a32mvp, phenom 9600, and 2 hd3870 crossfire.
     
  19. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    still no avivo ... support...:) :p
     
  20. Voyager

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    But it seems available for Vista 32-bit

     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,552 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    and x64?
    [​IMG]

    what am i missing here?
     
  22. Voyager

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I believe You don't need "Avivo™ Package" to watch Blue Ray titles.

    The driver already supports decoding of them.

    "Avivo™ Package" is used to encode or re-encode videos.

    Here is a program that can check HD decoding availability DXVAChecker

    In Decoder Device tab it should contain these:

    ModeH264_VLD_NoFGT

    ModeVC1_VLD


    *VLD = Variable-Length Decoder
    *FGT = Film Grain Technology
     
  23. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ok dude we wait for ATi strike :toast:
     
  24. air_ii

    air_ii

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    129 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    POZ, PL
    You can install AVIVO video converter on Vista x64 and it works fine. It just doesn't use the GPU acceleration for encoding. I've done some thorough testing in this regard on both XP32 and Vista64 and the GPU acceleration does very little, if anything at all. There was no significant speed difference between the two OS's. And that's just on top of the fact that the converter is an utter crap. Speed is amazing, quality is very poor.

    As discussed on another forum, the GPU is not used for encoding as such (on any OS), it is merely used for geometry calculations, which is only a small part of the encoding process.

    To sum up, if you find the quality of the converter satisfactory, you can still use it under Vista64 no problem. It's still very, very fast. As far as I can tell, the quality in Badaboom is almost equally poor. So if it's quality you're after, then invest in some decent CPU and use x264.

    OT: I wouldn't say that Vistax64 is out in mass...
     
  25. ilpalmare New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    51 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    The chipset xpress1150 present in motherboard is not supported by catalyst 9.4
    but stop to catalyst 9.3 :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page