1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI Catalyst 9.4 Released

Discussion in 'News' started by alexp999, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    AMD have just released their ATI Catalyst 9.4 Driver for Windows 7, Windows Vista and Windows XP. Highlights of the ATI Catalyst 9.4 Windows release include:

    New Features
    • ATI Catalyst 9.4 includes a new ATI Overdrive auto-tune application to estimate the over-clocked engine and memory values for ATI Overdrive supported ATI Radeon Graphics accelerators
      Designed for the ATI Radeon HD 4000 Series

    Resolved Issue Highlights
    • "World of Warcraft" or "World of Warcraft - Wrath of the Lich King": Flickering no longer occurs when Shadow is set to medium/high using ATI CrossFire configurations
    • Google Sketchup no longer displays blank screen
    • Resolutions above 1024 x 768 will now full screen properly for specific HDMI displays
    • Artifacts no longer visible while playing Age of Conan DX10
    • VC-1 progressive disc playback no longer exhibits block corruption.
    • The Compute Abstraction Layer (CAL) driver now functions properly under Windows XP

    DOWNLOAD: ATI Catalyst version 9.4 for Windows XP/Vista/7 (32/64-bit versions)
    fullinfusion and nafets say thanks.
  2. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Hopefully something as improvement over XP ..

    What this " Compute Abstraction Layer " does any way ?
  3. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Anyone found out what cards have been dropped from support now? Couldn't find anything on the site.
  4. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  5. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Ok found it ...

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_FireStream

    so i am in .. :laugh:



    .
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2009
  6. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    7,989 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,084
    Yayy, still no H.264 support for vista, and or Avivo dosn't even work on the X64 OS's.



    So I purchased this for playing games only, not for transcoding my high def camcorder files to send to my parents like they advertised.


    BAD ATI.....BAD.


    Fix it.
    DRDNA says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  7. TreadR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    79 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    In 9.3 over 9.2 they've added:
    AMD FireStream 9170
    AMD FireStream 9250
    AMD FireStream 9270

    In 9.4 over 9.3 they've added nothing, apparently but deleted these:
    ABIT Radeon X1550 Series
    ALL-IN-WONDER X600 Series
    ALL-IN-WONDER X800 Series
    ALL-IN-WONDER X800 XL
    ASUS Radeon X1550 Series
    ASUS X550 Series
    ATI RADEON 9600/X1050 Series
    ATI RADEON XPRESS 1100 Series
    ATI RADEON XPRESS 200 Series
    ATI Radeon 2100
    ATI Radeon 9550 / X1050 Series
    ATI Radeon 9600 / X1050 Series
    ATI Radeon 9600/9550/X1050 Series
    ATI Radeon X1050 Series
    ATI Radeon X1200 Series
    ATI Radeon X1300 Series
    ATI Radeon X1300/X1550 Series
    ATI Radeon X1550 Series
    ATI Radeon X1650 Series
    ATI Radeon X1950 GT
    ATI Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series
    ATI Radeon Xpress 1150
    ATI Radeon Xpress 1150 Secondary
    ATI Radeon Xpress 1200 Series
    ATI Radeon Xpress Series
    All-in-Wonder X1800XL
    All-in-Wonder X1900
    Asus Radeon X1050
    Connect3D Radeon X1050
    Connect3D Radeon X1550 Series
    Diamond Radeon X1050
    Diamond Radeon X1550 Series
    GECUBE Radeon X1050
    GIGABYTE Radeon X1550 Series
    GeCube Radeon X1550 Series
    GigaByte Radeon X1050
    HIS Radeon X1050
    HIS Radeon X1550 Series
    MSI Radeon X1050
    MSI Radeon X1550 Series
    PALIT Radeon X1550 Series
    Palit Radeon X1050
    PowerColor Radeon X1050
    PowerColor Radeon X1550 Series
    RADEON 9500
    RADEON 9500 PRO / 9700
    RADEON 9600 Series
    RADEON 9600 TX
    RADEON 9700 PRO
    RADEON 9800
    RADEON 9800 PRO
    RADEON 9800 SERIES
    RADEON 9800 XT
    RADEON X550 Series
    RADEON X550XT
    RADEON X600/X550 Series
    RADEON X700 SE
    RADEON X700 Series
    RADEON X800 GTO
    RADEON X800 PRO/GTO
    RADEON X800 Series
    RADEON X800 XT
    RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition
    RADEON X800/X850 Series
    RADEON X800GT
    RADEON X850 CrossFire Edition
    RADEON X850 Series
    Radeon X1050
    Radeon X1300 / X1600 Series
    Radeon X1300 Series
    Radeon X1300/X1550 Series
    Radeon X1300XT/X1600Pro/X1650 Series
    Radeon X1550 Series
    Radeon X1600 Series
    Radeon X1600/1650 Series
    Radeon X1600/X1650 Series
    Radeon X1650 GTO
    Radeon X1650 Series
    Radeon X1700 FSC
    Radeon X1800 CrossFire Edition
    Radeon X1800 GTO
    Radeon X1800 Series
    Radeon X1900 CrossFire Edition
    Radeon X1900 GT
    Radeon X1900 Series
    Radeon X1950 CrossFire Edition
    Radeon X1950 Pro
    Radeon X1950 Series
    Radeon X300/X550/X1050 Series
    Radeon X800 CrossFire Edition
    SAPPHIRE Radeon X1550 Series
    Sapphire Radeon X1050
    VisionTek Radeon X1050
    VisionTek Radeon X1050 AGP
    VisionTek Radeon X1550 Series

    (inf information)

    BTW, on Windows 7 x64, the VGA drivers doesn't install. It doesn't even appear in the custom installation as an option.
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2009
  8. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I am not gonna guess how these will compare to the 9.3's.... Better I hope. Trying now.
  9. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    D:
    Aww, I guess I'm stuck with 9.3 for my x1300....

    Oh well, my 4850 will live on for a decent while I suppose.
  10. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Test results are in...

    Playing HL2 (and other source games), from same save games... the Cat 9.4 is slower by 1 fps. Almost no change.
  11. Selene New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    223 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    lol
    Artifacts no longer visible while playing Age of Conan DX10


    what did they cover it up with?
  12. Necrofire

    Necrofire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    586 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    They covered it with more artifacts, just ones that match the surrounding area more :D

    Anyway, woa, what happened to their site? I clicked on xp-32bit and ZOOOOM SHAZAM things are flying around like crazy, "here's 9.4. PS, we're real cool now"
  13. yosyp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nice :D
    its designed for 4x serie.
    I have an HD 4670 with 1GB GDDR3 :). I set up the catalyst 9.3 at yesterday, and I spent more then 2 hour to tweak, why is that .... catalyst control center won't showing up when I trying to run it.
    And than today the AMD releaseing the next one ....
    The most annoying think is that I have no idea why working now the ccc, and I think I have to spend another 2 hour to tweak the next catalyst also.
    The AMD support guy just said I fu*ked up something that the reason why is the ccc not showing up. I think its ridiculous. But its just my opinion, who bought an ATI card. grrr....:banghead:
  14. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    For some reason everytime I install a new driver / CAT, it basically pushes this bar to the left. I have to manually push it to the right. Make sure this is enabled. ATI and their stupid ways...

    [​IMG]
  15. yosyp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that's in my OS window :)
    I am seriously thinking about to change back the OS to Debian :rockout:...
    And buy another cheap vga from nvidia like before.
    I had an 9600XT, after 7600GST, now I have this HD thing, so the next should be an nvidia :twitch:

    Attached Files:

  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    these should be good... It's so early in the month tho? Anyone else notice these came out pretty fast.
  17. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    It works fine Steevo, you just need a media player to properly support it.
    Google Media Player Classic Home Cinema. It supports DXVA which is direct video card decoding for H264 and..... I forgot that other one, but yea.
    When I played the H264 media with it set up correctly, I was able to use all the controls just fine.
  18. csendesmark

    csendesmark

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    344 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    DXVA is working with the new 9.4 driver under XP-32?
  19. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    I think he is talking about the feature that uses a X1000 or better GPU to encode from one format to another all done on the GPU which on my x1800XTX and X1950XTX was amazingly fast.
  20. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Since installing the new version on my Vista x64 media center... I have been unable to control the volume with my media center remote within media center. playing video files within media center still flickers in fulll screen.
  21. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,688 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
    I'm still getting the code 43 error with my 4870x2 not running one core :/ Getting fed up with this problem now..

    oh well back to the 8.11s until ati releases the promised hotfix drivers for this problem later this week...
  22. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,761 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    559
    Location:
    New York
    How many ATI cards gave you the 43?
  23. troyrae360

    troyrae360 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Christchurch New Zealand
    What do you mean by no h.264 support for vista? do you mean Media Cant play Blue ray or HD or sumthing?
    becouse if thats what you mean, is a vista fault.
    here download these codecs,
    if theres sumthing im missing please tell me as i like watching HD movies

    http://shark007.net/vistacodecpackage.html
  24. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,787 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,426
    Just in case anyone is having issues installing the display driver on Win 7 Build 7068, you have to go into device manager, expand display adapters, right click on your display adapter, select update driver, and direct it to the C:\ATI\Support\9.4 folder\Driver\Bin64 and you should have no issues installing/updating the driver. I'm not sure if this issue exists on the older builds.

    When I first installed from the installer I was like,"WTF!! No driver listed, just CCC and that manager!"
  25. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,688 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    430
    Well i only have the 4870x2 in my system, i've boxed up my 3870x2 to sell so i'm not going to test that in my system.

    I've tried everything i can with the 9.4s other than a reinstall of the OS but just like with the 9.3s, 9.2s, 9.1s and 8.12s i'm getting an error message about an incompatible vga driver has been detected and disabled and shock horror one of my gpu's is error 43 in device manager and not showing up in the catalyst control centre, game performance is that of 1 gpu as well :shadedshu

    Note: the 8.11s and any drivers before them work fine with my system and graphics card, this issue is a known uncommon issue with x2 type cards, i was hoping they'd have a fix in the 9.4 main release but their support told me to expect a hotfix very soon.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page