1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

BF3 Config Utility

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by Mindweaver, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    If you could make it so that key bindings could be easily changed I'd be massively grateful.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  2. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,830 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    That's a hell of a good idea, sounds like a bunch of work, too.

    Also, I really dig the way the icon looks on my Desktop. Cool.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  3. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    thanks m8 for the great tool,

    how about adding a "Go" button which starts the game (pointing to bf3.exe) ?
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  4. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks for Registering here at TPU! The community here is kickass!

    Now about the FoV (Field of View), when monitors where only 4:3 the uses of FoV in game wasn't needed, but when wide screen monitors (16:9, and 16:10) came along the need for FoV in game was born (example: a 22" monitor with 1680x1050 is a 16:10 monitor. You can set your 16:10 monitor to out put 16:9, but you will have black lines in the top, and the bottom of your screen). Now back to about the settings I use.. (Sorry this is long, but I don't know any other way to explain it)

    In my Utility I'm using the formula Rich aka Rulesy uses for BFBC2 (hFoV = 2 * atan(tan(vFoV/2) * width/height)). Anytime you are allowed to change FOV in a game it's based on the vFoV (Vertical Field of View), but you need a hFoV (Horizontal Field of View) to complete the Formula, which most players use 90, 100, 110 hFoV to complete the formula (I've seen some users that use 16:9 use 120 hFoV). You can go over to WSGF (widescreengamingforum) and get great help with FoV. I've found that most users use 110 hFoV, but lately i've seen a lot of people just tell everyone to use 90 vFoV and to do that you would need to use 115.5 hFoV.. and I say that's incorrect, but I guess it's not enough difference to the eye from 84 vFoV to the users. I hope that helps and wasn't confusing.. :toast:

    Oh, and i plain to add call outs to each setting to help the player understand what the setting does. :toast:


    I'm working on that now! :toast:

    Thanks! I was worried that players with think the icon was to busy. :toast:

    Thanks that's a great idea i'll try and add that on the next build. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I might make love to you unexpectedly.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  6. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,483 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,130
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    :eek:
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    :roll:

    :roll:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    This is awesome man, thanks. Everytime I change settings in game it crashes so this will be perfect.:toast:
     
  9. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    New! BF3 Config Utility v1.3

    Change Log v1.3
    1. New 5.1 setting!
    2. Added call outs to settings.
    3. Changed both Profile config and Config File display text to richtext format. Now you can see the settings easier. I plain to turn the Config File Text display into a Real Text Editor, and not just a crappy notepad viewer. This new display will send the return carriage, and not show it.
    4. New screen shots of the General Tab and Config File tab have been added to the OP.

    Version v1.2 got 233 downloads! :toast: Thanks everyone! :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,558
    Thnx MW great lil program :D
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. bogie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    92 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    As you are working on key bindings is it at all possible to make our HAT buttons work on the joystick without having to press another button for free look mode?

    Kinda need:

    Freelook + HAT UP
    Freelook + HAT DOWN
    Freelook + HAT LEFT
    Freelook + HAT RIGHT

    binded together if you know what I mean?

    Thanks for the great tool!
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  12. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks Crunching Brotha! :respect: I've got a lot of ideas to add, i hope everyone will enjoy! :toast:

    I'll look into this! It's sad but I still use an old ms Sidewinder..lol But it has HAT.. hehehe Thanks for the suggestion!
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,676 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,776
    Location:
    Chicago
    WTF? How did I miss this release 6 days ago?

    I gotta stop relying on the New Posts button, man.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  14. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    About time you showed up! :p :toast:

    @everybody
    I'll have a new update tomorrow! I've added, "Mouse Sensitivity" and will be in the next update. :toast: I want to add a few more things before I release it. I thought about just releasing a new update tonight, but I don't know if it's a big enough change to put out an update?.. So, I'd like to know what you all think? Would everyone like for me to put it out big or small? or Just wait till I add a few things then release it?

    One more question? What do you guys think about me adding something to check if I've put an update out? Like an auto check when you start the program or a button for you to click that will check whenever you want to see if one is out? Let me know gamers! All suggestions are welcome! Thanks for supporting this project! :toast:
     
    Bow says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,503 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,558
    yes plz :D
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    First off, what you are doing with this utility is great *tips hat*
    Secondly, any updates you do it would be nice to have a release for :p
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  17. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Looks great so far. I know you must have 10000 hrs in it. It would not offend anyone I dont think for you to include a paypal donation. Hint Hint ;)
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  18. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    New! BF3 Config Utility v1.4

    Change Log v1.4
    1. Fixed an issue not being able to save when selecting "Auto" on "Overall Graphics".
    2. Added Vertical Look (Invert Mouse) setting.
    3. Added Mouse sensitivity setting.
    4. New Advanced Tab layout.
    5. Uploaded new Advanced Tab pic.
    Version v1.3 got 236 downloads! :toast: Thanks everyone! :toast:
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2011
    MT Alex says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. highone New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I, too, registered here just to say thanks.

    I also have a request for you. Can you post a donations link, if it's OK with this forum, so we can donate to you for creating a utility that helps out the community this much?

    You are updating this thing enough to where I would like to shoot you 10 bucks from our clan as a thank you.

    Now my alterior motive:

    #1. Is it possible that you can allow additions to the config tab instead of ONLY the settings currently in our configs? I tried adding lines and hitting save but then the config tab removed those lines and went back to what it was before. I'm not sure it saved... but I think it just removed them.

    #2. I think adding binds to actions would be fantastic as well.

    #3. Thanks again for the handy-dandy utility. You did a wonderful job and I hope you keep making it better.
     
    MT Alex and Mindweaver say thanks.
  20. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC

    Thanks! I think donations would be great. I could use that to make the config utility better (like hosting for a auto-update or update alert function). Now about the config tab. Yes, right now you can't make changes directly in that tab, but I am working to make that tab a text editor to allow those changes. Hopefully i'll be able to add that to an update soon. Thanks for the support! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. hlxbravo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Like that other guy, I too have registered just to say thanks a million for this, it sounds and looks awesome and I shall definitely be trying this out when I get home from work.
    It is exactly what I need, as my game crashes if I click on the video tab...up until now I haven't even seen what my settings are, let alone change them.
    I like the sound of a keybind config too, as parts of the original one are broken, mainly binding gamepads.
    Awesome job!

    p.s. an auto update would be a great addition too.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  22. WhiteZero

    WhiteZero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hey guys, I linked this up over on Reddit. So prepare for an influx of downloads.
    It's also linked over on HardForum.

    Thanks for the awesome program, Mindweaver.

    I had a concern, the changelog says "Now when you disable Anti-aliasing will auto disable "Anti-aliasing Post".
    There should definitely be an option to set Deffered and Post AA separately, just like you can in-game.
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  23. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Thanks WhiteZero! More suggestions and testing would be great from others.

    Now about your concern. I was hesitant to make that change. I guess, i was trying to help the gamer. I figured if you where disabling AA then you would disable AA post. Does AA Post do anything once you've disabled AA? I don't really know myself.. I can open that up on next update. That wouldn't be a problem. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. WhiteZero

    WhiteZero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yes, Post AA is Post-Processing AA, such as nVidia's FXAA or AMD's MLAA (I'm not sure if BF3 is using one or the either or both)

    Personally, I've found that turning off Deferred AA and only using Post AA provides excellent image quality with a lower performance hit than normal AA (Deferred AA in BF3).
     
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  25. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Awesome! Thanks for the info! I'll correct this issue on the next build! I should have one up tonight. Thanks again! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page