1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Black Mesa: Source Gameplay

Discussion in 'Games' started by ViperXTR, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,598 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    The game just crashes after i load my game using your config. Back to stock and manually adding few of your entries (like gravity which i assume affects jumping height)...
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  2. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Jo - confirmed.....crashes just after entering the game....
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    honestly it seems petty but with all the ideas I had about seperation it hels me keep track of what I change. In the end instead of running

    threading

    patches

    eyecandy


    i was like shit how about 1 and i just break it into groups?

    dont hate i fixed your flashlight.

    edit:: on it chiefs.
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    fixed

    cross hairs without weapon y/n?

    Attached Files:

    • cfg.exe
      File size:
      100.6 KB
      Views:
      30
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2012
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,598 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    snd_mix_async "1"
    dsp_enhance_stereo "1"
    r_waterforceexpensive "1"
    datacachesize "128"
    mem_max_heapsize "1024"

    This is what i use. Cache and heapsize is in megabytes as per tweakTown guide. Your audio async setting is also set wrong. All the supposed multicore settings crash the game as well.
    Had to remove them all.
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    i have no such problem probably because you have audio sync enabled that is only supposed to be used when you are experiencing audio glitches because its forces software syncronus audio threading.

    good call on the heap size i looked over that. as for telling me you removed everything, I think that was supposed to be a dig. but I guess I just dont understand you use 4 settings as opposed to more then 20 things happen

    "the game crashes" isnt a good bug report I guess I dont know what you want me to do. some of this wont work on all systems ill try iv been working on it since yesterday night did you want a new Os in that time frame?
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,598 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Proper MP5 Sound Mod

    For all those who hate the default MP5 sound. This mod might not mimic the real MP5 sound but at least it has more punch to it unlike half silenced muffled mess they've included with the game. Also changes the sound of enemy soldier MP5's.

    Readme included in the pack.

    Attached Files:

    stinger608 says thanks.
  8. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    looking over the changes you've made and they all look good but this one i LOVE you for

    //auto dismount ladders
    sv_autoladderdismount "1"

    :D


    Also , can you figure out the command for setting the camera roll - it defaults to 3.5 every game launch and i like mine at 0
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    i hate "using" the ladders
  10. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Well there's a noticeable frame rate increase with your config but i just hard locked in an area - going to go back and try to reproduce if i can i'll put up a save file

    Also the gravity at 450 feels a bit weak for me - - makes it feel like im cheating the game i'll give an example in a minute


    EDIT : i seems i fixed the crashing issue, amusing it has some thing to do with the multicore rendering , in the area i am in there's 2 radio active waste pools with some catwalks and an area directly behind it with a small room and a window you can peer into with some eye candy of a spitter eating a scientist when i peer into that room my fps goes from an average 40 (fps boost wooo) to 250fps looking back and fourth causes micro stuttering and i believe that was what caused it mind you i had the string

    //source multi core render mode -1 auto detect 2 is forced.
    mat_queue_mode "-1"

    set to 2 - - setting it back to -1 produced results of looking back into the room would net me 65fps with no crashes in sight



    as for the jumping issue this is what i wanted to point out - its great and all and i normally get it first time now but it feels like im "floating" across rather than making a jumping effort take for example a very tricky jump here

    [​IMG]

    normally you would get up on the railing and just barley make it to the platform on the other side with taking a few points of fire damage but with the gravity set to 450 i can actually sprint + crouch jump to the other railing and take little to no damage at all as presented here

    [​IMG]

    Im going to play with the gravity settings a little bit and see what makes it feel "right" for me
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2012
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    thanks ill take it into consideration. the issue with multi core rendering is that originally it was set at forced. 2007 never had it fully implimented so the resaults are everyware.

    some people have gains
    others have fps loss

    and others just crash. for example you can use 2. myself and the other 2 earlier could not (flash light bug)

    im having a problem with gravity it actually took me a long time to decide on the setting. After reading that HL1 REQUIRED crouch jumping I realized it wasnt a bug as much as they did it to make it "feel" like HL1. That made it hard for me to decide what the correct setting was at. experienced players would find say 300 far to easy. while noobs think its "normal" especially HL2 players that never played 1. So I settled on 450 enough to get out without too much of a problem. but not to low to make it feel like your in space.

    i can try and modify run speed. gravity will effect the height but if i slow the character down a little you shouldnt run into problems like "I can run and jump across the grand canyon"

    what do you think?
  12. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    I think that might be an effective fix because as much as i like it you sprint too damn fast in the game - - its like playing a scout when everyone else has the moving capability of a solider :toast:
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    should i make run speed equal to that of the NPCs?
  14. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    i think it should be in between its current setting and what npcs can run at just my 2 cents though
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    k added some new stuff adjusted player speed changed the console welcome message

    lmk.

    Attached Files:

    • cfg.exe
      File size:
      101.6 KB
      Views:
      22
    Wrigleyvillain says thanks.
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,667 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,773
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hey...you gotta call it something! :laugh:
  17. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Sent you a PM
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    looks like im not going to be able to modify the yaw. if anyone knows were the .cpp files are so I can actually modify the code i can change it no problem.
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,200 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,558
    Location:
    Florida
    re enabled crosshairs and balanced movement speed with the gravity mod so now you get the height without the im a bird now feel thanks to arrakis for testing.

    this is good and working and will be the last quick patch the next ones will come slower unless their is a serious problem while i make low scale tweaks to the already existing patch.

    Attached Files:

    • cfg.exe
      File size:
      101.6 KB
      Views:
      23
    Arrakis+9 says thanks.
  20. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Heres the save file

    Attached Files:

    • SAVE.zip
      File size:
      322.3 KB
      Views:
      18
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  21. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,685
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I'm getting ready to try it out man! Thanks for the Config file! :toast:
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,481 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    any one else notice just how far the enemy NPC's can "see" its actually quite annoying some times because i'll be minding my own business then bam i start taking damage and it usually takes me some time to figure out where its coming from just from the sheer fact that they are so far away

    here's an example on the cliff side mindin' my own business and start hearing pew pews thinking to myself were on earth am i being shot at from - - SURPRISE !

    [​IMG]

    Just to give you perspective of how far away and how ludicrous the angle is i went down to were they were shooting me ( after blowing them all up with explosive barrels mind you ) and looked back up to were i entered the scene

    [​IMG]

    call me crazy but i think the npc's superhuman 6th sense of always knowing were your at is pretty dumb
  23. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,339 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Jesus Christ .....just played 4 hours of this s...

    It´s really addictive..... not played HL1 since it came out.....almost forgot how fun it is :rolleyes:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. MainframeTM

    MainframeTM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    275 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I'm curious. Would there be a mod already that changes the audio for the soldiers back to the default? The new ones make em seem like they are way tooo into killing civvies.
  25. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,480 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Second thing? You make it sound like that first thing was the mod design too. The original game was like that, you had to crouch-jump. Any laser that can't be crawled under you can crouch-jump over, and once you get the technique down, it's not that hard really. Only time you really have to be careful is when lasers are placed close together, like the part where turrets are near a series of lasers and scientists are warning you not to touch the lasers.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page