1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Black Mesa: Source Gameplay

Discussion in 'Games' started by ViperXTR, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    previous mods and now included permanent "off" for the yaw "screen roll" setting.

    enjoy.

    Attached Files:

    • cfg.exe
      File size:
      101.6 KB
      Views:
      49
    PHaS3 and Arrakis+9 say thanks.
  2. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Just an fyi do not jump on top of these power boxes.... the game will crash

    [​IMG]
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    bloom

    hdr

    and audio are being added in my next release. you can see some of my tests here.

    [​IMG]

    those are some f the more extreme tests thats full saturation audio is done and the new catagory in the cfg is set im just tweaking bloom.


    also motion blur will be added in this next release im working on that too in tangent. Im almost done bloom and my blur tweaks are almost done. over all I think it makes it feel that much more real.

    to recap next release additions

    HDR
    BLOOM
    AUDIO
    BLUR

    im pretty bored. and i love TPU I wasnt even planning on getting black mesa until I saw the complaints.
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012
  4. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    that bloom brings a tear to my eye
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    This one is my last build for tonight. I will wait for community feed back for my next release. As promised here ya go.

    Motion blur
    [​IMG]

    bloom + blur

    [​IMG]

    current bloom level "2"

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • cfg.exe
      File size:
      102.1 KB
      Views:
      62
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    910
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I don't think you can. Though i agree. The sound is not the best as they seem to sound like some crazy angry maniacs. I prefered the radio static and noise they had over their voices in original. I still remember how fuckin scared i was playing Uplink back in its day and hearing radio chatter in that hangar full of HECU soldiers screaming while attacking and calling others through radio with loads of static noise you get with the radio tranmitters.
    It's something you don't easily forget...

    Bullshit. I've played original Half-Life and hundreds of mods for it and you could jump higher without any crouching nonsense. Here, you can't even jump properly over lasers that are 10cm above the ground which is just moronic to every possible extent. In original you had to use boxes just for lasers that were like half a meter high (high enough not to be able to jump over but low enough so you couldn't crouch under), but here you need to use them for all because you just can't jump over any freakin thing. In fact they were pissing me so much at that slippery floor near the elevator shaft that i just gun down both turrets with revolver and walked through the lasers. Where in original i took time and evaded them.

    Thank god they removed the electrified water in the blast pit where you need to turn on power and fuel. I'd go mad if i'd have to jump across boxes there...
  7. Arrakis+9

    Arrakis+9

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Honestly you should give Solaris's CFG files a try out, it fixes pretty much all of the "annoying" bugs in the game
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    well thanks :toast: I make them for people to use if they dont use them or dont like them its all w/e too me, it helps some all that really matters imo.

    anyway its my bed time. I look forward to peoples comments tommarrow.
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    910
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Actually i was working hard with my own CFG. It's in no way competing with Solaris17, i just made it as an option if anyone cares. :)

    Solaris17's motion blur was horribly exaggerated when moving forward which made even me a bit sick and i'm otherwise immune to this sort of stuff in games. Mine is a bit more subtle but still noticeable on far edges of the screen during motion. Falling motion blur has been increased o make it a bit more dramatic since you don't often fall far down...

    I've also fixed the left and right motion angle which was just too high by default. It now feels very realistic and not exaggerated in any way. I'm also not using some sort of key bind hack for this but the actual settings for this kind of movement. Solaris17, you should use these as well for your config as it gives more control (angle and time)...

    Particles and props count increased by around 1,5x...

    HDR and Bloom adjusted to a more realistic level opposed to just overdoing it...

    I hope you'll like it, if not feel free to take out bits and parts and make your own.

    Attached Files:

    H82LUZ73 and PHaS3 say thanks.
  10. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,450 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    506
    Original HL1 had crouch jumping too. I suppose it's possible if you're getting any lag it could be affecting your success with it, but a lot of it IS technique. I struggled about as much as you're describing until I remembered HL1 was designed so you had to pick your feet up when jumping. Since then I can jump onto crates, over lasers, etc, easily, even sprint-jump onto things. The only time it feels cumbersome is not being able to quickly vault over ledges and railings, because once you're atop them there's that slow down getting over.

    That said, there's def something wrong with this mod's coding. Seems very unoptimized. I'm at the part at the end of Apprehension where after the assassins you go out through the roof and I can't get a save to load without lots of lag now. I just installed the 306.23 driver and thought maybe that was it since it just started happening out of the blue, but I just loaded up Sleeping Dogs and it's playing fine, and with the HD texture pack with pretty high settings. I know a lot of work went into this, but it's a major letdown in some ways.

    However I am getting the W7 trumpets sound twice back to back once my desktop appears after a reboot since installing 306.23, and I've read of lots of people having problems with it, some even just on the desktop, so it could be this new driver does not like this mod.
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    910
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    No, no and again no. It has nothing to do with any picking fet up. This isn't athetics simulation, it's a plain old shooter. In original HL you could jump normal and you had to use crouch jump for really high objects to which you can't even climb now even with crouch jump. Crouch jump in original HL was meant as a ledge grab function, not to jump on creakin 10cm high obstacles like you have to now. Not even half-Life 2 has jumping like this nor does any CounterStrike based on Source engine.
  12. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    I have to agree with you,I`m stuck trying to cross over the pipes that lead to the office complex,I enable always run hit jump/crouch and still can not jump over the pipe.When in half Life i could,The devs set the gravity in the cfg higher so yeah it is the mod.They said on there forums to lower it back to original 400 when they set it too 800 .hence why we can not jump a box.
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Dowloaded and install it. Played for a fews hours and got bored, so I quit. I'm just not a big shooter fan anymore.
    They did a nice job with it, though.

    I had a heck of a time with the swinging boxes until I got that down. lol
  14. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,450 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    506
    Turns out the lag was the game writing a crap load of saves that needed defragging, running smoothly again now.

    I do recall HL2's crouch jumping was applied a bit differently, but this brings back old memories from HL1. Either that or I need to refresh my memory a bit and replay vanilla HL1. I can't help but think it's mostly the former though because I'm not struggling with any of the parts you guys are talking about since using crouch with the jumps.

    Hope you guys manage to get through it. It's certainly a beautiful looking game with the new HL2 look. A bit more repetitious and one dimensional in the first half than I recall the game being though. Lot's of backroom nav puzzles that kinda remind me of Portal 2's areas behind the test chambers.
  15. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    lol I kept seeing you relaunch the game over and over again, I assumed you were doing something like this.
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  16. half1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Has anyone seen this? :roll::laugh:

    Attached Files:

    stinger608 says thanks.
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Saw it on Reddit a few days ago, haven't seen it myself.

    Seems like I can run this game at 100+ FPS most of the time, until I look at the ice and it drops to below 30.
  18. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,394 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    any way to make SMAA injector work in the game? i placed it on source devkit 2007 folder along with hl2.exe but it doesn't seem to work (even with the overlay steam fix)
  19. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,099 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Hl2 ENB works with this game.

    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  20. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Solaris17 you do c++ coding?
  21. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,768
    Location:
    Chicago
    So I can't take out the ceiling turrets, right? Should just run?
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,555 (10.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,070
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I took one out with grenade.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,768
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yeah I thought of and tried that once but I haven't yet run into one that's not too high up...unless, on second thought, you can cook the grens which I did not try yet...
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida

    It's a good thing I was asking for community feed back maybe you should read a little more and give comments. honestly from the last 2 pages you just seem to me like the type that "needs" to argue and your comments to me werent that useful at all. If anything it almost seems more like you made one simply because you didnt like the settings I provided. Which is fine I mean some people are impatient. but changing them and offering it while telling everyone my settings are horrible is just kind of on the dick side dont you think? and welcoming me to download your version to take notes? If I can be risky enough to step on your level for a minute; I wouldnt download your peice of trash if I had 6 AV scanners.
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2012
    Arrakis+9 and Mindweaver say thanks.
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,561 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    910
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Mine is just CFG file inside ZIP archive. You're the one packing it inside EXE if you want to go down on that level. But trust me, you don't...

    I also didn't say everything was bad, but the motion blur parameters in your CFG were horrible from a visual standpoint. It was like a shockwave in your face every time you moved 1 step forward.
    Other than that i don't have complaints over your config, i was refering to shoddy BMS team work that clearly didn't involve enough testing. Also feel free to use my settings for left/right movement angle. You're using some sort of key bind fix, i've used the actual parameters for that movement. I guess my parameters are a better choice...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page