1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management Helpdesk

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Where are those sata cables leading to by the way?

    do you have some drives external or some such?

    ( as I used to stick a molex and a sata out the back of the case for backing up friends data)
     
  2. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    To my vertical expansion slot of course! It gives me an external molex so I can play around with fans and 2 eSATA ports. I have a cable that goes straight from that molex to a hard drive (along with 2 cables that can go from those eSATA ports to a HDD).

    [​IMG]

    I suppose I could put in a regular slot then route all of it's cables behind the motherboard tray, I may do that tomorrow.
     
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,071 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    908
    if you had cables showing, i would drive/fly to your house and beat you. This is one of the easiest cases to cable manage :D


    having done a recent build with a 300, all i can say for you is cut a few holes.

    The cpu and the front connectors can be ran behind the board or the tray. The 24pin is to thick, it would have to be individualy done.

    Thats all i can honestly suggest on this case, it's a good case, but hard to work with for cables.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. pabloc74

    pabloc74 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Argentina
    after 1 week waiting here it comes..............

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Glazierman

    Glazierman New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    100 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Lake Tawakoni,Texas
    newbie who me ???

    ok, Pantherx12 here I am as green as they come. I'm old dang near blind and I will try this, but why don't you just scoot over here and do this for me?? LOL I'll try to get a better picture sorry for poor quality
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Cptnyr

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    159 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Crystal Lake, Illinois
    Anyone have an antec 900 with great cable management for me to base mine off of?
     
  7. cocosatul

    cocosatul New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    update my little pc

    salve mariachi :D
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    [​IMG]

    Hey guys, would it be beneficial to buy a piece of metal and some rubber grommets and fill up the area enclosed in red? I think it would make hiding cables really easy (like the 800D/Tempest Evo) and I'm itching to try but I'm not sure where to begin.
     
  9. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Definitely. If you could find a good way to secure the plate in there and if it matches the color and kind of metal already used in the case, it would look great with some 800D-type grommeted holes. Maybe you could get Corsair to send you a few so you'll have the real thing in there.
     
  10. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    well here's my little beastie it's an SilverStone RaVeN RV02B-W

    10 HD5770 and RAM are now inplace.jpg
     
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I hate asking for help but it seems that i am in need. I can't seem come up with any other ideas to clean things up
    specs are to the left if needed
    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    do you feel upto cutting some holes into the mobo tray if not then there's not a lot you can do to hide those cables other than maybe make a plate to fit in over the top of your cables

    also why is your PSU the wrong way up the fan should be facing down
     
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    If i face the PSU down it over heats because it can't suck air. I would have to cut a hole in the bottom of the case so it can get some air. i don't feel like cutting but i will consider it this summer.

    Point out where i would need to cut please :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    well that indent beside the PSU would be good place to start

    S5031134 (2).jpg


    I didn't realize your case didn't have the vent hole in the bottom thats gotta suk :nutkick:

    also can you fit the 4/8 pin cpu power cable under the mobo and out at the top if its long enough to do it that is
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  15. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    looks like this summer i have some work to do. I may have to get a longer cable for the 8pin so i can do like you said. It would make things so much easier if i cut like 3 holes and get some modders mesh..
    I am thinking the part that isn't covered (running the HDD wires) behind some mesh(small hole) and get some larger hole mesh and use to cover the hole that i am going to have to cut in the bottom of the case for the PSU. You think that will make things look better?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Down by the PSU and then up under the mobo for the 8pin (and maybe a hole for a HSF backplate as well)
    [​IMG]
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    My cable management at the moment. I'm thinking I'm going to try and route the internal speaker/power button cables via the hole where my PSU cables are routed right now.

    [​IMG]

    Any more ideas?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    I'd be tempted to just cut a small hole just below the bottom edge of your mobo and feed them out there right where it's indented
     
  19. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,839 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,291
    ^^ Agreed. It's harder to make a mATX mobo look good when the holes in the case are meant for a full-size ATX mobo. If you cut new holes, you can buy edging at computer shops online (I may even have some laying around I never used) to keep the holes neat and the wires from getting cut. I would suggest sleaving the smaller wires so everything matches (makes them blend in more instead of sticking out).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I'd cut holes, but I intend on having a ATX board here in not too long. I like the sleaving idea... I might just have to do that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    ok i was making recommendations on the current mobo so if your going with an ATX mobo then coming out where the PSU cables go in makes more sense

    and some sleeving would just tie it all in and make it look like it's meant to be
     
  22. Midnite8

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    bay area 408/510
    I am going to sleeve all my PSU cables UV orange, I was wondering if it is cheaper to buy the sleeve kits or buy couple feet of each different size I need individually. Also, would it be cheaper if I buy the UV reactive sleeving or spray paint them with fluorescent orange since it would be the same under a UV light.
     
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    i Don't know what the costs are where you live as I'm in New Zealand but here the Kits are usually cheaper than buying it all separate
     
  24. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I don't know about the cost, but I don't think paint's gonna last long on a flexible sleeve.
     
  25. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,932 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    491
    LOL beat me to it just reread his post i saw that and then thought Yeah NA not a good idea although leave the cable black and paint the inside of the case with fluoro orange could be interesting :slap:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page