1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire+physics (havok)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Lazzer408, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    They're more set up for rendering in things like autocad and the like.
     
  2. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    because they are prof rendering cards, they have things enabled for those kinds of apps such as line AA, the firegl cards are the same chip used for retail market, they just use a diffrent bios and normaly small changes to pcb like a moved resistor or the like.

    most real pro's prefer something like the 3dlabs wildcat cards tho.

    as to xeon, why xeon, why not opteron, amd will have quadcores out soon, dual quads=4x4 :) should be a better preformer then intels offerings if operon vs xeons of the past is any indocation.
     
  3. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Exactly so if it's all the same hardware why are they raping the business of so much money for them? That expence is in turn paid by the consumers.
     
  4. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    because they can?

    its filling a market niche, its like why does intel sell the EE chips or amd the FX line or why do ram makers sell kits of ram for 600bucks for 2gb? because people are willing to pay that much for them.

    the sales are low but they are enought to justify making the firegl and quadra cards because they take no more work to make then the normal cards, just a minor change to componant layout and a diffrent bios.
     
  5. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Hmmm So as long as consumers keep bending over for them? lol
     
  6. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    kinda like ms with windows or intel with socket changes :)
     
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    They are built for precision accurate 3d rendering not for all out speed for gaming. They are used in design and such.
     
  8. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Same chip right?
     
  9. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    They have extra Video Memory(512MB~1GB), and Drivers optimized for 3D modeling:p
    They are also extremely stable under heavy load.
     
  10. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    so in theory, couldnt you just hack the drivers so it would be its chip's mainstream equivalent except with more ram?
     
  11. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    not theory, you can do it google around,moded drivers are around to run normal cards as firegl cards, and firegl cards as normal cards, or u can just enable those fetures urself in reg :p
     
  12. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    COOL!
    i'm getting me a firegl!

    no, wait!
    get 2 and run them in cf!

    EDIT:
    nvm, the highest i could find was the 7300 with 512... might as well get two 1900xtx's.. :/
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2007
  13. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    FireGL 7350 1gig of ram...

    I figured there would be a way of some sort to make them run games and such.. But honestly for the extra price of a FireGL... I don't know if the performance would be worth it.
     
  14. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Here is a dumb question probably...

    I have a standard PCI Radeon 9250 sitting... Could I use that for Havok with my x1300xt as my output card?

    And if it would work, would the program automatically use the card, or would I need to download
    extra software/drivers?
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2007
  15. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The 1GB of ram will not help you in gaming at all:p
    The purpose of the large memory is for 3D rendering and the calculations when making 3D graphics.
     
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I know, too many people think more ram = faster.... You do gain to a point but a set of x1650xt's 512mb in crossfire and overclocked wont beat a x1950pro 256mb at stock clocking.
     
  17. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    The only way it might work is if you used the 9250 for rendering and the x1300xt for physics. It's been mentioned in this thread that it's the 1000 series cards having there pixle shaders reprogramed for physics.
     
  18. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    ohh ya missed that... Well I'm NOTNOTNOTNOT going to use that 9250 for rendering... lol
     
  19. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    I grabbed an x1600 pro so we'll see what, if any, benifits there are to have a seperate "physics processor". FEAR is supposed to use Havok so some benchmarks with that should show some improvement if this works. I can always slow my cpu to say 2ghz but I don't know if that would effect it since my other cards are 1000 series and they would handle the physics either way. If someone has a better idea of proving the benifits of this let me know. I have Havok at your disposal. When I'm done the x1600 will either go in the kids PC or I'll sell it to you guys. :toast:
     
  20. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    I think its possible to have one GPU doing Physics and one GPU just for graphics.
     
  21. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    You are correct. Currently my 2 x1950 pros are running crossfire.

    Here are some pics. Das alotta stuf. I got everything in this computer but...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,199
    why is there a picture of your kitchen sink? that joke died with... well... the turn of the 19th century
     
  23. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Illinois
    Well RM, I found it mildly amusing. Perhaps someone here has a better sense of humor. :p I find that life is more fun with one. :D
    Maybe you have some input as to how to test this physics setup?
     
  24. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,797 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    New York
    I am really wanting to see the differance by adding a physics card!!!! I have 4x x1xxx and would love to try my x1800xtPE as the physics.That is on my next mobo up grade>Probably that DFI one for skt755
     
  25. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    @lazzer,

    Thats a lovely shade of grey on the wall behind your sink. Does the paint have a name?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page