1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire+physics (havok)

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Lazzer408, Jan 31, 2007.

  1. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Illinois
  2. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Well thats what it seems. Is that Havok does offload the 2nd card in crossfire to it... Unless crossfire itself now fully supports 3 cards :)

    ohh my dreams are escaping me...
     
  3. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Illinois
    Yes they are. :laugh: Well I have yet to see any benifit from 3 cards. Like I said I have no way to know if it's even working. I figure that in order to see any improvement, adding a 3rd card, the GPUs would have had to have been maxed out already. If the Crossfire set has enough overhead to already handle the physics demands then offloading it wouldn't help. If it took everything they have to barely handle physics and graphics then -maybe- there would be some improvement. Cell factor or Crysis will give it a workout once that comes out that's for sure. In the mean time the x1600 pro is going in the kids PC to replace the x700 pro that's in there. I only paid $50 for it anyways so it was worth a shot to try xf+physics.
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ya I knew they were... But ya if you already have a crossfire set and are trying to add a card for physics and performance on top of that, you are going to need a very seriously demanding game..
     
  5. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    no no no, your not seeing what this is about, its not about the game being more demanding, if you dont got a gpu as ppu the game just dosnt look and feel as good, watch the videos of graw with ppu and without, it addes complexity to the game phsyics thus making the game more real.

    3 card solution is for ultra high end or for cheap bastages who want to get a cheap card then add 2 more cheap cards insted of getting 1 good card.

    crossfire and sli will never be the norm, infact i kind of see them going away in the future being replaced with cards with more cores or a 2nd card that adds more/new fetures.

    look at ppu use this way,

    your playing a game, it looks pretty sweet as it is, but wen u shoot the walls u only get little texture changes like black dots(holes) when u blow stuff up it looks ok, not much flying debris or shrapnil and no smoke trails off the debris.
    so you add/enable a 2nd/3rd ati card as a PPU, all of a sudden the game looks even better, when u shoot the walls you see real damnage fx, stuff flying, when you blow something up debris flys away allover the place firy smoke trails ricichets(things bouncing around) cars rock when stuff blows up neer them, peoples hair/cloths moves more realisticly, treas/plants/grass move like they are real, the whole game feels/looks more realistic.

    thats what a ppu brings.

    in CF 2 cards can be maxed out with visual fx and details and not have any extra horsepower to spare to run ppu data(think about crysis/fear/farcry/exct at 1920 res for example)
    a cpu is BAD for phsyics, read up on why (google around some) an x1k gpu is GOOD/GREAT for it, hence adding a 3rd videocard to cf or a 2nd card to normal systems.

    eventuly they will just tag on units spicificly made to do PPU work on the videocard, the 2nd/3rd card will likely just be used to boost that even more, possably even running more parts of the game on a 2nd/3rd gpu.
     
  6. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    What we are talking about here is the idea of 2 cards for rendering + your proc trying to handle the physics is being over loaded and can't take it all. Then if you add another card to take care of physics it should aid in performance, I mean you are relying less on your cpu now. Or in turn leaving yourself more rendering power if you had them setup for rendering/physics before. But you would need a program capable of over running all your hardware to start.

    He is looking for something that will literally over run his current setup, to see the gains it could give. I don't think he is expecting anything in everything else by just adding it.

    Basically if your cards can handle everything to start with you wont gain performance by adding a physics card. Only under the case that your card(s) can't handle everything and/or your processor is over run will it do anything. Physics isn't part of basic rendering so you shouldn't see any difference by removing the physics processing from your rendering card as long as the car is able to keep up with it all.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2007
  7. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Illinois
    My car is WAY faster then my computer. My pc doesnt even have a turbo! -zoom zoom- ;)
     
  8. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Lol.... Ohh leave it to you guys to nit pick my typo's...:toast:
     
  9. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Your statement is rather short-sighted. First off games in the future will require PPUs.
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'm just itching for them to get a few titles out there that take full advantage of gpu Havoc. At that point I'll buy an ATI DX10 card, and use my X1800XT for physics. That should make a killer physics card.
     
  11. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Yep it will :D, hehehe... useless for graphics in the future... but a killer Physics! TAKE THAT NVIDIA!

    Nvidia GPUs are poor at physics btw.
     
  12. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Illinois
    There's already tons of titles out for Havok.
     
  13. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    ok make it simpler for you.

    mixed mode on a gfx cards a bad idea, it takes gfx perf away to run ppu data.

    moving phsyics to a sepret card offloads that from the cpu AND DRASTICLY IMPROVES THE QUILITY OF THE PHSYICS BEING USED, it wont boost fps much but it will make the game far more detailed/real.
     
  14. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    yes and current havoc in use dosnt support anything but cpu phsyics, the update to the
    Lazzer408
    new gpu driven version WONT BE FREE, so you arent likely to see it in any patches for those tons of titles that are already out.

    *shakes head......dam noobs* :p
     
  15. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Erm I said nothing to the effect they wouldn't... Nor did anyone else.
     
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ya thats what I was trying to spit out... That if you unload your card from trying to do both you allow it to do more gfx.
     
  17. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Okay now I get it... Havok hasn't actually finished that part yet I'm understanding....

    Well hurry it up!!! :slap: *to havok*
     
  18. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Illinois
    I've been working with computers for years my friend. Because I don't know one specific detail about one specific technology makes me a noob? :roll: If it makes you feel smarter go right ahead. At least you know -something- I don't :rolleyes:
     
  19. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    note the :p

    and if ur gonna talk about it READ UP, dont just post FUD, your FUD could endup having the inquierer(sp) posting it as fact :p
     
  20. Lazzer408

    Lazzer408

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,550 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Illinois
    My what? I didn't post any facts saying anything other then what I read on ATI or Havok's site. I made no claims to anything. Just making conversation.
     
  21. AshenSugar

    AshenSugar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    ashentech.com
    the way you posted made it sound like any havoc game will support gpu as ppu, when it only will work with next gen havoc games.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page