1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,877
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. mike047 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    483 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Zirconia NC usa
    They are good solid cards, I have had no problems with the three I am running. A little warm but no bad work so I am happy.
     
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    how do i get my 4830 to give me more than 1300 ppd?
     
  4. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hmm... I was playing FF8 on my PS2 with my 9600GSO folding. I switched over to HDMI real quick to check on the percentage and there was no signal. I wiggled the cable around on the back of the TV and video card, still no signal. I hit the reset button on my PC and I got video. Odd... the card has been completely stable other than this.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    968 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    My 4850 gives me anywhere from 1300 to 2000 so i feel your pain. I seen some say they get 3000 to 4000 with a 4850 but I dont see it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Yey, good news, i'll be getting back into folding next week!

    Need some help first, i was told the CMD version of F@H gave better PPD, which one is it on the site?
     
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Here ya go...

    GPU2 Vista Console Client
     
    MoonPig says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Also, correct me when i go wrong.

    8800GT has the same core as the 8800GTX, the 9800GTX+ is a revamped 8800GTX?

    If so, could i use a 9800GTX+ in slot one (for games etc.) and two 8800GT's in slot 2 and 3 for JUST folding?

    If not, whats the best setup i can do with one powerful card in slot 1, and two cards in slot 2 and 3. (2 needs to be Singleslot, 3 can be quad slot... lol)

    Thanks
     
  9. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    8800GT is a G92 core(65nm process) and has 112 shaders
    9800GTX+ is a G92b core(55nm process) and has 128 shaders
    8800GTX is a G80 core(90nm process) and has 128 shaders

    You should always combine cards of similar shader count. Different counts will handicap the larger shader card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Handicap it ingame?

    I wont be using the 9800GTX+ for folding, only the 8800GTs will fold.
     
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oh so say if I got like a dedicated 8600gt to fold my 9600gso would be crippled because of it? This would be 2 seperate cards, not SLI.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    You may see some instability of driver crashes, but it should work.

    8600 GT is 32 shaders. For what it would handicap the 9600GSO, you would be better off folding the 9600GSO alone. Less elec used and more PPD produced.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Ah ok. Thanks.

    Whats the best combination. I need one powerful (ish) graphics card in slot one (can be three slots) and then i have two slots for dedicated folders.
     
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    That set-up sounds fine. You may get stuttering in-game with 2 GPU's folding being fed off the same CPU.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,730 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I don't think i'll end up doing that though. The ultimate plan is to play and fold with these 8800GT's. Then when the ATi 5 series pushes 4870 and 4870x2 prices down, i'll buy something for my gaming rig and put the 8800GT's in a dedicated rig.

    Give it a month or two :p
     
  16. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    I mean if I could fold on the 8600gt dedicated and use my 9600gso for gaming, and fold on that too when not in use, just like I do now, only difference would be the 8600gt would be going all the time. Having an 8600gt in my system would handicap my 9600gso??
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,391 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I figured out how to get the smp client running, I set it for 50% usage, it seems awful slow. What do you guys use when running the smp client?
     
  18. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    968 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    I dont I crunch with cpu
     
    theonedub says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,036 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,108
    Location:
    Ohio
    ^^useful comment.

    Yeah, SMP work units are pretty big. With my old 5200+ at 2.8GHz, it took like ~18 hours to do a work unit, and that's at 100% cpu usage.

    F@H runs on low priority so you can set it to 100% and it still shouldn't bother other things.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,235 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,861
    Really though its all about efficiency to me, I wanted to Fold on my E2200 but it took 24hrs/WU. Folding is just more efficient on GPUs (also why I use Nvidia over ATI). If you want your CPU to do something useful in a timely manner Crunch for TPU's WCG Team :D
     
    mx500torid says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I need a hand with setting up SMP client on my Acer lappy.
    I've gone through all the configuration stuff and given it 85% CPU usage , despite it having been running for 14 minutes it's still saying that it has made absolutely no progress with the WU, am I doing something wrong or is this lappy just incredibly slow at folding?
     
  22. stanhemi

    stanhemi New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    802 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Montreal,-Canada.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2009
  23. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,235 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,861
    Im not trying to be rude, but look at my post and Hat's post right above yours. Folding on the CPU (of this class) w/ the SMP Client takes about 24hrs per WU. Nothing is wrong CPUs and Folding just aren't a perfect couple.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    It'd been running for almost quarter of an hour and it was still saying 0 out of 25000 steps completed, it should at least have done one surely?
     
  25. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,877
    Crazy, does task manager show that your CPU is busy? Sort processes by CPU (highest to lowest) and see what comes to the top
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page