1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,482 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    892
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Nope, doesn't work for me. I can bring up as many windows as I want, and it's all still a slide show. Taskbar slow, start menu slow, everything slow. Under xp64 it does none of this. Weird.
     
  2. Beertintedgoggles

    Beertintedgoggles

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    735 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    I've got three folding boxes set up at a friends apt. since he only pays a set electricity bill regardless of usage; can someone recommend me a good vnc program and a link to setup instructions? I'm tired of checking their integrity by solely checking the points updates, it usually takes about twice as long that way to determine if something is up than if I could remotely connect to them.
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Logmein? That's what I use for rigs that I don't have monitors hooked up, just log in through there. Works great for me.
     
  4. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Now got 2 X Sapphire 5770s in the rig part time folding. Heat is causing a major issue and is shutting the PC off randomly. Any tips on cooling them down. (Temp solution was to open the case up and have a desk fan on high power cooling them :) )

    Also is it normal for one to be a little quicker than the other? In fact one is at 39% and the other at 31% even though they started at the same time.
     
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I would say the difference in speed is okay I guess, I've never really paid attention to mine. As far as heat, that is about as much as you can do. You can try to take apart the card and apply new thermal paste and clean up the fans and the heatsink on the card to make sure it's getting as much air through the heatsink as possible.
     
  6. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I think a new case might help as well. The trouble is the PSU which is under a fair amount of load, and the Overclocked CPU are both exhausting into the back of the GPUS.

    Next pay day I'm going to change the CPU to a corsair H50 and get a case with the PSU in the bottom rather than the top.
     
  7. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,643 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Like this?
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1230480&postcount=10

    Option 1: (which you've already discovered ) Open case and get a fan that runs on household voltage, that's at least 3 times bigger than a 120mm fan, blowing into the case.
    Option 2: Get a better case.
    Option 3: Go naked!
    Option 4: Find a cold place to put system.

    Check out other rigs in that thread I linked you to for more ideas.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    @headshot.

    The PSU you can't put it to vent up? Heat rises so mounted at the top would be better. Depends on PSU I guess, mine is at the bottom of the case by it intakes through the bottom and exhausts out of the back of the case so it's fine.
     
  9. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,789 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,373
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Halp!

    As much as I'd like to be folding this much, either something is fishy or I have the most godlike 4850 ever.

    My gpu client has been hanging recently (to the point that a workunit has expired despite having the client running 24/7), but it is working now (moved from 33% to 35% while I was writing).

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,643 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Seems like something's going around!:laugh:
    Seriously, just wait until the yellow box turns green and PPD will be back to normal.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,789 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,373
    Location:
    Washington, US
    It's been open all night. The percentage updates correctly if I refresh it. :confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,643 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Have you tried hfm.net?
     
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,789 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,373
    Location:
    Washington, US
    hfm.net works. After folding for 3-4%, they show as green. 4,727 PPD for me. :D

    Also, just to confirm, bonus points only come from big WUs and -advmethods? How much longer do these units take compared to normal units?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,643 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Bonus points are only for SMP at this time. That includes SMP with -bigadv.
     
    xvi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    What sort of PPD do you get off a nvidia 430?
     
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,643 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Hmm strange one. Have done two work units today, both uploaded at the same time but only one is showing up on the stats.

    Ideas anyone?
     
  18. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,643 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    ???The cut-off time fell between the 2 uploads????
     
    headshot119 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,385
    Yes, avoid that. Tried it with 92 k units a couple of times. If you have the same machine ID (and you will if both GPU's sits in the same rig) it can happen, or that at least what I think.

    Edit: Have a look in your log files. Was it the same unit? They often send out dublicates and some times it happens you get two identical WUs and thats when it f**ks up.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. headshot119 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    164 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Ok to get another rig folding 24/7 I have the following plan

    AMD AM2 5600 + CPU
    2 GB DDR2 RAM
    OCZ 500 W PSU
    Random hard drive from somewhere :)
    Nvidia GTS 450

    What sort off PPD can I expect of it, folding on the GPU, concerned with the CPU limiting it mainly.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  21. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,789 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,373
    Location:
    Washington, US
    CPU shouldn't limit it. I hear the nVidia client is rather processor friendly (or at least it was for me the short time I had a GTS 250). The ATI client can be processor friendly too if you tweak it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,268 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,385
    +1 I have a e8400 that pulled a 450 + a 460 with less then 1 % CPU load.

    Edit: the 450 is good for around 8-9 k PPD. CPU, no clue.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    @xvi

    When you talk about tweaking the ATI client, you mean the environmental values correct?
     
  24. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,789 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,373
    Location:
    Washington, US
    Correct.

    While I'm thinking about it, is it true that the upcoming OpenCL client won't run on Radeon HD 4000 series cards?

    Try a local electronics recycler. I volunteered at one for about six months. You could probably pick up a decent 40GB for $5-10. You could try a poor man's SSD too (compact flash card + CF to IDE adapter).

    The number 400-600 ppd per core comes to mind, but it's a wild guess. I never found the CPU to be a very efficient cruncher. If I recall correctly, my lappy (Core Duo 1.6GHz) did 200-300-ish per core on Linux. (Edit: 96 PPD per core on Linux. I don't know where I got 300ppd from.:confused:)

    Edit again: Sig rig is doing ~500 per core on the beta client.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,643 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Correct. Link

     
    Chicken Patty and xvi say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page