1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. Romeopp

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    [​IMG]

    thanks for all previous helps in past . now my new config is


    Phenom II X6
    4GB Ram
    HD 5750
    500 W SMPS
    21 LCD monitor HD
    win7 64 bit

    for this system is 9 hrs to complete the project 2 long or ok ?

    thank u again all



    edited
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2011
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  2. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,878
    WU shortages for ATI/AMD GPU clients are common. Sorry.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Romeopp

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1


    ty 4 quick reply , i got GPU WU after a while , ty


    for cpu Folding i need to get extra fans for my cabnet , it getting ~65*C CPU temp and each cores 55+ after ~15+ minutes of folding


    atm idle temp = 44*c and 35*c each cores(6)
     
  4. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,878
    Is that for your GPU?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Romeopp

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    [​IMG]


    ss showing all infos needed[GPU client, SMP client, cpu utilization , temp , cloak , etc

    SMP client is showing 9 hrs and GPU client 5 hrs


    my system spe

    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T ,Benq G2220HD 22 ,GIGABYTE GA-880GM-UD2H ,COOLER MASTER Elite 310 ,CORSAIR 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 X2 , FSP Saga II 500 W HD 5750
     
  6. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    9hrs for an SMP2 WU sounds about right but not for an GPU WU although ~6 hrs is what I get for core_16 but they're huge(50 million steps) compared to core_11 WU's (200K steps) and only 2.5hrs a pop

    personally I think you'd be better getting rid of Fahtracker and HFM and using just the new V7.1.21 F@Hclient it's much easier to setup and keep track of whats going on
     
  7. Romeopp

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    ty for reply , but where to get 7.1.21 version Folding@home client?

    download page's latest is 6.31


    http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

    edit

    got V7 client

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2011
  8. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    ok so now you've got V7 up and running in order to get your GPU to pick up Core_16 WU's (the new OpenCL WU's) you'll need to do a few things follow these steps and you wont go wrong
    if you folow the yellow marker

    1: Click Configure click configure.JPG

    2: Click the Slots tab click slots then select GPU slot and then click edit.JPG

    3: Select the GPU slot you added then click the edit button (bottom right)

    4: In the :NAME field type: client-type
    5: In the :value field type: advanced type client type in NAME and advanced in VALUE.JPG

    6: click OK then OK again then click SAVE

    now that you've done that the very next WU your GPU gets should be and Core_16 WU :D
     
  9. Romeopp

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i done, ty , hope i am getting new WU's

    btw i finished SMP WC now and got creadited with 750 points

    Code:
    03:24:05:Unit 01: Uploading 7.02MiB
    03:24:05:Starting Unit 00
    03:24:05:Connecting to 171.64.65.55:8080
    03:24:05:Running core: C:/Users/removed/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/x86/Core_a3.fah/FahCore_a3.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -lifeline 3432 -version 701 -checkpoint 15 -np 6
    03:24:05:Unit 02:
    03:24:05:Unit 02:*------------------------------*
    03:24:05:Unit 02:Folding@Home GPU Core
    03:24:05:Unit 02:Version 2.11 (Thu Dec 9 15:00:14 PST 2010)
    03:24:05:Unit 02:
    03:24:05:Unit 02:Compiler  : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 15.00.30729.01 for 80x86 
    03:24:05:Unit 02:Build host: user-f6d030f24f
    03:24:05:Unit 02:Board Type: AMD/OpenCL
    03:24:05:Started core on PID 4088
    03:24:05:Unit 02:Core      : x=16
    03:24:05:FahCore 0xa3 started
    03:24:05:Unit 02: Window's signal control handler registered.
    03:24:05:Unit 02:Preparing to commence simulation
    03:24:05:Unit 02:- Ensuring status. Please wait.
    03:24:06:Unit 00:
    03:24:06:Unit 00:*------------------------------*
    03:24:06:Unit 00:Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
    03:24:06:Unit 00:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
    03:24:06:Unit 00:
    03:24:06:Unit 00:Preparing to commence simulation
    03:24:06:Unit 00:- Ensuring status. Please wait.
    03:24:11:Unit 01: 1.45%
    03:24:14:Unit 02:- Looking at optimizations...
    03:24:14:Unit 02:- Working with standard loops on this execution.
    03:24:14:Unit 02:- Previous termination of core was improper.
    03:24:14:Unit 02:- Going to use standard loops.
    03:24:14:Unit 02:- Files status OK
    03:24:14:Unit 02:sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
    03:24:14:Unit 02:- Expanded 42448 -> 171163 (decompressed 403.2 percent)
    03:24:14:Unit 02:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=42448 data_size=171163, decompressed_data_size=171163 diff=0
    03:24:14:Unit 02:- Digital signature verified
    03:24:14:Unit 02:
    03:24:14:Unit 02:Project: 11293 (Run 17, Clone 119, Gen 0)
    03:24:14:Unit 02:
    03:24:14:Unit 02:Entering M.D.
    03:24:15:Unit 00:- Looking at optimizations...
    03:24:15:Unit 00:- Working with standard loops on this execution.
    03:24:15:Unit 00:- Previous termination of core was improper.
    03:24:15:Unit 00:- Files status OK
    03:24:15:Unit 00:- Expanded 657913 -> 1092080 (decompressed 165.9 percent)
    03:24:15:Unit 00:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=657913 data_size=1092080, decompressed_data_size=1092080 diff=0
    03:24:15:Unit 00:- Digital signature verified
    03:24:15:Unit 00:
    03:24:15:Unit 00:Project: 11020 (Run 0, Clone 8329, Gen 3)
    03:24:15:Unit 00:
    03:24:15:Unit 00:Entering M.D.
    03:24:16:Unit 02:Will resume from checkpoint file 02/wudata_01.ckp
    03:24:16:Unit 02:Tpr hash 02/wudata_01.tpr:  4057115785 3822478664 3115239368 745130690 277190393
    03:24:16:Unit 02:Working on ALZHEIMER DISEASE AMYLOID
    03:24:16:Unit 02:Client config unavailable.
    03:24:17:Unit 01: 3.34%
    03:24:17:Unit 02:Starting GUI Server
    03:24:21:Unit 00:Mapping NT from 6 to 6 
    03:24:21:Unit 00:Completed 0 out of 1000000 steps  (0%)
    03:24:23:Unit 01: 5.29%
    03:24:26:Unit 02:Resuming from checkpoint
    03:24:26:Unit 02:fcCheckPointResume: retreived and current tpr file hash:
    03:24:26:Unit 02:   0   4057115785   4057115785
    03:24:26:Unit 02:   1   3822478664   3822478664
    03:24:26:Unit 02:   2   3115239368   3115239368
    03:24:26:Unit 02:   3    745130690    745130690
    03:24:26:Unit 02:   4    277190393    277190393
    03:24:26:Unit 02:fcCheckPointResume: file hashes same.
    03:24:26:Unit 02:fcCheckPointResume: state restored.
    03:24:26:Unit 02:fcCheckPointResume: name 02/wudata_01.log Verified 02/wudata_01.log
    03:24:26:Unit 02:fcCheckPointResume: name 02/wudata_01.trr Verified 02/wudata_01.trr
    03:24:27:Unit 02:fcCheckPointResume: name 02/wudata_01.xtc Verified 02/wudata_01.xtc
    03:24:27:Unit 02:fcCheckPointResume: name 02/wudata_01.edr Verified 02/wudata_01.edr
    03:24:27:Unit 02:fcCheckPointResume: state restored 2
    03:24:27:Unit 02:Resumed from checkpoint
    03:24:27:Unit 02:Setting checkpoint frequency: 500000
    03:24:27:Unit 02:Completed  40000001 out of 50000000 steps (80%).
    03:24:29:Unit 01: 6.96%
    03:24:35:Unit 01: 8.85%
    03:24:41:Unit 01: 10.74%
    03:24:47:Unit 01: 12.64%
    03:24:53:Unit 01: 14.53%
    03:24:59:Unit 01: 16.42%
    03:25:05:Unit 01: 17.48%
    03:25:11:Unit 01: 18.37%
    03:25:17:Unit 01: 19.87%
    03:25:23:Unit 01: 21.38%
    03:25:29:Unit 01: 23.21%
    03:25:35:Unit 01: 25.16%
    03:25:41:Unit 01: 26.94%
    03:25:47:Unit 01: 28.56%
    03:25:53:Unit 01: 30.45%
    03:25:59:Unit 01: 32.01%
    03:26:05:Unit 01: 33.46%
    03:26:11:Unit 01: 35.02%
    03:26:17:Unit 01: 36.57%
    03:26:23:Unit 01: 38.52%
    03:26:29:Unit 01: 40.36%
    03:26:35:Unit 01: 42.03%
    03:26:41:Unit 01: 43.53%
    03:26:47:Unit 01: 45.15%
    03:26:53:Unit 01: 46.93%
    03:26:59:Unit 01: 48.15%
    03:27:05:Unit 01: 49.71%
    03:27:11:Unit 01: 51.27%
    03:27:17:Unit 01: 52.55%
    03:27:23:Unit 01: 54.33%
    03:27:29:Unit 01: 55.78%
    03:27:35:Unit 01: 57.67%
    03:27:41:Unit 01: 59.62%
    03:27:47:Unit 01: 61.57%
    03:27:53:Unit 01: 63.52%
    03:27:59:Unit 01: 65.52%
    03:28:05:Unit 01: 67.47%
    03:28:11:Unit 01: 69.31%
    03:28:17:Unit 01: 71.26%
    03:28:23:Unit 01: 73.04%
    03:28:29:Unit 01: 74.82%
    03:28:35:Unit 01: 76.66%
    03:28:41:Unit 01: 78.05%
    03:28:47:Unit 01: 79.66%
    03:28:53:Unit 01: 81.44%
    03:28:59:Unit 01: 82.56%
    03:29:05:Unit 01: 83.78%
    03:29:11:Unit 01: 84.90%
    03:29:17:Unit 01: 86.34%
    03:29:21:Unit 02:Completed  40500000 out of 50000000 steps (81%).
    03:29:24:Unit 01: 87.34%
    03:29:30:Unit 01: 88.57%
    03:29:36:Unit 01: 89.68%
    03:29:42:Unit 01: 91.07%
    03:29:48:Unit 01: 92.58%
    03:29:54:Unit 01: 94.47%
    03:30:00:Unit 01: 96.25%
    03:30:06:Unit 01: 97.53%
    03:30:12:Unit 01: 98.53%
    03:30:18:Unit 01: 99.70%
    03:30:20:Unit 01: Upload complete
    03:30:20:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
    03:30:20:Final credit estimate, 750.00 points
    03:30:20:Cleaning up Unit 01
    03:31:40:Unit 00:Completed 10000 out of 1000000 steps  (1%)
    
     
  10. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    03:24:05:Unit 02:Core : x=16 <<< that says yes you are
     
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,944 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,534
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I've been procrastinating over doing F@H for ages. :eek: There are two main questions that seem to be stopping me from jumping in.

    1 Will it run my graphics card flat out the whole time? I've got a GTX 580, so you can imagine how this would be undesirable

    2 I did run F@H years ago and have a few units to my name. How do I get those back and associate them with TPU?
     
  12. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,141 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Ad 1. Yes and no. When it runs it runs 100 %. You decide when it runs.
    Ad 2. Not possible but the points you earned for another team will still be yours but will not count towards milestones. See my stats here - http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main.py?qtype=userpage&username=MStenholm
     
    qubit says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    858 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
    Alright kids, I'm back into folding now that I have my i7 2600k ready to go, I kept bluescreening with my 5 GHz o/c, I had to dial it down to 4.5GHz in order to fold.

    I got the two GTX470's and the 9800GTEco with the i7.

    Whats the best way to set that hardware up for some monster numbers?

    Thanks in advance! :)
     
  14. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,657 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,134
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    KieX and Sinzia say thanks.
  15. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    858 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    216
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,324 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,878
    Finish 10 SMP WU's before going for the bigadv WU's.
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,657 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,043
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    + 100

    :toast:
     
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    having some issues with the v7 client still i have it folding on my 5870 and cpu in seperate slots at min, the prob is that if i try and set up my gt240 to fold with it it gives an error straight after downloadin a core, thats prob 1

    also v7 isnt sending the completed work units right i dont think its actually sent 1 yet ive attached the log, any ideas?

    View attachment 41693

    at the min im folding with a gui v6 client on nv gt240 and v7 on 5870 and cpu but only the gt240 clients actually getting work completed right
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
  19. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    3:17:31:Unit 06: Upload complete
    13:17:31:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)

    that says it uploaded on fine there the other error msg's just mean the server is overloaded at the moment and cannot accept your work at present they should keep trying to send though..
    As for the other problem with the GT240 I have no idea other than maybe trying to use an switch to tell the client what your card is so the it d/l's the right core for you GPU
     
    theoneandonlymrk and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  20. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    oh allright cos ive been uninstallin and reinstallin it to sort it i took every other folding client off too but the gt240 refuses to fold though i did catch the 5870's client running on it once ?? as seen by load in afterburner which was strange , reinstalled and its back to norm, gt240 failing unstable machine .

    ive since down clocked a bit so my multi is its norm setting x9 x333 3.0Ghz , so the timings bang on and also alltered it to use 2 cores of four for the smp client so its got processing overhed free for the gpu clients but still gt240 wont fold its trying to use client x11 is that right?
    and i cant find the right settings to put in for a gt240

    again for V7 client which again seems to make it tricky with hybrid setups which is a shame because if you could throw any card you had in and fold on it that would be optimum

    sorry but also when i click to check my stats it keeps going to the old team i folded for before seein t light, the couters not goin up but it makes it harder to see if its earning me out
     
  21. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    there's walk through just up a bit in this thread follow that to tell Fahclient your GPU is an G92 what exact switch you need I don't know as I don't use nVidia GPU's Buck Nasty might be able to help there more than I can with what switches to use
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  22. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    ive gone and returned it to the way it was v7 running cdu @smpx2 on the q6600 and the 5870, with the nvidia on its own client ive them all being productive but still has issues returning work and connecting ave they got 1 pc over there or sumat:D

    i couldnt find the switch, V7 did find the card automatically it just kept returning unstable machine 122 which cant be fully right as its working fine now and im unable to find the right switch i tried many allready lol most just disapear so as peeps know they may have been taken but who knows, i do know that if i try to get the gt240 to fold with the 5870 it sometimes takes over from the 5870 with its core x16 but v7 wont work both at same time correctly just returns error

    i appreciate the help guys and im now quite happy as at least ive got both cards running plus a 2x smp core but is it worth me running 1 single unix core as well
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  23. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,989 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    that says to much OC or getting to hot what's you temps like
     
  24. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    83 on the nv at min folding with stock clocks 575 on core 14xx on shader std im just gona run it seperate anyway as it lets me see my wu and stuff and can be ran all the time whilst gamein,on this my main pc, i intend up scaling up my wu over this year just as soon as i upgrade to an 8 core bulldozer this will fold perm till it dies with 3 decent nv cards in it (mobo has 3 crossfireable slots but i think itll work as gt240 is in one of the main CF pciex slots at min working fine)

    im kinda treatin this as a learning period

    nv at 99% load sos
     
  25. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    First time I've setup SMP and first time using client V7. Followed the instructions here to setup.

    Does this look correct? I did the thing to setup as bigadv, but I can't tell a regular SMP from a BidAdv:

    -one more question... what is TPF? I see that term a lot in the forum but don't know what it means or how the time it shows corresponds to anything.
    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page