1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Hmmm... it doesn't look like I'll be able to run F@H optimally.

    I ran the tracker, set everything up and got just the GPU to do the work. However, there's the most annoying modulated high-pitched whistling sound coming from the speakers and also directly from the graphics card. It's clearly audible and not possible to ignore, so it's no go. While I didn't expect the audio breakthrough, I expected the graphics card to make some noise, from previous experience of driving cards at very high framerates. I guess I could throttle it back a bit, but it's still gonna make a noise, just less, so it's pointless.

    On to the CPU: I can only run the single core client right now, because the cooling isn't up to it. My Zalman cooler is analog and has a resistor to run it at a constant slowish speed for quietness, which it does very well. This is fine for everyday use and games (just about) but the CPU was climbing the high 70's before I quit the client. In fact, I had to kill the client with the Task Manager too, because the tracker couldn't stop it. :shadedshu

    So there you go. I'm gonna continue to run it, just not with the performance us enthusiasts would like. :ohwell: Any suggestions for improving this situation welcome.
     
  2. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,988 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Sorry Pops, no idea. For clarification, does this seem to be a problem with Tracker or with the client?
     
  3. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR

    Not sure. I want to say tacker since I don't run client. When ever I click to open - run prog. This error pops up. It closes if I click continue but if I were to open tracker settings, It pops right back up again. I left the tracker running for some time last night, GPU0 says running but ppd was highlighted yellow and progress never moved from 0%.

    So at this time it looks like I can't get up and folding till this is figured out. I'd hate to go back to the old one we were usin. That was a pain to set up lol.
     
  4. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Hi everyone. I just bought myself a 970, and i wanted to ask the team if there's a tutorial somewhere to show me how to fold those new linux bigadv wu. Is it possible to fold them in a vm? Is it worth the trouble or should i just keep folding using the gpu v2 tracker? What kind of oc will i have to get to return them in time? Thanks in advance.
     
  5. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    You can get a guide to installing Folding@home on Ubuntu here.

    My 970 @ 4.2 gets about ~90K ppd when folding one of the -bigbeta WU's
     
    Feänor and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  6. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    And what kind of ppd with regular -bigadv?
     
  7. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Depends on your OC;)
     
  8. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    If i want to push it to the max 24/7 volts (as cooling is not a problem), i've read around 4,5 is possible. Is 90000ppd possible?
     
  9. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    If they have an unlimited supply of -bigbeta WU's it is possible. You'll probably be looking at somewhere from 25K-30K if you let it fold -bigbeta and -bigadv using Linux.
     
    Feänor says thanks.
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,988 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    Wait, I thought the 6 core i7's were good for 60K/day plus? I thought MStenholm was getting 60-70K/WU.
     
  11. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I will have to look at my 970 @ 3.9 that is doing Linux -bigbeta to see the actual PPD.
     
    Feänor says thanks.
  12. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    At the start they would get ~60K ppd, with the -bigadv WU's, with a healthy overclock.

    But the bonus was cut back, not that long ago, and probably only get in the high 40K range now (I would have to check mine when running a -bigadv WU)
     
    Feänor says thanks.
  13. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    i know the bonus points changed a little while ago, i came from 26000ppd@4.0 ghz all the way down to 27000@4,3 ghz. Took me a lot of vcore and cooling to get back those ppd.

    So if i understand, i'll be looking at a 10000ppd increase with regular bigadv wu, and possibly could go as high as 80-90000ppd with the bigbeta ones? How can i run a 11 threads linux vm with bigbeta inside my windows 7 and let my two gtx460 fold with gpu tracker? All guide i see use vmware and it seems to have a 4 cores limits...:banghead:
     
  14. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,988 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,501
    I believe that those running -bigadv and -bigbeta have found that GPU Folding hurts the points that they get from the SMP client. Especially running 2 GPU clients.
    I didn't know that the bonus reduction also affected the -bigadv Folders, I only thought it affected the -bigbeta Folders.
    As for PPD, look at MStenholm's drops. Are you (bog, oily) telling me that he's getting those kind of points for -bigbeta, not -bigadv?
    BTW, the free VMware has a 4 core limit, but not the one you buy.
     
    Feänor says thanks.
  15. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    It cost around 1000-2000ppd to fold on 7 cores instead of 8, but add two 12000ppd gpu client, for a net profit of 20000-22000ppd. Well worth it if you ask me...

    I'll try to find me a full version of vmware.:shadedshu
     
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Based on the frequency that he drops those and the points that he gets, those are unmistakenly -bigadv. I believe he is currently running one rig and if he is running it as a dedicated machine, his ppd should show somewhere between 40k-45k.
     
    Feänor says thanks.
  17. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    I'm folding bigadv with my 950 and running two gtx 460 all in the same loop. 45k ppd would be my average production.
     
  18. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    They are -bigadv..worth about 75K, but take about 1.5 days to complete, so ~45K per day

    Here is pic of my HFM , Crunchfolder I & II are 970's and III is a 920, all ~4.2GHz

    [​IMG]
     
    Feänor and thebluebumblebee say thanks.
  19. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Very nice Oily! I wish I could get a 6903 or 6904 every time I complete one:rolleyes:
     
  20. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Hey oily, how do you set up all those clients? Are you getting those ppd number from a vm or a native client?

    I'll have only one rig and i'd like to fold bigbeta and keep my gpus. The only program i've got that allowed me to fully load 8 cores is Virtual box. I'm pretty sure that it'll let me put 11 threads when the 970 will be installed. I just wanted to know if anyone is folding bigbeta and gpus at the same time, as it is what i'm going to try.
     
  21. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Sorry Feanor I'm running a native x64 Linux system on both my -bigbeta rigs (which have the 970's in them).

    So, I don't know much about running it under a virtual machine and whether you can assign a set number of threads for it to run on.

    It would be interesting to see how much the 2x460's will hurt the PPD and whether it is worth it or not.


    I have been away for about a week, and on my return I picked up both of those -bigbeta WU's, when I turned my rigs back on.

    But it usually is just luck to get one and I can go days without any ...
     
    Feänor and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  22. dank1983man420

    dank1983man420

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    496 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Near Chicago, IL
    theoneandonlymrk and bogmali say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,384 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    hello all, ive had an unfortunate occurence with my main rig in sig, it has abit guru software, which recently told me my mobo was pulling 187Amps for 3.2Ghz at 356x9Fsb foldin 24/7 stable all year it usually maxed at 100 ish then it crashed a few times untill i stock speeded it, upon which it still showed signs of illness ie using upto 140 Amps .

    anyway sumat popped it switches off instantaneously every time and its codes are saying its not initialising the psu or is then instantly shutting it down but 5v standby is their and the fans begin to spin,no post at all i think my psu is to blame ?what thinks you's??, i get paid wed so all will be right i hope after. perhaps not

    ive had a multimeter out and my psu looks to be fine its up to running fans and pumps easy i think its the mobo or cpu :(

    do my posts smell or sumat, poor show guys

    i have it up and running and still im clueless as to what exactly fixed it, i think my waterblocked 5870 isnt sitting in its slot as best it could these days, ive refitted almost all of the pc but the gpu is its easy to reproduce error spot, however i cant get it to fail as quick or in quite the same way as it was, ie on> instant off no post.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2011
  24. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Finally received my 970:toast:.

    Oced it to 4,4 in 30 minutes. Wow those 32nm chips does run cool!! At the same voltages (1,440 vcore and 1,375 vtt), the 970 runs 8 to 10 degrees lower than the 950 i had before! Nothing less than WOW!

    At stock clocks, the 970 doing bigadv gave me 30000 ppd, while my 4,3 ghz 950 would only do 27-28000. At the moment, 4,4 is the max this 970 sample will give me, but i'm really at the beginning of the oc process. The ppd is a little over 43000, so oily you were on target!

    Now i'm starting to mess with the bigbeta/virtual box thing...:banghead:

    Will keep you up-to-date with my adventure...
     
  25. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    The best thing to do is get you a flash drive with at least 4GB and boot/run Ubuntu off of it and run -bigbeta that way once you have your OC stable.
     
    Feänor says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page