1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. mx500torid

    mx500torid

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,085 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    is the gpu overclocked?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,699 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,585
    Location:
    Wyoming

    Well now actually it seems to have started back up after rebooting the computer. It was at the 99.99% until I paused then it would show 85%. Now with it running it is showing at 89.57% and counting. The GPU is also under full load at 52C. I am running a Arctic Cooling Twin Turbo so the GPU stays pretty cool.
    But yea, with it running it is showing right now at 89.81%

    So I think all is good now.
     
    NastyHabits and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,699 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,585
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Not at all. :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,490 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    One of the things that I do is to check the log and compare the time of the last entry to the time listed in the lower right hand corner of the client. I had a WU freeze a few weeks ago and neither FAH or HFM indicated that something was wrong.
    :oops:Shame on me for not recommending a client and/or system reboot!
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,502 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22,986
    I usually delete the slot, reboot, and setup the slot(s) again... not sure if that's the best way but it seems to work for me?

    I think I've gotten 2 of these stuck jobs in the past couple of months.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,699 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,585
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yep all is good. It finished it an uploaded the work unit completion. :peace:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,098 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    The Stanford 7.4.4 client has a Finish button. I clicked on it thinking the wu would upload when it was done. It uploaded when I clicked. I did some points though.

    GTX 660 Ti running @ 1149 with the advanced flag on 7.4.4
     

    Attached Files:

    stinger608 and mx500torid say thanks.
  8. Overclocker_2001

    Overclocker_2001

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    27 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Radio Emilia 5.9
    today my second rig [e7300 + 4GB ddr2 + msi p31 + antec eco 380W + nvia gts240 + kingston v300 + W7 32bit {PAE enabled}] can't recive WU from server (empty work server)
    discontinued support for 8800 series? or only some problem at stanford?
     
    Sinzia says thanks.
  9. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,490 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Overclocker_2001

    Overclocker_2001

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    27 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Radio Emilia 5.9
    removed f@h from gts240 system because after 2 weeks no WU found :/
    i'll fold only with gtx460 now
     
    mx500torid says thanks.
  11. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,098 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Did you have any flags running
     
  12. THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    43 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    hey guys just started folding again today and have a quick question.

    Looking through the log on the viewer, It says "Changed SMP threads from 2 to 3 this can cause some work units to fail"
    Is this something I did while playing? Should I worry about it?
     
  13. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,098 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Which client are you using?
     
    THE_EVIL_RAPIER says thanks.
  14. THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    43 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    7.4.4 Sorry I was at work.

    Latest Windows client. Last time I was folding you needed 2 clients, one for cpu and one for gpu.
    This client appears to run both at the same time which is pretty nice.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2014
  15. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    506 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    UK
    Is it normal for a WU to hang at 99.9% for over an hour without it completing?

    Layton
     
    1 Million points folded for TPU
  16. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,221 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,340
    Yes if it's crashed. Look in the log and see how far you actually got. Stop and start the folding and it will pick up at last good check point. You might need to re-start the PC for that to work
     
    LaytonJnr says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,098 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Shut down your folding client and restart it. If that doesn't work, shut the client down and restart you computer. It's not normal for a wu to hang.
     
    mx500torid and LaytonJnr say thanks.
  18. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    506 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    UK
    It seemed to have got to 92.0% (although restarting my PC means I can't check again because the log was cleared). I just restarted both the client and my PC, but it still seems to be hanging at 99.9%. I'll try a second time.

    Layton
     
    1 Million points folded for TPU
  19. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,221 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,340
    Give it a little time to find the check point.
     
    mx500torid and LaytonJnr say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. LaytonJnr

    LaytonJnr

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    506 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    UK
    It found the checkpoint eventually. Thanks guys :toast:

    Layton
     
    1 Million points folded for TPU
  21. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,490 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I would suggest that you don't run F@H on your CPU. Very poor points/watt on AMD CPU's. You could run WCG, just make sure that the GPU has one CPU thread to its self. (true even with Folding on both CPU and GPU)
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2014
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Overclocker_2001

    Overclocker_2001

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    27 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Radio Emilia 5.9
    only thread-linked (don't remember exactly what is the flag) and only gpu slot (with passphrase)
    tried all type of disease, with standard, advanced and beta wu, nothing, anyway, i can fold only twice a month (0.25€ per kWh and underpayed work :/ )
     
  23. THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    43 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Hey guys,
    Been folding for a few days now and everything seems to be going great however.... lol

    My temps for my CPU have always hovered around 45c to 55c and my GPU 60c. I think I saw it hit 61c once.
    Anyway today my GPU temps jumped to 67c while folding. Do different WU's cause different loads? So far it sits at around 95% to 100% so there doesn't seem to be an increase of load.
    My CPU temps are still the same. Any reason you guys can think of for such a large instant jump in temps?
     
  24. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,502 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22,986
    Folding works a gpu fairly hard- you can try increasing your fan speed a bit if temps run higher than you're comfortable with.

    *note- a 6C increase is probably nothing to worry about ;)
     
    THE_EVIL_RAPIER and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    THE_EVIL_RAPIER

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    43 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Thank you. I'm not worried about the temp at the moment. I think it's fairly cool for folding. ( Don't know though ).
    I was just wondering if the Temp jump was normal for folding or if something was starting to fail on my card.
    I don't want to leave my card folding all night and fry it. I REALLY can't afford to buy another card anywhere near as powerful as this one. It took me a while to get the money together for this. lol

    On a side note. I have to leave for work in ten mins. Night shift. I'd normally leave it running all night. If I don't reply I will tomorrow.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page