1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Guide to running multiple GPU work units

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by KieX, Oct 21, 2012.

  1. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,466 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,955
    Running the HCC GPU and CPU wu's only seems to be doing well (8 GPU wu's on 4 cores plus 4 CPU wu's on the other 4 cores). I think I can hit close 100k ppd on the rig with this setup! :toast:

    The 7870 is just a bit laggy when using the TV tuner but otherwise the rig runs fine and is actually 4-5C cooler than running with all CPU wu's :)
    [Ion] and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. vawrvawerawe

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    580 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    What is WCG and I have crossfire so do I need to do anything special?

    WCG website will not load for me.
  3. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    Basically, it's disctributed computing. If you decide to take the plunge, it helps to turn crossfire off for stability.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Wow--that's awesome! :toast:

    So basically you're getting the same PPD from 1 GPU that I'm getting from 3 :eek:

    @DIT @ vawrvawerawe: WCG is a project started and partially funded by IBM that uses volunteer computers to do humanitarian scientific research. If you're interested in joining, look at the link in my signature in post in our WCG/BOINC thread :toast:
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,172 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,023
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Nope, BOINC is intelligent enough to work around CFX being enabled however I did notice a little boost in performance when I disable CFX. I don't like turning it on and off all the time so I just leave it on.

    I think it is time for me to run multiple WUs on my 6870s. I have a feeling that I can at least double my output.

    Edit: So I reinstalled BOINC, threw my app_info.xml file in and now I'm not getting any projects at all. Communication is being established but it isn't getting anything new. I am getting some "File referenced in app_info.xml does not exist: <name of task>" errors, but I would assume that is because no projects have been downloaded yet?

    Edit 2: I should have just read the OP and installed the version off WCG's website. Doh! Now stuff is almost ready to transfer but isn't. :|

    Any idea why this is happening?
    Code:
    [error] No URL for file transfer of wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1
    [error] No URL for file transfer of hcckernel.cl.7.05
    [error] No URL for file transfer of wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86
    My app_info.xml is this:
    Code:
    <app_info> 
    	<app> 
    		<name>hcc1</name> 
    		<user_friendly_name>Help Conquer Cancer</user_friendly_name> 
    	</app> 
    	<file_info> 
    		<name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</name> 
    		<executable/> 
    	</file_info> 
    	<file_info> 
    		<name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</name> 
    		<executable/> 
    	</file_info> 
    	<file_info>
    		<name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86</name>
    		<executable/>
       </file_info>
    	<app_version> 
    		<app_name>hcc1</app_name> 
    		<version_num>705</version_num> 
    		<platform>windows_intelx86</platform> 
    		<plan_class>ati_hcc1</plan_class> 
    		<avg_ncpus>0.33</avg_ncpus> 
    		<max_ncpus>1.0</max_ncpus> 
    			<coproc> 
    				<type>ATI</type> 
    				<count>.33</count> 
    			</coproc> 
    		<file_ref> 
    			<file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</file_name> 
    			<main_program/> 
    		</file_ref> 
    		<file_ref> 
    			<file_name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</file_name> 
    			<open_name>hcckernel.cl</open_name> 
    		</file_ref> 
    	</app_version>
    	<app_version>
    		<app_name>hcc1</app_name>
    		<version_num>705</version_num>
    		<platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
    		<avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
    		<max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
    		<api_version>6.13.0</api_version>
    		<file_ref>
    			<file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86</file_name>
    			<main_program/>
    		</file_ref>
    	</app_version>
    </app_info>
    Another edit: I think I was able to reset the project and it started downloading.
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,773 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,226
    I believe the issue is that those three files are not installed by default but the app_info file is calling them. Resetting the project without the app_info file will usually take care of it, then suspend/get no more work, close BOINC, insert the file and restart.
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,031 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,405
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay, here is the code that I just started running:

    Code:
    <app_info> 
    	<app> 
    		<name>hcc1</name> 
    		<user_friendly_name>Help Conquer Cancer</user_friendly_name> 
    	</app> 
    	<file_info> 
    		<name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</name> 
    		<executable/> 
    	</file_info> 
    	<file_info> 
    		<name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</name> 
    		<executable/> 
    	</file_info> 
    	<file_info>
    		<name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86</name>
    		<executable/>
       </file_info>
    	<app_version> 
    		<app_name>hcc1</app_name> 
    		<version_num>705</version_num> 
    		<platform>windows_intelx86</platform> 
    		<plan_class>ati_hcc1</plan_class> 
    		<avg_ncpus>0.5</avg_ncpus> 
    		<max_ncpus>4.0</max_ncpus> 
    			<coproc> 
    				<type>ATI</type> 
    				<count>.250</count> 
    			</coproc> 
    		<file_ref> 
    			<file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</file_name> 
    			<main_program/> 
    		</file_ref> 
    		<file_ref> 
    			<file_name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</file_name> 
    			<open_name>hcckernel.cl</open_name> 
    		</file_ref> 
    	</app_version>
    	<app_version>
    		<app_name>hcc1</app_name>
    		<version_num>705</version_num>
    		<platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
    		<avg_ncpus>1.000000</avg_ncpus>
    		<max_ncpus>1.000000</max_ncpus>
    		<api_version>6.13.0</api_version>
    		<file_ref>
    			<file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86</file_name>
    			<main_program/>
    		</file_ref>
    	</app_version>
    </app_info>
    

    I have several WU's showing "Ready to Start" with my video card, however none of them are running. I have 8 WU's running with the CPU with this configuration, however none of the GPU WU's are running.

    Any ideas? Shouldn't there be 4 GPU WU's running?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,144
    I marked a few things in your file that differs from mine. Did you allow GPU work (Activities, Always allow GPU work or something like that, I have a Danish version). The file below works for me for 6 GPU (just change from 0.16 to 0.25) and no other work (i.e. CPU)

    <app_info>
    <app>
    <name>hcc1</name>
    <user_friendly_name>Help Conquer Cancer</user_friendly_name>
    </app>
    <file_info>
    <name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</name>
    <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <file_info>
    <name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</name>
    <executable/>
    </file_info>
    <app_version>
    <app_name>hcc1</app_name>
    <version_num>705</version_num>
    <platform>windows_intelx86</platform>
    <plan_class>ati_hcc1</plan_class>
    <avg_ncpus>1.0</avg_ncpus>
    <max_ncpus>1.0</max_ncpus>
    <coproc>
    <type>ATI</type>
    <count>0.16</count>
    </coproc>
    <file_ref>
    <file_name>wcg_hcc1_img_7.05_windows_intelx86__ati_hcc1</file_name>
    <main_program/>
    </file_ref>
    <file_ref>
    <file_name>hcckernel.cl.7.05</file_name>
    <open_name>hcckernel.cl</open_name>
    </file_ref>
    </app_version>
    </app_info>
    Norton and stinger608 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,031 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,405
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay what does this refer to? "[error]No application found for task: windwos_intelx86 640; discarding"??????????

    I have a bunch of these.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    That means the server is sending you work that your app_info file isn't setup to do. You should log into the WCG page and make sure the profile you set for your computer has only the projects you setup in the app_info (which in this case I imagine is HCC). Whilst there, under the projects list there should be an option to process work on GPU (maybe that's why you weren't receiving GPU WU to crunch?)

    Attached Files:

    stinger608 says thanks.
  11. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,031 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,405
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay, now I know that the different work can be added to the app_info, but where is that added in the code?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well, the format of the file is explained here, if you want to add something else to it: http://boinc.berkeley.edu/wiki/Anonymous_platform

    This thread on XS has the code for the other projects: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?283509-Working-app_info-files

    I've not dabbed into it myself, but Norton I believe has set it up though with some problems on GFAM. Might be worth shooting him a PM?
    Norton says thanks.
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,466 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,955
    I did try it out but the errors were pretty extreme and I don't know enough about the files yet to be able to fix them. The rig ran fine but WCG showed a couple of hundred GFAM errors in less than 24 hrs :(
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Did it work fine without GFAM?
  15. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,466 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,955
    Couldn't get it working. Tried a couple of times but I stepped away from it for a little while so I wouldn't keep throwing errors into my WCG file.

    Switched to HCC cpu and gpu for now but I have an early Xmas gift coming that will allow me to keep my output up and try the All app_info again early next week :)
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,031 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,405
    Location:
    Wyoming
    okay, added the app_info file from xtremesystems. I tweaked the HCC file. Seems to be working so far. Probably too early to tell for sure.

    Under the projects tab though, my "work done" number does not seem to be changing or gaining? Even though it has completed about 20 or so work units. Is that normal?
    KieX says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Look forward to whatever it is.

    Can happen sometimes. Best thing to do is check on the WCG page under "Results status" see if you can find recent WU's in Pending Validation list. If it's not coming up might be worth just hitting the updated button a few times and perhaps reboot.
    stinger608 and Norton say thanks.
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,031 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,405
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :toast: Okay, I see what that is now. Took me a minute. :laugh:

    Yea, I have 13 pages of "Pending Validation" going on! About 10 pages are from today alone.
    ThE_MaD_ShOt and KieX say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,823 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,362
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Cool Stinger you set man. :toast:
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. agent00skid

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    532 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    [​IMG]

    Decided to test 2 WU's on my laptop.
    So far worked fine, even on client 7.0.28.
    stinger608 and Norton say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,817 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,963
    I'm still waiting for a fix to get multi WUs working on Windows 8. If someone finds a fix, I hope they post it. :)
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  22. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,466 (8.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,955
    If I found one I would definitely post it for you ;)

    Will be bringing an early Xmas gift online later tonight.....:pimp:
    Daimus and manofthem say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,817 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,963
    You are the Pimp indeed, no jokes :toast:
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    I may have discovered my problem:

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,912 (5.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well, I got it working properly. It seems that you need to let the manager download at least one of all of the types of work units mentioned in the app_info file before you actually put the file into place.
    ThE_MaD_ShOt and KieX say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page