1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How to use a Nvidia card as Physx w/ATi

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by brandonwh64, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    On this page they say "PC titles can take advantage of GPU-accelerated PhysX to provide an enhanced gaming experience."

    and on the same page they say "For a list of PC PhysX titles that exclusively take advantage of hardware GPU-accelerated PhysX CLICK HERE."

    Now, on the other page they say " PC titles can take exclusive advantage of the PhysX Accelerator to provide an enhanced gaming experience."

    and they also say "Note: This game listing is not representative of all titles that will be available, just those that and it's developer and publisher partners are able to disclose. To avoid confusion, PC titles that do not take advantage of PhysX hardware acceleration are ommitted from this listing."

    It seems to me they are trying to cause confusion.
     
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,227 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,528
    no. thats the software list. you do NOT get hardware accel on all those games.

    sure, some of those ALSO support hardware accel - but thats the very short list of games.


    if you dont beleive me, do some bloody testing yourself. turn physX on and off and notice the zero changes you get.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066
    This thread is about getting a PhysX card to work with an ATi card. The opinions on PhysX aren't necessary to those seeking help or giving advice on the subject so let's stay away from that conversation please.
     
    Random Murderer and Mussels say thanks.
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,273 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,078
    I installed the latest Nvidia Driver and ran the patch, (thanks Erocker) everything works great but I see no way of disabling the PhysX. Any idea's? :banghead:
     
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,822 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,444
    You cannot disable with the new 2XX series drivers.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,273 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,078
    Holy hell that was fast :toast:

    Um so just use the control panel Device manager to disable the gpu in general?

    Also I benched Vantage and got a sweet score. Anything else that can be useful for me to try?
     
  7. aba123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guys, i am having bit of a problem .

    I am using an Asus P7P55D mobo. I have a 5850 as the main gpu & 8800gt for PhysX. I am having all the latest drivers , mod etc. When i install both cards , my monitor doesn't detect any signal . "No signal detected " . I have connected the 5850's DVI out to the monitor. How do i resolve this?
     
  8. Apokalipse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I installed 260.99 drivers and can't get my 8800 GT to run PhysX with the 1.04ff patch (5870 main GPU)
    Do I need to use a previous driver version?
     
  9. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,040 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    260.99 drivers don't work apparently. See here How To: Use a Dedicated PhysX Card
     
  10. Apokalipse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  11. Apokalipse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Well, installed 258.96, and installed 1.04ff mod before rebooting, and still no PhysX (checked GPU-Z).
    I also used driver sweeper before installing 258.96
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
  12. JD15

    JD15 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    57 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Woodward, OK
    I also made the mistake of trying 260.99, and then uninstalled and ran driver sweeper and installed 258.96 and the 1.04ff patch before rebooting. I was still having issues, and then I stumbled upon some remnants of the 260.99 driver. Uninstalled and ran driver sweeper in safe mode, and then repeated the install of 258.96 and 1.04ff. Running PhysX with no issues now.
     
  13. Apokalipse New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Tried that. Didn't work.
    I even manually deleted Nvidia files after running driver sweeper (in safe mode).
     
  14. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    So will a PCI 8400 GS work if you don't have extra PCIX slots ?
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,227 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,528
    work yes, but imo its too slow.
     
  16. hushman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi ... i try to build my new machine i think buyed the new asus crosshair 4 extreme this the only board to allow me use Lucid Hydra CrossLinx 3 so far i can find any intel mb with this chip . i ready have two ati 4870 512mb i want buy one ati new series 6000 but also i want physx in my system i have pci physx card 128mb but also i have a 8800gtx which one is better to this purpose.
     
  17. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Something tells me this is wrong:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,208 (5.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,567
    Location:
    Florida
    vista doesnt allow 2 display drivers to be running thats exactly why.
     
  20. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    I'm not into necrophilia, but I'm curious as to the current status quo: I recently scored a free 9800GTX & want to use it in conjunction with my HD5850 for F@H, so .. Can any of the above still be applied to the latest crop of drivers from either camp?
     
  21. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    New thread is here.
    It's been a while since anyone posted there either, but the first post contains all the info you need.
     
    Jack Doph says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page