1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I challenge you! to help me fix this issue lol

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Hvactech, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    But you are reading temps from the GPU in afterburner? Now I'm confused.
     
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Obviously, you did not read my responses very well.

    Some people are head cases and need meds Hv. You hit it on the head. I am glad it worked out for you. I did say that it could be the PSU........
     
  3. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    AND I was just playing medievil 2 and it crashed yet again.. SO the PSU ins't the issue.. how about that..
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    You still haven't addressed the overheating issue, so it is going to do that.

    Post screenshots of:

    RealTemp or CoreTemp (for your CPU temps)
    Sensors tab of GPU-Z

    Or use HWbot64 and show the list of temps from that.
     
  5. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Coretemp has my core maxed at 50 degrees
    And I can't take a damn screen shot for some reason :/
    My after burner has a temp break down of my card..
    GPU temp 43
    Memory temp 79 degrees
    VRM temp 42 degrees
    Gpu usage used to shoot all the way up but only goes to like 40% now
    gpu voltage 1.087
    core clock 950
    shader clock 1900
    memory clock 2098
    memory usage 157
    fram rate 0

    This is with no load

    CPU-z of coarse has an error code 0X5(5) during initilization
    [bInitDriver] path = C:\Users\DAMIAN~1\AppData\Local\Temp\
    [bInitDriver] GetCurrentDirectory = C:\Program Files\CPUID\CPU-Z
    [bInitDriver] GetModuleFileName = C:\Program Files\CPUID\CPU-Z\cpuz.exe
    [vGetOSVersion] m_iOSVersion = 2 (6.1)
    [vGetOSVersion] m_bIsAMD64 = 0
    [bInitDriver] m_hDriverMutex = E4
    [bInitDriver] m_szPath_2 = C:\Users\DAMIAN~1\AppData\Local\Temp\\cpuz136\
    [bInitDriver] m_szFilename = cpuz136_x64.sys
    [bLockDriverHandle 18:57:33] WaitForSingleObject error = 0
    [WinNT_bInstallDriver 18:57:33] szMachineName = BOB-PC
    [WinNT_bInstallDriver] OpenSCManager failed, error code = 5
    [bInitDriver] bInitDriver returned 5
    [vCloseDriver 18:57:33] WaitForSingleObject error = 0
    [WinNT_dwUninstallDriver] OpenSCManager failed, error code = 5
    [vCloseDriver] CloseHandle(mutex) = 1


    what else you need to know?
     
  6. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,799 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    That is your cpu heatsink. Your cores aren't maxed at 50 degrees, they are idling at 50, which isn't that cool. When you put it under full load I'd bet it's hotter than hell. The cpu has a thermal shut down of 98 degrees, but I'd bet your motherboard shuts it down around 75.

    Also you can take a screen shot, but after you hit the Prt Scr button, you then have to open Paint (one of your Accessories in the Start Menu) and then Paste the copied screen there. Then save it as a jpeg and upload it to TPU.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  7. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    here
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    After free mark11 benchmark test (couldn't physics test because it stopped responding)
     

    Attached Files:

    • SS2.jpg
      SS2.jpg
      File size:
      200.5 KB
      Views:
      74
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,828 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    Check this thread for those high vram temps: http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=160911.0

    It probably is just a bad sensor reading.

    You have another issue and it is with your CPU. GPU-Z isn't reading it correctly, you may need to update your motherboard bios.
     
    Hvactech says thanks.
  10. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    OMG I could have fun with this one.....

    First 3 letters of assume are?

    I think you owe me an apology........ Brandon(assumer)

    Multi quoting rocks, here is #2
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  11. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Im downloading file now.. hopefully it's straight forward..
    thanks buddy :)
    Ok so I downloaded all new driveers...same issue with games/tests crashing this is frustrating..
    What now? common guys!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  12. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I downloaded the update program MSI has and it found like 18 drivers that were out of date on my computer (even though I had thought I was up to date on my drivers..)
    We'll see how it helps!
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  13. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok so I downloaded all new driveers...same issue with games/tests crashing this is frustrating..
     
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,158 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Oregon
    Just edit your post. :)
     
  15. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How do I delete posts? lol
     
  16. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    The problem is this:

    Your computer is severely overheating, close to the point of permanent hardware damage or failure if you keep trying to run it in its current state. You NEED a better CPU cooler, and some good thermal paste. Here are some links to things you need.

    Low cost, but effective CPU cooler. I have used these on a couple builds for other people with positive results. Others may differ with this decision and I welcome other ideas to help this guy, as I have not used this on an Intel set up.
    XIGMATEK Gaia SD1283 120mm Long Life Bearing CPU Cooler - $21
    XIGMATEK Gaia SD1283 120mm Long Life Bearing CPU C...

    CPU thermal paste that 99% of us use
    Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound AS5-3.5G - $10
    Arctic Silver 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver ...

    General purpose thermal paste great for video cards, northbridge, southbridge, and anywhere else you may have removed thermal tape/paste/material from on an electronic board that uses a heatsink.
    Arctic Silver CMQ2-25G Céramique 2 Tri-Linear Ceramic Thermal Compound - $7.50
    Arctic Silver CMQ2-25G Céramique 2 Tri-Linear Cera...

    91% rubbing alcohol, qtips, shop towels or paper towels. a set of screw drivers both phillips and flat head (non-magnetic).

    These are all essentials tools that you will use over and over again in the computer building process.


    Also, take into consideration that with air cooling products, your case needs to have proper airflow coming in, and ventilation coming out. Make sure you have at least 2 fans bringing cool air in, and a top and rear fan bringing air out. This is a minimum amount to properly regulate temperature and ventilation. Regularly cleaning the dust out of your computer is essentials. You can use canned air to do this, or a power duster.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  17. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,799 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    I don't think so, you can see in post 108 his CPU only heated up to the low 60s. Not that he shouldn't get a better cooler, but that doesn't appear to be the issue.

    That being said, it would be nice to know if CPU-Z was running during the bench, and those are the temps reached, or if the computer crashed, restarted, and that's the temperatures it was showing after restart. If it is the latter, then you are correct about the overheating. That would be a lot easier to fix than the conflicting drivers/corrupt OS that it seems like.

    Coffee filters are my favorite, they polish well and leave zero lint.
     
  18. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    He previously stated his temperature log was showing temps in excess of 100c...

    never though of that!
     
  19. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,799 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    True, but:

     
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,353
    The PSU WAS an issue, but during the process it feels like something got messed up, so now there is a different issue going on.

    I'm trying to make sense of what is happening, but it's all over the place.

    Can you run 3dmark11 in windowed mode? If so, do that, run HWMon at the same time and look at the current temperatures.
     
    Bluefox1115 and MT Alex say thanks.
  21. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,799 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,629
    That would clear up a bunch of questions, real time temp readings.
     
  22. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I'm still confused myself, because he says its a different component or fan every time.. :\ The best thing to do is make fans and heatsinks are where they should be, and there is sufficient thermal interface material where it's needed.
     
  23. Hvactech New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    33 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Let me make this reallllyyyy suppeerr clear
    It is NOT the cpu..forget I mentioned it
    The graphics card memory temp reading on after burner is staying around 90 degrees C
    on stock settings unless I turn the graphic card fan up to 100% then it drops to 70
    The log for the graphics card readings is in the picture attached.. I knew this would be a much more complicated issue then changing the power supply :banghead:
    Is there a way to tune the graphics card to reduce the memory heat? I have read OC threads on here but I am not yet comfortable messing with them to the extremes small measurements I have made with little/no difference in temps!
    Also Others have had this issue and supposedly they downloaded a new bios and "flashed" it what ever the hell that means..I just figured out how to enter the bios let alone fuck with it lol
    I messages MSI about it see what they say would be nice for one of you to crack the case lol
     
  24. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I think everyone would agree a better CPU cooler is in order either way.. Just to clearify, you did not take the cooler off of the graphics card? And yes, flashing the graphics card with a new bios does sometimes fix issues, as well as doing so with your motherboard. They actually solve a lot of problems. The flashing process differs depending on the brand sometimes. Although, it is still generally a complex process if you don't know how to.
     
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,809 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,353
    Blast you can't run it Windowed. So let us turn to our old friend Speedfan. Download it, install it, run it. You have to do a bit of configuration to set up the logging.

    But first, make sure the program is reading all temperatures! Take a screenshot and upload it here.

    How to set up logging:

    Click the Configure button - > You are now in the Temperatures tab. Click on the temperature that you wish to monitor (Core, everything related to the GPU, and the harddrives, HD0 and so on) and click Logged at the bottom of the window. Go to the Log tab and click Enabled. Click OK.

    Now go to the folder where Speedfan was installed (C:\Program Files (x86)\SpeedFan is standard). The log will be a .csv (comma seperated value) file and will be named SFLogDate (SFLog20130118.csv today). If you open the file a new file will be created, so don't open it just yet.

    No run anything that makes the computer crash.

    EDIT: Ah updates. I was too slow. :(

    Just to be clear: Have you removed the cooler to the graphics card, or done anything with it?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page