1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Large Address Aware

Discussion in 'General Software' started by FordGT90Concept, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Here ya go: Large Address Aware 2.0 beta. Everything appears to be just peachy. It even supports drag n' dropping an (or many) executable(s) on the Large Address Aware executable. Try it and tell me if there is anything I should change.

    In Intermediate and Advanced modes, you can click on the column headers to sort by Path, LAA, or Original. It doesn't show those little arrows but regardless, it works.

    Using Advanced, Add -> Files in Folder Recursive, you can quickly make all executables in the selected directory, and all subdirectories, large address aware.


    Note: Going from Basic to Intermediate or Advanced modes doesn't lose anything but going from Intermediate or Advanced to Basic mode will cause all except the first file entry to be lost.


    Note to self: Add drag 'n drop into the form itself...
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Added drag and drop (on the listview in intermediate/advanced and on the path text box in basic) in this build...


    I think it is ready for prime time unless there are objections.
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    oooh, drag n drop
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Think it is good to finalize it (replace 1.0 with 2.0 on the OP)?
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,934 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    sure, just leave a link to the old one in case it has problems
  6. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    OP updated with 2.0.0.
    Mussels says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I noticed your beta hangs for quite some seconds when adding files (on Win7 x64). Is that normal?

    It's right after I select some files and click add.
  8. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    It could hang because it isn't multithreaded. How many files are you adding?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    That was with any number. Tried 1, 2 and 3 so far :D
  10. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    :eek:

    I added over 20 files recursively on Win7 x64 and it didn't even hang for a second. So no, it isn't normal...


    Do you have BOINC or WCG running by any chance? Something could be loading the hard drive(s) which would cause a delay in importing the files.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I wasn't running anything in the background...
    Could be that I'm missing something in the library department? .NET stuff?
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If .NET weren't installed/functional, it would crash on start. Vista/7 comes with .NET Framework 3.5.

    I should make it multithreaded (I will when I get a chance) but there really is no reason for a lengthy delay for such few files.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Yeah, that's why I was thinking I missed something. But let me try your current 2.0 version tonight. I'll give you a report :)

    One more "bug":
    If you process a file (for the first time) in Basic mode, and then switch to Advanced mode, it looks to me like the "Original" value is the modified value. Could the Basic view not write the original state to the save file?
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Good catch. It actually isn't copying any of that data over (just the path) which is supposed to force it to rescan the file. Apparently, that isn't working...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Much thanks for diggin this up, GT!

    I had been using an older CMD prompt .exe that would add the LAA execution to an application's .exe . . . it was a little brutal at times, and required a lot of swapping around of files . . . this should make things a bit more simple.

    :toast:
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Unfortunately, I am unable to replicate this bug. Remember, "Original" is the value the file was when it was first loaded. For example, if you had made it LAA before running running Large Address Aware 2, Original would be registered as True.


    Also, in Basic mode, changes to the checkbox are not committed until Save is clicked.


    I could make an option to force "Original" to True or to False in Advanced mode...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I'm not sure anymore if I changed those with version 1 anymore...
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Heh, that is a problem which will hopefully be fixed in the long term by version 2. ;)

    I added the ability to override the detected setting.


    Is the performance any better with the official 2.0.0 or is it still a problem?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    We'll see when I get home :D
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I can multithread it but I'd rather not multithread everything (it would add a lot of overhead to the app). I'll have to multithread the obvious offender (adding files) but after that, I'll need you to tell me what else needs to be mulithreaded (like writing to the files).


    Another random thought: Is this a laptop (or desktop) running on battery? I've noticed performance drops substantially in that scenario.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Desktop, no battery :)

    Either way, I'll give 2.0 another run tonight and check back with the results. Maybe I did something stupid.
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I multithreaded Add Files and fixed a bunch of other stuff. Let me know if commiting the changes (the top options in "With Selected") is still slow or not. Note: I did not multithread that portion yet and don't intend to unless necessary (no computer should be burdened by writing one byte per file :roll:).
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,315 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,342
    Location:
    IA, USA
    2.0.1 beta broke Basic mode support. This should have basic mode working again...
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Hmm well I havent had much time to fiddle around lately, in the middle of moving house.
    Will still test it as soon as I have the time :)
  25. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    very nice work mate, download it booth and work on it

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 11 (0 members and 11 guests)

Share This Page