1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Metro 2033

Discussion in 'Games' started by HookeyStreet, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312

    dont try to tell me to be stealthy i go in guns blazing. lol and fall down...i did kill 4 in 1 greande which made me grin from ear to ear lol
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214
    i like bad company 2's graphics and physics over crysis any day.
  3. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha


    Possible spoiler:

    there's a passage that will lead behind the back portion of the camp, and let you come out behind them
    AsRock says thanks.
  4. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,748 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    819
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I have read allot of places no..... but if you turn it down to 1680x1050 I have read yes. So give that a try.
    Your screen shouldn't look to stretched at that resolution.
    Lionheart says thanks.
  5. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    wow the cat 10.3 game me a nice little boost in performace by a average of 10fps...that isnt bad at all..and i got past that camp. now im with the old dude walking the tunnels.
  6. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,854 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Brasil
    My FPS are all over the place, i get from 20-150 with 1920 Max DX11 without Advanced DOF, sometimes, with heavy lighting i get the 20ish, but normal under tunnels and stuff around 70ish, in battles with multiple dudes, 30-40ish, and 100+ in corners, skies, floors
  7. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,456 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Heavy lighting area's ?. That is were it got mine 2-3 times after playing it for a hour. Although i'm playing DX10 not DX11 which might be putting a lot more strain on your card than you think.

    Arrg why will it not let me change each setting lol. I just want V high and just turn the lighting down a touch not every thing GRRRR
    Lionheart says thanks.
  8. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    See if there is a config file to mess around with in note pad, usually is.
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,456 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Yeah i was looking for it last night i found it shortly after i made the above post lol.

    C:\Users\Account Name\AppData\Local\4A Games\Metro 2033
    pantherx12 says thanks.
  10. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,004 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    I second that:toast:
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,456 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    And i love this games graphics and Stalkers over all games.. Not often you get that damp cold warn rusty dirty looks and feeling.

    Crysis graphics are like if they have there cloths washed by mommy.
  12. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,004 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    LMFAO I agree with you there, all though crysis does have good graphic detail, Im just so over the damn game as well as crysis warhead, the only reason I would play it through again would be graphic mods:toast:

    The most detailed game I have seen is Metro 2033, and Im luvin it:toast:

    PS. another thing, for metro 2033 optimum system requirements, it says 8GB, so I thought I would do a test and so I put everything full detail including AF 16X and MSAA 4X (lags like hell lol) then I will check the taskbar manager and its only using 230MB so I went into a firefight to see if that would increase it at all and it did but only up to around 310MB, so somethings not right there or it must be that Im minimizing the game every time oh well.
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,691 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,214

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1732756

    use this to measure ram usage.

    Remember that video ram usage doesnt get monitored, and (in DX9 at least) is duplicated into system ram.
    Lionheart says thanks.
  14. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    with that beast of a card you should be able to run everything no prob, im running 2 5850's overclocked, and getting 50-55fps constant with everythimg turned on in dx11 aa all the way up,try updating to the 10.3's that dont sound right
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,149 (13.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,604
    You have to have something turned down to be getting those FPS. What resolution are you using?
  16. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    i play on my 32 inch tv via hdmi cable looks extremly sexy on this sharp its a 60hz sharp, lcd it runz at 1378x768, everyone says it degrabed quality look at my screen it looks just as good as any pc monitor
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,149 (13.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,604
    Right on. Honestly I should try hooking my rig up to my TV. Things are a bit rough at 1920x1200, but works when I OC the balls off my cards. Really though, I would love to see ATi bring more performance with this game.
  18. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,348 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Lads When I have MSAA 4x I get 20FPS?? I get constant 30FPS with it set as AAA.

    Also..is there any way to turn SSAO off?
    I don't need this and causes FPS to drop too much for me.

    Has anyone got any idea how to change the settings?? instead of using medium, high or very high???
  19. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,268 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    seems like I should be checking out this game soon. I love me some eye candy games! :) what's the difference between all the different kinds of AA's? I've tried looking it up but it's all beyond my comprehension lol
  20. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Will be picking this one up tomorrow, will give out screen shots/videos as I play it
  21. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,598 (2.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    this is the only file i could find to edit the game settings

    mouse_sens 0.4
    msaa 0
    npc_debug_draw 0
    p_dbg_draw 0
    ph_ce_psystem_distance 70.
    ph_ce_psystem_minvelocity 1.
    ph_ce_sound_distance 70.
    ph_ce_sound_maxvelocity 50.
    ph_ce_sound_minvelocity 1.
    ph_ce_wmark_distance 70.
    ph_ce_wmark_minvelocity 1.
    ph_dbg_render 0
    ph_dump_stats 0
    ph_enable_int_coll 1
    phv_actor_axes 0
    phv_anim_mixing 0
    phv_awake_only 0
    phv_body_ang_velocity 0
    phv_body_axes 0
    phv_body_lin_velocity 0
    phv_body_mass_axes 0
    phv_buoyancy 0
    phv_ccd_sceletons 0
    phv_cloth_mesh 0
    phv_collision_aabbs 0
    phv_collision_axes 0
    phv_collision_compounds 0
    phv_collision_dynamic 1
    phv_collision_edges 0
    phv_collision_fnormals 0
    phv_collision_free 0
    phv_collision_sap 0
    phv_collision_shapes 0
    phv_collision_spheres 0
    phv_collision_static 0
    phv_collision_vnormals 0
    phv_contact_error 0
    phv_contact_force 0
    phv_contact_normal 0
    phv_contact_point 0
    phv_dynamic 0
    phv_fluids 0
    phv_joints 0
    phv_kinematic 1
    phv_static 0
    phv_trigger_shapes_only 0
    phv_use_zbuffer 0
    phv_world_axes 0
    physx_connect_to_debugger 0
    r_af_level 0
    r_bloom_threshold 0.01
    r_can_miniformat 0
    r_dao 0
    r_dao_enable 1
    r_dao_smooth 1.
    r_dbg_disable_occq 0
    r_dbg_portals 0
    r_dbg_texture_usage 0
    r_deblur_dist 10.
    r_api 0
    r_exp_temporal 0
    r_fullscreen oN
    r_hud on
    r_hud_weapon on
    r_ignore_portals on
    r_light_frames2sleep 10
    r_local_mblur_coef 0.015
    r_lod_shadow_quality 1.
    r_lod_use_socclusion 0
    r_mipcolor 0
    r_msaa_level 0
    r_ppaa_blend 0.5
    r_ppaa_grad 0.01
    r_quality_level 3
    r_res_hor 1680
    r_res_vert 1050
    r_show 0
    r_smap_cache_clipdist 15.
    r_smap_cache_clipvolatile 15.
    r_sun_depth_far_bias 0.
    r_sun_depth_far_scale 1.
    r_sun_depth_near_bias -0.
    r_sun_depth_near_scale 1.
    r_sun_near 12.
    r_sun_near_border 0.666
    r_sun_tsm_bias -0.
    r_sun_tsm_proj 0.2
    r_supersample 1.
    r_texnostreaming off
    r_tone_adaptation 5.
    r_tone_amount 0.
    r_tone_bmax 10.
    r_tone_bmin 0.01
    r_tone_low_lum 0.01
    r_tone_middlegray 0.33
    r_view_distance 125.
    r_vsync off
    replay
    role_border0 100.
    role_border1 1000.
    role_time0 2.
    role_time1 0.5
    s_cone_inner_volume 1.
    s_cone_outer_volume 0.75
    s_dbg_draw 0
    s_dbg_draw_dist 0
    s_dbg_draw_name 1
    s_dbg_draw_stopped 1
    s_dbg_stat_active 1
    s_master_volume 0.5
    s_music_volume 0.5
    s_render_targets 24
    sick_camera 0.
    sick_fov 45.
    sick_hud 0.
    sick_mblur 0.
    sick_mouse 0.
    sick_slowmo 0.
    stats off
    stats_graph 1.000000,5,5.000000,1,0.000000
    stats_graph_rect 300,200,1000,200
    test_zbias 0
    language us
    gamepad_preset 0
    show_points_ex 1

    its in steams/user/blablabla, its the user.cfg

    theres more too in it but its too much to post.
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,456 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    Find the user.cfg file it's likley in that although not tried messing around with it yet.
  23. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,348 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Yea I found it but I do not understand it.
    I don't know where to find SSAO at all :p
    Help me if you can please!!!!!!!

    Man this game is fantastic!!!
    it has been some time since I really enjoyed a PC game!
    I loved Stalker and this game has it written all over it!!! I LOVES IT!!!!!!!!!!
  24. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,004 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Im gonna update to the 10.3a drivers and see if I get any performance improvements, and I'll you's know how it goes:D
  25. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,771 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    That bullet lighter reminds me of the one my grand father had given to him guarding the Japs in BC during WWII,He finally got the front lines Landed in France had the CO give him his new orders ,which were THE WAR IS OVER V DAY.....Poor guy wasted his sniper skills on guarding Japs in BC and Boxing.He was the guy who beat the Army,Navy,Airforce guys from The US.Gold glove winner too.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page