1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Windows 8.1 Is Now Available

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Dolby, permissions probably changed with the update and their installer doesn't adjust for it.
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,865 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,709
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Just updated to 8.1 on lappy and main rig. So far so good! I still think I prefer cheating with Classic Start...but I do like the Win+x menu being available at a right click now. Pretty convenient so I will try without classic for a bit. Gonna go to Ubuntu 13.10 for my second OS this weekend as well!

    :toast:
     
  3. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,345 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    445
    That functionality was always available in Windows 8. You would just move the mouse into the lower left corner until the start box came up and then right click.
     
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    took around half an hour or so to setup, it basically just installed itself on top and all my drivers are still working fine and games etc. AFAIK sound cards tend to have really specific drivers so it's best to check whether it will be compatible with the upgrade first. Same with TV tuners and such.
     
  5. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Expected issues will occur to some users upgrading from such a major update. That's the reason why I'm going to sit back and wait for an official Win 8.1 ISO file. I've even had issues updating windows XP from SP1 to SP2, causing multiple driver issues and crashes. Ever since never again am i installing big updates, but only by reformatting and installing the OS that comes with the updates.
     
  6. xulos New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Fresh install win 8.1 pro from msdann. So far so good. I installed startisback and returned "classic" win start button. Much more fluid than win 7 in every aspect and its using less memory than win7. I like new task manager aswll. Yeah shi*** metro ui is still there but if you pay 3 bucks for 2 pc licenses in startisback, you will get better win 7 in every aspect ;)
     
  7. X800

    X800

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    294 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    FIN
    I cant even dowload it by WindowsSetupBox it says that i have wrong key ?
     
  8. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Redownloaded as it wouldn't install the first time because I made a regedit to change the location of my program files folder to a new drive.. and it apparently can't install like that?
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    It messed permissions up all over the place. I couldn't even create folders on the C:\ or download anything from the internet.. I am gonna work on getting a copy of 8.1 via ISO and do a clean install.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Let me know. I would like to score a good ISO myself. Everything upgraded fine for me. Only issue is DICE hasn't updated the BF3 plugin for IE 11 yet so I cannot play BF3. Only strange issue I found was some Security Audit Fails in the event viewer having to do with an open key. I'm still looking into that. I might "downgrade" back to 8.0 until BF4 comes out anyway. That will give them a week or so to iron out some bugs.

    Over all Windows 8.1 is damn nice IMO.
     
  11. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    So far I tried to update my desktop twice and each time it failed to update. Go figure.
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I found a way to get the ISO! Found this on the digital rivers forums.

    Windows 8.1 upgrade installer/ISO

    what this will do is download the files and it will ask you if you want to install now or make an ISO for later. I am currently doing it in a VM with win 8 pro x64 already installed.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows-8/upgrade-product-key-only
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. CheezusCrust

    CheezusCrust New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    25 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Greenland
    Perhaps this has already been asked before, but does the updating from 8 to 8.1 wipe your programs?
     
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Crap that means Ill have to downgrade to windows 7 to run this to get the 8.1 ISO. So much fail sauce!
     
  15. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,459 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Most of what I've read in this thread seems to show that most people's programs stayed in place like they were. I will be sitting back and watching for awhile before upgrading my Win 8 rig, although I will download the ISO off digital river in the meantime.

    EDIT: Nope, Digital River ISO is out the window according to MailMan.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2013
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    Yup you keep all your programs. Other than what I stated before it seems very stable and upgraded fine.
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You shouldnt have to, I am running regular 8 to do it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    I thought you weren't supposed to be able to update from 7 to 8.1?

    EDIT: Wait that was retail boxes.
     
  19. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    incorrect. microsoft is developing a business friendly interface for Windows 9.
     
  20. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,235 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    ooooopppppssss

    .....before i upgraded accidently refreshed windows 8.....so it uninstalled like 50 programs.....:cry: so i nuked everything did a clean install of 8 and all updates and then installed 8.1. No issues. Now im reinstalling all my programs and making an disk image....with a better software, Being hardcore(slang for idiot) i dont run restore points. Got 2 samsung 840s 250g in raid 0 and 3 other ssds for different sets of programs and 2tb of storage.....gotta post that rig in case mod......
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I will be sharing out ISO's for windows 8.1 pro x86/x64 in about 15 minutes.... GET READY

    Here we go!

    First FTP server 5 user limit

    ftp://205.144.212.5:21/Windows 8.1/

    If it asks for a user and password then the user is "tpuuser" with no password

    Second FTP server with no limit

    ftp://205.144.212.5:22/

    User: tpuuser
    Pass: tpu
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2013
    rtwjunkie, stinger608 and qubit say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Drmark

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    69 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Not trying to be a smart ass, but I didn't know there were any apps in this? I have been ignoring everything in it but what I installed. Is there anything in it worth anything?
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    First ISO test and it works like a charm for a clean full install!!!

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,039 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,245
    Location:
    Washington, US
    +1 for everything fine after update. No issues. 50.1GB used before, 45.9GB used after 8.1 upgrade, extra 6.84GB from removing Windows.old. ~11GB freed up by installing 8.1.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    774
    Not to stress, Brandon, and thanks for the assist, but it doesn't seem to want to let me login...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page