1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Naturally Aspired PC WaterCooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by EastCoasthandle, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    lol... Man, that's still good!

    Here's my temp thing when I couldn't get the reducer from Jab-tech that I needed..


    [​IMG]


    Going to place a small order Thursday for the stuff I needed to finish it all!

    By the way... That is a old picture! lol But the fitting is the same!
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    looks good hopefully that little loop i made can help get some VGA wr's
     
  3. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    The clear tubing, and barb set up was Home Depot. Jab-tech didn't have everything so my dad and I played around with it some. Good old engineering style!
     
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's all I use is the $.28 tubing from Lowes. Works fine here.
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    It was gelled coolant. Most likely from somebody running a cheap coolant, or one of the Feser coolants/dyes.
     
  6. kyle2020 Guest

    Anyone (yes, Im talking to my brothers over the pond, too) got a FuZion Pro mount kit for sale? Im in dire need of one, they seem to be as rare as rocking - horse sh*t over here!
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Alright after I ask this question with this post, I will be putting up another post with pictures of all my stuff I got and finally how I got it set up. basically Im running a Laind D4 (made by Corsair) pump a koolance 3x120MM rad (bought from Binge) OCZ Hydra Flow Water Block and a BitsPower Cylindrical Res (not overly huge).

    anyways I cant seem to get my pump to pull the water (running a test setup run to check for leaks) from the Res. I have the fill port lid off and it wont work and I have it on and it still wont pull the water. Its working great (the pump) but for some reason I dont know why it aint working. Check for the pics and you will see how I got it set up.
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I am thinking that the Bitspower has a small leak at the bottom (not sure why though Markexx took care with the shipping and I just got it out).
     
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    need better pics bigger also ;)
     
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Here are my parts:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    These are pics of my parts and various set up process. I wound up using some high pressure PTFE pink Teflon tape (rather than that used for Gas lines) to double ensure no leaking. I had a small leak from the back of the rad but I believe that was from me not having them nozzles tight. I think I may need another Res as this one has a small leak.
     
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Sorry bud I cant make them any bigger, I wish this would resize them but it wont :(
     
  13. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Alright, let us try this right here. Ignore the black tape Im using to hold it on (along with double sided 3m sticky tape) for the Res. It will be changed. Im not sure if I want the MCRES one not sure where to mount that.

    Pic:

    [​IMG]
     
  14. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Notice I have the Rad emptying out into the right side of the res and the pump pulling in from the left side. I do hope I dont have the Rad ports mistaken for what goes where :(
     
  15. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
  16. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Well I went ahead and ordered the Swiftech MCres Rev 2. sHould be here by Wednesday at the latest. Ill keep the Bits power as a back up (and check it for that leak.
     
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I have it the way I think it would go with the fill jar on the bottom and the screw cap on the top with the inlet and outlet on top. I assumed with the bleeder/fill port up there that was the way to go.
     
  18. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Try it with the inlet/outlet at the bottom...and mount it so the tubing then goes down to the inlet on the pump.

    With the inlet/outlet at the top the pump maybe getting air instead of water.

    EDIT:Looking at the pic..turn the res round and use the port on the bottom of the res(the black part) for your outlet till pump and then use one of the side ports (on the black part) for the inlet till res.
    Your res should be this way up in pic

    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/6968/ex-res-131/Bitspower_Water_Tank_Z_Liquid_Cooling_Reservoir_-_Tank_Z.html?tl=c97s165b145
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2009
  19. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Ill give that a try.
     
  20. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Just a word of caution..dont run the pump without it getting water as this can lead to them failing prematurely.
     
  21. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    lol thats what i noticed the res is upside down :p

    and might want to put it some where else can you put it in the 5.25 bay area ?
     
  22. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron

    Yeah it would be best that the res is the highest part and then route your tubing straight down to the inlet on the pump.
     
  23. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Alright, so that worked alot better. Now I just have to cycle the power for a couple of hours to get all the air bubbles out. Draining it might not be so bad though. One thing is, I am going to have to wait for my Swiftech Mcres V2 to come in and use that. This works great but I already ordered that thinking I had a leak :( . I like this bitspowers though. I will have to mount it internally though. The distance to travel for the res to the pump is longer than I would like. I find I have small bubbles (like pop bubbles in a pepsi or something) and the pump is housing two decent air bubbles that I cant seem to get out.
     
  24. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    its better if the res is higher then the pump so it well start with water in it

    and thats why i ask so it well be alot shorter also on the mobo tray next to the ram would be good if you can put it there
     
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yeah I was thinking I would have to do something like that. Unfortunately my 5.25 bays are DVD RW, DVD rw and then HDD fan/sink thing (no HDD in there) then I got my card reader. Id like to mount it somewhere else in the inside but I am not sure.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page