1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

New Rig for 2014

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by 03hdfatboy, Dec 27, 2013.

  1. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Check System Specs for details. [​IMG]
    HD64G and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Also ordered 2 ASUS 27" LED monitors so I can get rid of the TV
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,145 (13.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,593
    Well yee haw! It's just an old-fashioned country Christmas!

    Congrats on getting the new computer :D
    Easy Rhino and 03hdfatboy say thanks.
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    390
    I'm guessing those 27' monitors are 1440p/1600p? Those 2x R9 290X cards will drive those displays very nicely. Just make sure you get a good cooler sufficient enough to take care of that 9590 that you got there :)

    Very nice man. Congrats.
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
  5. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    929 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Happy Festivus, and congrats. Thats some nice hardware.
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
  6. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    [​IMG]
    HD64G, suraswami, Lionheart and 2 others say thanks.
  7. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    390
    It's beautiful *wipes tear from eye*

    Now show us some benchmarks and what this baby can do :)
    HD64G and 03hdfatboy say thanks.
  8. rougal

    rougal

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Messages:
    117 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Now that's a happy New year.... Gratz
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
  9. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Had a water leak. Bad o-ring :( in town now hunting coolant. Wish me luck
  10. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Couldn't find just the coolant. Bought Zalman LQ315
  11. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Coolant leaked everywhere. Even in CPU socket :( hoping it'll dry out. Wish me luck
    Arjai says thanks.
  12. FX-GMC

    FX-GMC

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    741 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Cumberland Plateau
    Now i'm dreaming of a 27 foot monitor.... ;)
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
  13. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,063 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    609
    good luck dude. I am sure it will be fine if you give it a few days to dry. Then clean any spilled areas with isopropyl too then let dry an hour atleast before starting up just to be on the safe side.

    Was it the zalman that leaked? I'm paranoid my AIO in my itx will leak and since its so small ... :(
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
  14. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I think CPU is tost. it was the OEM AMD cooler that leaked. Ordered a new CPU will RMA the other one. They will only replace it not refund it. RMA's take about 30 days don't want to wait that long to get my rig running. I may end up putting the replacement in my other rig or sell it.
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2014
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,202 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,126
    geez. christmas is ruined.
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,185 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,177
    So will they replace CPU also seeing as it was their cooler that failed.
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,307 (7.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,836
    I have to assume you pulled apart that AIO to fit it in the chassis?
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
  18. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,972 (1.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,102
    Only way to get it sit outside without cutting the case...lets hope that the dealer isn't that clever.
    03hdfatboy says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I sure hope so
  20. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    NOPE just split the back of the HAF932
    [​IMG]
    mstenholm and sneekypeet say thanks.
  21. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Got the new CPU Still done the same thing. Pulled all the ram and CPU, installed in my other PC and ran MemTest86 and prime95. All tested fine.
    Kept screwing with new setup, finally got it running, funny thing is when I reboot it I always makes me go into bios set it to optimized defaults. It's a pain in the butt. It will not restart on it's own I have to press the "go" button on the mobo and wait for it to boot. I'm outta ideas. Thinking of ordering another mobo to see if that was the issue. Anyone looking a FX-9590 and a Zalman LQ315 CPU cooler?
    HD64G says thanks.
  22. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
  23. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,397 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,138
    techtard says thanks.
  24. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,157 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    nice, can you really buy the Asus ROG OC Panel for itself? :eek:

    but it's nice with some AMD here, even i am more Intel user but i totally would use the Formula-Z board if i was going AMD:peace:
  25. 03hdfatboy

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page