1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Official AMD Radeon 6000 Series Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by TechPowerUp Forums, Jul 28, 2010.

  1. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    No pictures...great.

    AMD sure is keeping things nice and pretty without leaking much at all with Cayman. They've done a brilliant job at keeping us in suspense!
     
  2. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Let me see if i can link them...
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2010
  3. Charly New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I can see them..:wtf:
     
  4. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    365 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hmm, GTX580 on the way, AMD are nowhere to be seen with concrete specs or any performance figures to spoil the 580 launch, I'm better the 6970 is not much better than a 480, 5-20% game depending.
     
  5. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    933 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Australia
    I can see them too, just click the link.
     
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,888 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I've said it before and I'll say it again: It is unrealistic to expect the impossible from AMD. AMD(and Nvidia too come to think of it) have yet to have a new gen GPU that was marginally faster than last gen's dual GPU solution. This means that the 6970 will most likely be in the ballpark of +/-5% of the 5970 performance. Now before we start the bitch slapping, there is nothing bad with it being as fast as the 5970, if it uses less power, produces less heat, is shorter and most importantly cheaper than it. And from what I've seen so far it will deliver exactly that.
     
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,622 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,477
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I can quite beleive that.... in so much as a single GPu even matching the 5970 would be some feat, and then, in the not too distant future, they will bring out their dual GPU offering.
     
  8. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Hey i expect 16 times more power than the 5970 from amd and 18 times more power than the 480 from nvidia :p

    Seriously though 5970 power in a single chip with less power/heat and cost would be awesome.

    Good point, and then people will buy 2 of them :laugh:
     
  9. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Here are some pics of the 6970 guys :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Read More click link .....

    http://vr-zone.com/articles/amd-radeon-hd-6970-pictures/10240.html
     

    Attached Files:

    Duckula and wolf say thanks.
  10. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    looking goooood, 8+6pin looks like something we havent seen from ATi/AMD in ..... well have we?

    beast. antillies will be nuts.
     
    20mmrain says thanks.
  11. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Yeah I agree this card looks like a monster. I was considering staying with my 2x6870's for the duration of the year (Until the 7000 series releases) But now seeing this and if the benches are as good as they claim they might be. It looks like 3 of these might be in my near future:)
     
    wolf says thanks.
  12. motasim

    motasim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    205 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Mostar, Bosnia & Herzegovina
    ... can any photoshop expert estimate the overall length of the 6970 please? ...
     
  13. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,293 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,513
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Yeah, nuts and eighteen feet long. I seriously can't imagine a dual Cayman XT card. All I can think of is global warming, quad slot cooling and swiss bank accounts.
     
  14. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,622 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,477
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    My 5850 has 8 + 6 :D Seeing as supposidly these things are sposed to run hot, thats a very small farty fan...... perhaps they don't!
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,976 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,532
    Mine doesnt. However my 2900XT did.
     
  16. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,622 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,477
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I think it's an Asus thing with the voltage tweak you give more powerrrz
     
  17. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,540 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    Since I'm still seeing this naming causing confusion on forums I visit I just made this simple text people can copy and paste wherever it may help.

    5750->6850
    5770->6870
    5850->6950
    5870->6970
    5970->6990
     
    f22a4bandit says thanks.
  18. f22a4bandit

    f22a4bandit

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    574 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    196
    Location:
    SATX
    Hahaha, nice! Yeah, I think I'd have to cut out the hdd bay of my midtower to even get close to fitting that thing!

    I think we're looking somewhere between 10.5" to 12" in length based on a rough estimate. The PCI-E slot on a motherboard is roughly 4 inches in length.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2010
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,652 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,043
    Just about the same length as the 5870.
     
    motasim says thanks.
  20. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,138 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    580
    Ok I see what you're saying and yes I did miss you meant like GTX 460 --> GTX 480 but I have to agree to that. Though I kind of wonder if it maybe related to the ability of software. Kind of like how 3Dfx SLI gave you 100% scaling every time just because you could move to a higher resolution, up the detail, etc. Just a thought.

    How can the GF104 be cheap when it is larger than Cypress?
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,652 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,043
    If I'm not wrong, Nvidia bought a whole lot of wafers. Buy more wafers = bulk discount. Of course it is obvious that they don't make as much money per wafer as the competition due to the chips size.
     
  22. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    It's not bigger, it's about the same size. 331 mm^2 vs 334mm^2.

    And what Erocker said.
     
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    pics or GTFO :p but srsly, Asus has a 5850 with 8+6pin?

    my reference Asus 5850 was 6+6 and was one of my favourite cards ever. ever ever.

    if you remember I had a 5870+5850 in CFX, and I sold the 5870 and just kept the Asus 5850 it was that good. fantastic bios/oc's on it, not to mention fantastic card anyway, and one of the best colour schemes, carbon fibre :D
     
  24. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    These HD 6870's are sick in Crossfire, they perform so much better than the Hd 5800 series. Good job AMD.
     
  25. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    do you have 6800's? from all the reviews I've seen they perform as-good-as-on-par with their 5800 counterpart.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page