1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

PowerColor and TechPowerup Present Pimp My Rig Contest

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. Zim_256 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    No notebooks, it's in the terms and conditions.
    ooiman92 says thanks.
  2. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Damn i dont have any old hardware, if someone has a pentium III celeron i bet that would do the trick.
  3. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,017 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    What I said was that I want to try and win the 6870x2 and not HAVE TO run 3Dmark03 because I don't have old shitty parts lying around. I have no chance of winning the 6970x2.

    You are right some people can't read.
  4. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,819 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    downloading now I got a pretty old computer but
    I don't know if its good enough to run 3dmark 03;)

    Here is a link to the proper place for discussion



    Minimum System Recommendations

    x86 compatible processor, 1000MHz
    256MB of RAM (512MB recommended)
    1.0GB of free hard disk space
    Windows® 98/SE/ME/2000/XP
    DirectX®9.0c or later
    DirectX®9.0 compatible graphics adapter that has 32MB of memory and is fully DirectX®7.0 compliant
    Microsoft® Internet Explorer 6
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Strange.. I find myself being dissapointed with how good the performance is on my 9800se / s754 rig.
    Rowsol and TheMailMan78 say thanks.
  6. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    I love how you left out the other part of your quote, which is what I was mainly referring to. The part that said, "So if you don't have shitty old hardware you can't win."
  7. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Correct, with that you should be supported :)



    I don't think anyone is excluded anyone who have a desktop can participate, even you can do underclock, I though at first that was forbidden :)
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  8. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,946 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    bummer you cant use a netbook. my girlfriends netbook would get a truely awful score lol. especially if i ran like prime95 and some graphic benchmarker in the background lol

    oh well ill run it on my current pc to at least have a shot at the 6870x2. I don't have any older hardware ATM.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
  9. microtrash New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Just run 3Dmark on a PIII with only 64MB of ram and OCCT running in background. You'll have a abysmal score. !!!
  10. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Maybe I'll ruin it for all of those folks with old hardware, but why not put your rig to one core (bios disabled)? That just starts the fun. Underclock it. Underclock your GPU. Simultaniously run multiple benchmarks. Why need an old PC when you can cripple your own? :toast:

    No need to thank me. I honestly just can't run 3Dmark on my phone so... well I can't enter the contest right now.
  11. imitation

    imitation New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I've got a Geforce 2 GTS! Too old though (DX7).

    Plus, GPU-Z won't start on my AMD E-350 laptop (Lenovo S205 + W7U64). I get the splash screen just fine, but it stays there and keeps eating CPU time.
  12. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    I can read. The bolded sections in the op say 6870 and 6970. Each one is different.
  13. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    There are two prizes. One is 6870x2 (winner chosen randomly from all valid entries). One is 6970x2 (given to lowest score).
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    not true, just a question of tweaking skill :)
    theJesus says thanks.
  15. joseaugusto1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the lowest i got is 1134 ... how bad is that?
  16. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    So under-clocking and such are allowed?
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    yes
    theJesus says thanks.
  18. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I'm out.
  19. Breathless New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    370 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Sorry if this has been stated somewhere, but when is the contest over?
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    September 31st
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    i can confirm that the system specification are wrong, the program will actually run down much lower, (think 2 or 3 hundred mhz), however the CPU will not affect the score, the CPU's score is not included in the 3d mark score, but as a separate score you can only see in the additional details tab

    as such, don't bother reducing the processors clockspeed unless your really sure it could affect the measured speed of the graphics card your using (EG:Act as a bottleneck), but from my experience, even a 10% reduction in graphics card clockspeed will have a bigger affect then a 50% CPU reduction

    The benchmark will also take a very long time to load when you lower the CPU

    overall, lowering your CPU to values of less then 1ghz is a thing i would only reccomend if you have a very long time to do the benchmark or want to leave the PC on overnight
  22. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    Oh. Well that's different then. :ohwell:

    Nevermind. :laugh:

    PS. you were right...I can't read...
    theJesus says thanks.
  23. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    Brb, digging up my x1650PRO+AXP rig, downcloking to 100MHz. :D
  24. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,819 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    anyone want to post their scores yet :p
    I have a felling that 6k is to high.
  25. scope54

    scope54

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    269 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Southern California :)
    Does it matter about driver settings, for example does it matter if we force AA and AF through control panels?

    also for those just looking through from TPU the rules and regs site is here:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/contest5.php

    no netbooks or notebooks :(

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page