1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Radeon Evergreen Islands Club (HD 5xxx/6xxx/7xxx/8xxx)

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Chevalr1c, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    927 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Happy 5850 owner here! Not letting it go anytime soon (not until I save some money for 79xx anyway). Still impressed how well it performs nowadays, especially after I bumped it to 840/1300 at default voltage.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  2. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,485 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,546
    I must say after 2 months with my 7870, im more than impressed. Card runs quiet and handles 1080P gaming @ max settings for 90% of my games
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    The 7870 is indeed a great card and handles most games at 1080p well.
    I am pleased with the performance of the card.
     
    Chevalr1c and AlienIsGOD say thanks.
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,287 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I added you :)

    Of course it does :) That card is a beast. :D
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    My HD 5770, piece by piece. (Which I now run at 900/1250, now that I've replaced the TIM with MX-4 :))

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Idles @ ~30ºC, with room temp. @ ~17.5ºC.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2013
    m1dg3t and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  6. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Higher than this and it gets a bit iffy...
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    I tried the CCC max values, but even at 10MHz less across the board, I was getting complete corruption. So I'm going to leave it like this. Already a very good improvement. :)
     
    m1dg3t and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Somewhat Happy HD 7870 Owner here


    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,343 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,646
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    Same here ... oh ... wait ... i have a 6950 2gb ... well it does handle well all my games at 1080p full detail
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  9. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    316 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Same card here, I can get 1 Ghz on GPU out of it no problem, finishes all of the benches and tests I throw at it, runs very stable at about 65-70 C, I'll post some screenshots tomorrow
     
  10. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Cool beans, but I'm not overvolting mine. Also, my chip is seated in a custom cost-effective PCB from Sapphire, so lower OC headroom is to be expected.
    Btw, the card was skipping frames every now and then with those clocks, in games. I pretty much gave up, since the performance boost wasn't all that noticeable, so now I am running at 875/1250.











    GTextel/s, GPixel/s and RAM GB/s now all have xx.0 values, which is neat because my OCD was kicking in anyway....
     
  11. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    316 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    _JP_,
    not overvolting mine either btw, I can't actually overvolt mine at all, probably because it doesn't support overvolting, but yours can..... hmmm, strange...

    but still, runs great, no skipping frames whatsoever, had crysis 3 running on it for quite a while...
     
  12. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    I don't think mine supports custom voltage settings. Haven't bothered with that, but because I assume it doesn't support that.
     
  13. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    I have 2-XFX 5770's and 2-XFX 6950's please add me to the club!
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  14. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,287 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    You have been added.
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,485 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,546
    could you please remove my 6870 and add a gigabyte 7770 :D i made a trade for WCG purposes :)
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,287 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Consider it done.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    1x Sapphire Radeon 9800
    1x Asus 4870x2 Tri-Fan exchanged (2days running, broke) to 1x Sapphire Radeon HD4870x2
    1x Sapphire Radeon HD6990


    i will always go for sapphire :toast:
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2013
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  18. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    316 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    As promised :)
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    I don't see a reason to overclock the memory, and its not very overclock-able anyway...
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Chevalr1c and _JP_ say thanks.
  19. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    So you have the same SKU as I do similar SKU model. And you ran into problems with vRAM, not core.
    Interesting.
    Anyway, I tested mine as it currently runs (875/1250) to see the difference. As I expected, core OC on this card doesn't yield as much performance increase as vRAM OC.
    [​IMG]
    If you can reach 1GHz no problems, mine should probably handle the CCC limit (960MHz), which means vRAM was holding me back.
    1400MHz+ I got complete image corruption. @ 1375MHz I got skipping frames every once in a while.
    So 1300MHz should be usable without problems. I have to test it 1st.
    Even if you don't want to really OC the RAM on this card, at least 1250MHz is possible, since it's the speed these chips are rated to run at.

    EDIT: Yours seems to have Hynix RAM chips, which are better for OC...at least, based on what I've seen. And the card isn't exactly the same. Yours has different RAM chips and lacks LEDs on the backside.
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2013
    m1dg3t, TommyT and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  20. ST.Viper

    ST.Viper

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    41 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Please add me...Sapphire HD 7870 Ghz Edition
     

    Attached Files:

    TommyT and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  21. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    316 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    _JP_, just tried to overclock memory along with GPU core, and yeah doing good so far :)
     
    Chevalr1c and _JP_ say thanks.
  22. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Add me in for another Visiontek Hd 7850 OC Edition which will be crossfired with the one I already have. . And I do crunch wcg on my gpus.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,287 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Tables have been updated accordingly. :)
     
    m1dg3t and n0tiert say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,031 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,654
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I also crunch on the 6850's. :toast:
     
    TommyT and Chevalr1c say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Anyone can reccomend some tuning proggie and volts for my Asus 5870 v2? I try using GPUtweak but it no work, right now using Trixx but not 100% compatible... Looking to squeeze some more life, so far 915/1275 seems Ok. Anyhing higher and driver craps out during gaming :banghead:

    I should be able to hit 950 on the core, just need to up tha volts :eek:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page