1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Think twice about removing IHS on an X2 6000+

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Wile E, Oct 10, 2007.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Well, thanks for the offer, anyway. Appreciated.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  2. tater New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    587 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Georgia

    [​IMG]

    you see that...to be honest i never thought it was needed but maybe u should start looking into it when you buy something :D
     
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    One hole in your theory, those warranties don't cover damage due to severe misuse. lol.
     
  4. just for humor purposes tryp putting it back together just the way you pulled it off and maybe it'll still work, i'm heard of worse shit happening
     
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I did try putting it back together, just messin around. It's so screwed, it won't even go back together enough to sit flush.
     
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,937 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Duct tape fixes everything!! lol
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,760 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    US
    are you going to sell it? :)
     
  8. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Should have used a hammer.

    You idiot.
     
  9. pmrdij

    pmrdij New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    87 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    my condolences Wile E. used to remove the IHS on the K6's and every so often had things go wrong with the die thanks to the epoxy in use at manufacturing... just no telling how much or how strong such is under that plate.

    - Robert (PmR)DeathInJune
     
  10. wil1ko New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Im not sure that your CPU is quite "dead"...
    if its anything like Intel's CPU's.. what you have done is to rip
    the "Core" out of its pin expansion package...
    its like you took the cpu off the motherboard...
    except in this case it was soldered onto
    the motherboard...

    Unless you cracked it, you should be able to put it back on and boot up to the bios...
    further than that then the differences in heat dissipation due to your having physically
    pulled it off its package after it as sealed on (think of arctic silver's sealing time and the differences it makes to temps.. its kinda like that) should not let you get into Windows. There are ways to fix that problem... but its way beyond the scope of an online forum like this.

    It does look to me like you have pins pointing out of your core.. if you haven't bent them and could realign them JUST as it was before.. you might have a chance

    Good luck!!!

    yours
    -WiL1Ko
     
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow, killer chip, death before its time :roll Oh well, its nice to tinker around with things. All these mishaps yall have, make it possible for me to not screw with mine in the same manner :)
     
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Nope, no pins. Trust me, the thing is screwed. lol. There are various layers of the core divided between both the pcb, and the IHS. AKA: It didn't come out in one piece.
     
  13. curt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    584 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    i know how u feel wile-e i just spent around 1g not to long ago cus my epox agp board died an i couldent get a replace ment so i had to go pci-e an get a new video cpu an mobo

    all cus i wanted to try 4gb of ram lol put in 4 matchen stickes an nothing that was it was dead turned on but evin the led display wouldent say anything

    so i got the dfi expert an opty165@3.0gh i have now nice combo with the 8800gts

    oh an yeah that is solder on your cpu i have pulled apart 3 p.4s so far that had that same thing but they dident pull the chip off

    the way i did the last one was i put a razer blade under each side to give it a lil force then heated the cap with a blow torch till the cpu fell off the cap cus the razors wer prying it off if u get me

    after just had to scrape off the solder with a razor

    lol that 6000 is a goner for shure i wouldent evin try it could cook the board
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2007
  14. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    next time find a few K6-2's to practice on first bro
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It only happened because it was soldered, and I used too much force. I popped the IHS off my X2 3800 the very next day with no mishaps. lol.
     
  16. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    lol thats good to hear, just dont do it with an intel, they soder them these days
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Don't worry, my Q6600's IHS is staying right where it's at. lol. Not only that, you have to modify the socket on a good portion of the 775 boards if you remove the IHS, because heatsinks (or blocks) will hit the metal around the socket before making contact with the core. How do I know that? Visit link #1 in my sig to see. :roll:
     
  18. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    u know, if you didnt want the 6000+ anymore you could have just given it to me insted of ripping the coreout of it.........

    oh well u mopped the woman into getting you a new 6400+ then as soon as u got it dumped it to go intel.......what a waist of a good chip.......*shakes head*
     
  19. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    buy from frys, their in store warr u pay like 15buck for covers ANYTHING, u cold stick it in the microwave and they would replace it no problem!!!!
     
  20. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,344 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    what is the IHS? and why would you try to remove it?
    Sorry for the dumb question but im a nube at this
     
  21. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    IHS is the cover for your CPU. They put it there so people won't F up their CPU with paste, not putting the heat sink on right and so on then RMA it.


    CPUS look like they have always have.
    [​IMG]

    Now they just have a cover that will increase temps because you have to go through another cover.

    [​IMG]
     
  22. ChillyMyst

    ChillyMyst New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    551 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    its not about the pasit demulta, its about crushing the core, i saw ALOT of crushed duron/athlon/athlonxp chips back in the day, they went to an IHS for 2 resions, protect the core and add a head spreder so that if you power the system on without a cooler the cpu wont get instantly bbq'd.
     
  23. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I said that too:)
     
  24. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Wile E your E6750 is going to get an update......should I open my paypal account now?


    hehehehe
     
  25. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    So long as you know, you break it, you bought it. ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page