1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    I knew about the shader increments for mt gtx260. I didn't realize it applied to the 88xx series as well. Thanks, I will update my clocks. Sounds like 1782 is a good target.
     
  2. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Beertintedgoggles, I think that not too many people go far backwards in our forum pages. So re-posting good stuff is never too much. :D

    ...we are just recycling good ideas! :D
     
  3. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    So I've been thinking about getting a powerful nvidia card, such as the gtx260, but a lot of people say the card squeals. Can anyone recommend a good f@h card that doesn't squeal?
     
  4. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    I set the shaders to 1836 (might as well go for it). So far so good but I will see over time if I get any unstable machine messages. The 2 cards are running at about 63C to 66C which I am comfortable with. Here is what my numbers look like on a 511 point unit.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    I've yet to have one not "squeal" since the (g80's) were released :)
     
  6. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Yep, it has been taking quite awhile lately "attempting to get work". Seems like it's just been the last few days....:ohwell:
     
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Great work guy's. We have been averaging 300K+ all day long:toast: Congrats to the Top 20 for their hard work.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    are you kidding? i made the list? wow. thats funny.

    too bad my lan port crapped out there for a bit. i had to get it back up and running with a wifi card. back churning away now though.
     
  9. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    My server is really cranking now. 13334 ppd on the one machine :)

    Of course that is with the help of two 384 pointers...
     

    Attached Files:

    thoughtdisorder says thanks.
  10. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    @dadi-Nice work man! Thanks! We're cruising towards the top 100! Go TPU! :)
     
    dadi_oh says thanks.
  11. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Great stuff.

    I'm really happy with my new results. The new 8800GTS and 3 SMP Clients are making the difference for me.

    I'm now folding only with 5 rigs (were 8 before), but my PPD is down only 6K.

    Way to go TPU :toast:
     
    dadi_oh says thanks.
  12. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Yeah, well congrats to ALL the folks folding, not just those who are in the top 20. It is a TEAM effort. Every work unit counts.
     
  13. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    if i didnt have this damn wifi card in my board cause of the lan port on my dfi dying out today i would be folding on both gtx295's but yeah.... hopefully i can get that fixed this week.

    i have a gtx260 that i will soon have in my main rig for folding as well.

    hopefully soon i can be up in the top ranks with you guys and help tpu get into top 100.
     
    dadi_oh, thoughtdisorder and mmaakk say thanks.
  14. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Fit, you are our GTX295 Hero!

    Put those wonders to sweat :rockout:

    ...you will fly to the top!

    Thanks for the effort :toast:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  15. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    hey... i figure my $1034 in 2 video cards otta dish out at least that much in help for someone else.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
  16. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    With 2 GTX295 folding the right way, you can get an average of ~25K PPD easy. :pimp:
     
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    question

    should i just run one client on each card or one on each core? i could not get each core to work even after disabling SLI completely. i did manage to get one per card running.

    by the looks of the temps i cant really tell.

    card 1 core 1 is 74c max
    card 1 core 2 is 68c max

    card 2 core 1 is 72c max
    card 2 core 2 is 69c max

    i havent gotten it to run on both cards at once though. im new to this so i been having some setup issues.
     
  18. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Yes you can run 4 Clients. Some crazy fellas are running 8 Clients :eek: (4 GTX 295 in a single rig :eek::eek:).

    I have experience of running 4 Clients with 2 HD3870X2.

    I will guide you tomorrow (Sunday)... I have to get some sleep now :p

    :toast:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  19. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    It's all good brother! As a TEAM we're CRUISING to the top 100! Thanks for YOUR effort dude! :cool:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  20. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    Got my rig stable again, crunching with my 8800GTX is back on track, just a tad slower. :\
     
  21. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    You can call me daddio ;)
     
  22. MAGMADIVER

    MAGMADIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    254 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    FT. LEWIS
    I read today that the 9.2 catalyst driver supports multi GPU work... how do I get F@H to work on both gpus on my 4870X2?
     
  23. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Woke up to 8 clients waiting to download new core. The core is not even available yet.
    This is what Pande Group had to say about it:

    Hi all,

    Sorry about this. These WUs are not supposed to be going out to the non-beta public yet; we're currently testing core 14 in beta (as you've all noticed). I'm not sure why you're being assigned these WUs, as the project is set to beta-only. I'm looking into this and will try to get it resolved as soon as I can.

    I understand your frustration with this kind of situation, but please understand that we do care, and we appreciate the effort that all of you make by donating your computer time. We're human and mistakes happen here too :oops:.


    When this happens on the weekend, no one is @ Stanford to fix it. They have to try to send someone over and It take several hours to correct. The only temporary fix is to open your GPU2 folder and delete the queue file. Re-start the client and it will get a Fahcore 11 work unit.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009
  24. dadi_oh

    dadi_oh New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    809 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Almonte, Canada
    I had the same thing on my machine. Deleted the queue and all the files in my work folder and that fixed it. Don't know how long I was out of commission... maybe 6 hours or so. Oh well... stuff happens...
     
  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,450 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,541
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yep, i figure I was down 6 hrs also. I have not had it happen again since this morning.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page