1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I figured out the guarded run errors, it seems with the new 59xx jobs, I can only run one card at a time. Alone they'll fold 24/7, together, they both fail. So it looks like mixed card rigs may have problems.
     
  2. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    A quick question. i'm folding at 3500-4500ppd on my gpu. can i use a seperate client to fold on my cpu? how fast is cpu folding compared to gpu?
     
  3. kyle2020 Guest

    CPU folding is far slower than GPU - a Q6600 @ 3.6 can yield around 3.5K PPD.
     
  4. Lightofhonor

    Lightofhonor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    104 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    WA, USA
    Switched over to the TechPowerUp! username.... :)

    Goodbye 25th place.... I will miss you.
     
    BUCK NASTY says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Hello 25th place! (I'll keep it warm for you).
     
    Lightofhonor says thanks.
  6. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,366 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    856
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Almost wish I hadn't folded for another team, I have to keep folding under my nick, need to see 1 mil! Even thought I'm actually well over a mil now. Until I get my 280/285? back, I just can't do much.... sniff....
     
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Uh, I'm not gonna touch that one. Let's just say quite a few of us agree with you as far as the other team is concerned.;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Soooo frustrating :banghead:

    Takes 24H to finish a WU 2653 (SMP) and in the end... after the magic 100% done :banghead:

    [02:37:11] Folding@home Core Shutdown: MISSING_WORK_FILES
    [02:37:11] Finalizing output
    [02:39:13] CoreStatus = 1 (1)
    [02:39:13] Sending work to server
    [02:39:13] Project: 2653 (Run 32, Clone 49, Gen 133)
    [02:39:13] - Error: Could not get length of results file work/wuresults_04.dat
    [02:39:13] - Error: Could not read unit 04 file. Removing from queue.

    [02:39:13] - Preparing to get new work unit...

    I hate stressing my CPUs for nothing :banghead:
     
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    One of my 8800GS hit almost 3300 while the other stays at <2900 just like you said.

    8800GSX2.jpg

    My GTX260 was folding those 1680 59XX monsters and for some reason switched back to 384 point WU now:confused: Average is 6200 PPD;)

    GTX260Fold.jpg
     
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    does ram make a big difference in ppd?
    I have a 4850e@3ghz on a 1760pt WU i get 1189.69 ppd it is running ram at 1000@5-5-5-12 dual channel
    I have a 5kBE@3ghz on a 1760ptwu i get 1152.87 ppd it is running ram at 824@4-4-4-12 single channel

    they both have been sitting overnight with nothing but F@H going. could that difference be the WUs or because of the ram?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Your talking about a tiny difference in points. (37) it's most likely due to different background processes running on the pc's if even that.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  13. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i know its tiny i was just wondering tho if that could be a reason.. the 5kBE has less background processes and the 4850e rig has the GPU folding(9800GT) thanks for your input :toast: i didn't even think of what maybe running in the background
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Does anyone know how only to get one type of WU, like 477 all day?
     
  15. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Apart from joining the team at stanford, i don;t think there is much you can do. i'm guessing you just get the next piece of work up for processing
     
  16. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    This is the best WU for me? Anyone else like these?

    [​IMG]
     
  17. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    why is it every time i shut down the SMP client on my 5kBE it deletes the WU and DLs a new one? it happens EVERY TIME :banghead: i now keep a backup of the files on my main rig so when that happens i can start it back where it was.. what is going on? how can i fix it?

    EDIT: i just saw that the read only box was checked so is that why that was happening?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,000 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    I gave up on my SMP client. If I shut it down, it would find the work files corrupted, delete them and DL a new WU upon restart.
     
  19. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    was the read-only box checked? i was having that happen but problem solved after unchecking(is that even a word) the box
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    If my GPU clients finish the WU but the net is down at the time, are those work units lost? I've got a couple of 1680 pointers, both done sitting here 'Waiting to retry' and it looks more like its attempting to get new work without having sent the old stuff in. Is this 8 hours each card and 3360 down the drain? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  21. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    They are saved... your fine! Mine does that too!
     
    El Fiendo says thanks.
  22. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,776 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,661
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Probably just a server/connection issue, it'll keep sending completed work until that certain WU's experation time is up iirc correctly. Could be from so many folding, dunno..give it a little while though, it'll go through.
     
    El Fiendo says thanks.
  23. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Alright, that's excellent. I wasn't sure if it'd just overwrite with a new work unit. I fixed the net now. For some odd reason my router wasn't talking to my modem when I got home, and it's been like this for 5 hours. Simple reset and everything was working again. I tell you, leaving computers on all the time sure helps you see how many things can go wrong. Its still performing admirably for being a 24/7 machine though. Just its kinda heart wrenching sometimes.
     
  24. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,447 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Close the client and re-start it. The work will be sent. I do not know why, but mine hang up like that too.
     
    El Fiendo says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Excellent, it says its sent it off. Now, because of the sudden addition of liquor tonight I've decided to scheme and attempt to scrape together all my old parts into a second rig. If I'm right and I can get these suckers to work, I'll be cranking out another 5-6k PPD. Power bills be damned! I won't be happy until I've consumed 1.21 Gigawatts(!) in a single month.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page