1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,424 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    Correct! sorry.. My brain and eyes have had it today..lol Been writing SQL all day and VB... :eek: My eyes are crossing..lol I'm getting on the treadmill here in a minute and after that i'm chillaxin! :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,383 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Probably a dumb question, but I know nothing about sli. If I have to un-sli to fold, will I have to take off the bridge each time too?
     
  3. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,633 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,002
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    No, you can leave the bridge on, but you must disable Sli in NV control panel.
     
    johnspack says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,413 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,714
    Location:
    Florida
    I was able to run SLI w/ folding. you just need to add the -force tag.
     
  5. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,654 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Depending on which card/s you're using, you can leave them on SLI and not have to put the -forceg80 flag. I can do this with my 2 8800GTS 512;)
     
  6. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    I think I may have figured out my display driver quitting responding problem......I havent turned Everest on to monitor my temps b/c it has been chilly around here for the last few days and I havent had my screen all artifacting like crazy lol. More than likely that is my culprit.....:shadedshu
     
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    what card do you have(link please)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I was going to say i have a cooler from one of these cards for $5+shipping(need to pay off bog. for a rad only reason for charging)
    That is if a cooler from a 8600GT will fit on a GTS
    [​IMG]
     
    Taz100420 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    I may get it. Ill def. PM ya when I have the extra cash. I want a GTS 250. I saw reviews on them and seem alright for a cheaper upgrade as my budget is quite low b/c my job is starting to kick in fully now. Im getting more hours, at least 40-45 now. Just enough folding power and the games I play arent TOO graphically intense lol
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  11. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,383 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    I'll be using the slipatch with 2 gtx260s. I can reboot to non-sli and sli simply isn't available. So if I don't have to remove the bridge, that will be kewl! My computer is doing weird things now, can't wait for my new psu to fix everything...
     
  12. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,213 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    Its only 68F today and these 548s has got my top 275 @ 84C. I think I want to get a P55 FTW with different PCIe arrangements cause the lower card only gets up to 75C with the same WU. The way the card is heating up now means it wont have a chance when it gets to 100F+ out here :mad:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,483 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,130
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Ok the Zotec gtx280 is out of the game atleast for now. Plan on Sunday to get set up, going to need some help if anyone will be around.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,633 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,002
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I'll be available. We also have TeamViewer available if you want me to set it up for you.
    :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,483 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,130
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    I will drop you a pm Sunday afternoon.:toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,213 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,799
    too hot today to fold, cards back up tonight.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,445 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,364
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Any idea what sort of PPD I would be able to get on a GTX 260 c192 OCed as far as I can on the stock cooler without it being too loud? I might (I'm not going to say definitely) have the opportunity to trade my 8800GTS G80 for a GTX260. My grandfather ordered one in his new Dell without knowing what it was, and has now offered it to me in exchange for a less power-hungry card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,633 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,002
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    A GTX260 192 overclocked and fans @ 70%(70-80c) should produce 8K+ ppd on a 353pt WU.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,445 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,364
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That's awesome, I currently get ~4200PPD on 353pt WUs on the 8800GTS, and I got ~5600-5700 on the 8800GT (GT and GTS OC'ed)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    [​IMG]


    WTF is up with all these WUs with no point values? I mean Im no point whore but hell.....
     
  21. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,654 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    If you use EVGA's GPU voltage tuner, you can OC this card and get as close to a 216SP version's output (and more) without breaking a sweat;)

    65nm 260's are really good when it comes to OCing it's clocks (and very responsive).
     
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,633 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,002
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    If the CPU/GPU crashes early in the work unit, it returns the percentage already done. Continual crashes will net low ppd. I suggest you check your overclock/stability of the hardware your folding on. Use HFM.net to keep record of your failed work units. Do you know for a fact there is no instability?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    No there is no stability issues b/c I am not O/C'ed...... But I ALWAYS have my display driver crashing for some odd reason. I put all clocks to normal to see if it was the cause it still crashes. I updated to the newest Nvidia drivers to no avail....I think my g-card may be dieing....
     
  24. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,445 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,364
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    It's not an EVGA card, if that matters. It's an OEM 1792mb one from a Dell, GPU-Z reports the manufacturer as "Nvidia"
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,654 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,131
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA

    Doesn't matter just like EVGA's precision tool;) Just thought of something, if you don't have a 192SP registered on EVGA it won't let you DL it. PM me details.
     
    [Ion] says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page