1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Awesome! I'm on the list now! Never turning my computer off again. Better get the old Athlon 1200 folding too. It's otherwise useless right now
    infrared says thanks.
  2. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Nice one Cuzza.

    Update for me! Just upped the clocks on my e8400 to 4.14ghz, and installed the affinity changer. Now the SMP client is munching through WU's like there's no tomorow! Does approx 2800ppd without the gpu client running. More in the CPU yet, i'm on 1.3v atm, don't wanna go past 1.35v if possible. 4.25-4.3ghz should be possible with <1.4v

    [​IMG]
  3. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Congrats Buck!!!

    Do you already have the hardware for the new rigs?

    Let us know!

    Cheers
  4. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,344 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Ok all set , seems to be running good, keep ya posted:)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Hello Team.

    I need to clear out one doubt.

    FahMon total PPD for me is saying 20K+ for all my rigs. 6 video cards + 2 CPU folding. Running this way already for 4 days 24/7.

    Now, why my "Stats Sig Images" 24Hr avg. is only 13K?

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  6. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I finally networked my rigs so I can display all clients in Fahmon together. It's alot easier than checking 3 different monitors:laugh: I should have another 6600 PPD online Monday. Fold On!!!

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Your average is all points over 7 days. If you just added additional cards, you will see it jump towards the end of the 7 day period. It takes a week to get back up to your average when you shut anything down.
    mmaakk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    :respect:

    BUCK NASTY you have all the answers!! :respect:

    Thanks
  9. xazraelx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    179 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Is it possible to read the PPD from a PS3 over the network? In addition, when using remote access (windows remote access) to access my folding computer, it makes the video card clients stop after they send their results. When I open up the computer, it is at the login screen saying "logged in." I am presuming that because I am remote accessing, it is stopping the GPU clients. Is there a workaround for this? Or should I just use a different remote access program? Thanks,

    William
  10. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Hey Everyone,

    Well, I decided to start folding for TPU. I'm still a bit new to this, so I have a few questions of what might be going on to my compy.

    Right now I am jus folding with my 8800 GTX. I've noticed though that whenever it is running, my mouse is very glitchy. And my Core 3 is at 100% on my CPU usage. I thought it wuld just use my GPU to process this, and not the CPU.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks TPU, and glad to finally be helping out for a better cause.

    -Andrew

    (nut shell specs:

    8800 GTX, 680i Mobo, q6600 @ 2.4, 4bg ram, Windows XP Pro )
  11. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hey, thanks for contributing :)

    The old GPU core used to be quite heavily cpu dependant, so it looks like you've got the old core. If you close the gpu client, the go to c:\documents and settings\username\application data\folding@home\folding@home-gpu\ and delete fahcore_11, it will automatically download the newer core next time you run it. You should have very little cpu usage, and it will complete the WU's faster.

    Hope this helps ;)
  12. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    I'm Happy Now!! (finally)

    Hello TPU F@H Team!!

    If you follow the posts will know that I was frustrated with 2 video cards Palit 9800GT recently bought. So I did return the cards yesterday and got 2 beauties:

    Asus EN9800GT ULTIMATE/HTDP/512M

    It's a 9800GT OC but with 128 shaders instead of 112 (default 9800GT).

    So I went from 4.4K PPD (Palit) to 6.5K PPD each with the new cards (ASUS).

    That's my new Total PPD now: :rockout: 26.8K :rockout:

    [​IMG]

    BE HAPPY
    KEEP FOLDING!
    :toast:

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 18, 2008
  13. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Glad to be helping. I tried to delete the file, but still same CPU usage, and glitchy mouse. Would having 2.8gb of Ram viable to windows be doing this by chance?
  14. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I have no clue what that means, but nice work!

    I, on the other hand, installed Ubuntu on my Athlon 1200 machine today and (after much cocking about, since I know jack s**t about Linux) got it folding.

    It is, however, a bit slow. First work unit is going to take 11 days.
  15. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Hey Cuzza!

    PPD means Points Per Day. You can download "FahMon" Folding@Home Monitor at:

    http://www.fahmon.net/download.html

    With fahmon you'll be able to check your projects performance.

    ;)
  16. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand
    yeah. I did that a few days ago, I cant get it to work.

    EDIT: After putting some ACTUAL THOUGHT into the problem, I have got it to work. Sitting at 100.37 ppd. Rock on!
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2008
  17. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Oh, I know those cards. They are 8800GTS's in disguise!!!!! Great card by the way.

    On another note, looky at what I found this morning @ CompUSA. 2 of the venerable XFX 8800GS's for 45.99 each after rebate! I'm not crazy about the cooler design, but it's a solid performer nonetheless. Max 2 cards per rebate/household or I would have bought all 4 that they had:shadedshu. I getting closer to setting up the 4xGPU rig that I have had my eye on since beginning folding. I hope to have it up and running by early November. That will put my total count to 12 GPU and 4 SMP clients. PPD should end up around 65K:rockout: Keep folding and let's make TPU a contender!!!!!

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Wtf Mmaakk???

    Doin' a little stealth action, are we? Sneaking up on the Buck?:laugh: Check out the 24hr totals...:toast:

    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    CRAZY BUCK!!!

    Tell me one thing ...do you still have free PCI-E slots? or are you getting new mobos?

    What a deal! 45 bucks for a 88hundred card? Great success! buying 2 ...even better! hehe

    About statistics, That pic is from witch web page? The only one I check (daily of course) is http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com. And by the way, looking at the "Top 20 Producers" I'm now after you buddy... hehehe

    But don't get me wrong. Don't wanna put you under pressure. Keep some bucks to spend with your girlfriend/wife. Video cards are still expensive and if you keep buying 3 or 4 per month, it will add-on!

    Just kidding my friend! KEEP UP THE FANTASTIC WORK :toast:
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I have 4 8800GS's(2-XFX & 2-EVGA) just sittin here. I'm waiting for a Foxconn S-939 SLI (had to use up my old CPU's) that should be here Tuesday. I also have an MSI K9A2 Platinum(4 PCI-E:D) in my cart @ Newegg. You could say I'm having a slot shortage. I welcome the healthy competition that you bring, Mmaakk. It's good for folding and great for TPU!!!!
    :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Buck, you didn't answer me about the web-page?

    "About statistics, That pic is from witch web page? The only one I check (daily of course) is http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com."

    Thanks
  22. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,437 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    http://kakaostats.com/t.php?t=50711

    Kakao updates @ 12:30am and every 3 hrs after that. Extreme updates @1am and every 3 hrs after that. Extreme feeds off the Kakao results. Kakao shows actual real-time PPD and Extreme shows your average. I use Kakao to monitor from work that all my rigs are running properly.
    mmaakk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    I was surfing @ the EVGA F@H forum and found other Statistics site:

    http://hardfolding.com/fh_stats/index.php?pz=101&tnum=50711

    Pretty nice! There are a lot of options on the left side panel like graphs, attack, records...

    Please give me your opinion.

    Thanks
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
    Kursah says thanks.
  24. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,581 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    I like that site, messing with it now...seems interesting to say the least.

    I submitted a result on Infrared's GPU2 Performance thread...I hope that thread comes back alive soon, I thought it was a damn good idea!

    :toast:
    mmaakk says thanks.
  25. mmaakk

    mmaakk

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Messages:
    567 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    Brasil
    Kursah, thanks for the heads up! Just posted results of one of my cards for Infrared!

    :toast:

    PS. Nice new "Statistics Sig" ...I guess you really approved the new website I posted! :roll:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page