1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800 GTO² to X850 XT BIOS Mod

Discussion in 'Articles' started by W1zzard, Sep 13, 2005.

  1. grtek Guest

    I just orderded mine from their this morning, and it's on its way! YES! I'll let you guys know my results when I get mine.
  2. grtek New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    This is going to be my 3rd ATI mod.

    I had a 9500np and it softmodded perfectly into a 9700. I was going through the process of putting a new cooler and some heatsinks to OC it to Pro speeds but I messed up the actual gpu, because I tried taking the shim off(I read that it made the contact better).

    So then I bought a 9800Pro, that was pretty good and I found out it had a R360 core so I decided to flash it with the XT bios, but first I wanted to put on the Artic Cooling VGA Silencer. I did that and in the process of putting it back into my computer I pushed to hard on it and I accidently ripped off some heatsink that was attached to a little chip.

    So hopefully I won't ruin this card doing stupid things. I've been pretty lucky with ATI mods and hopefully I'll get one that's moddable again.
  3. DjiNN Guest

    hi guys im new boy for this thing n i want to ask one think can this mod possible to do on connect3d x800gto ben i saw 2 powerconnector like x850xt-xtpe n it is using x850 xt pcb but on sapphire i didnt see yellow powerconnector

    thanks
  4. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey w1zzard or Haplo_09 any temp monitoring on this card like on the XT cards?
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2005
  5. Unregistered Guest

    grrr to bad they dont ship to canada, cant find them here yet
  6. Haplo_09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    WTF... I oclocked mine to 500core and 580 memory.. increased fan speed to 100%
    run it through 3dmark 2005.. ( ised stock cooler.. )
    the idle is 45C the peak was 52C
    shouldnt peak be much higher ??
  7. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    is the heatsink copper or aluminum? I'm guessing the card does have temp monitoring? or are you seeing the temps in atitool?
  8. Haplo_09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    the heatsink looks like Al to me.( which is quite strange )
    I did temp monitoring through riva tuner
  9. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Glad to hear about the temp monitioring...... if it's not detectable with ATITOOL, w1zzard will get it working eventually.
    52C does seem to be a bit cool with just an aluminum heatsink. is it cool where you live?
  10. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    does temp. monitoring work with atitool? it should .. if not, whats the device id of the card?
  11. Unregistered Guest

    Is everyone sure the gto frirevblade by sapphire is not what people are referring as the gto2?

    I mean why isn't the gto2 on sapphires website? Only 3 versions of the gto.... normal. ultimate and fireblade.
  12. Unregistered Guest

    Should read fireblade above. Typo.

    Even http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=26202 suggests the gto2 as people here are referring to the sapphire exclusive card is called the fireblade.

    Don't you think gto2 would appear on Sapphire's website if that is what its called.
  13. Unregistered Guest

    And following link states there will not be a gto2 but a version similar by 1 manufacturer:

    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2527

    Could be adding 2 plus 2 and making 5 here but I think this supports the fact that this special card must be the Sapphire Fireblade version. As it is only Sapphire who are making this moddable card and they do not list a gto2.

    I've got mine on order in the UK so will let you know when I try it.
  14. Unregistered Guest

    oh man.....
    the officialy announced GTO series fm Sapphire are not unlockable (at least not that easily)!
    Some german folks asked Sapphire Germany directly whether the Fireblade or the Ultimate actually
    are the GTO2 and Sapphire denied this.
    The key word in the above is "official".
    Sapphire said they would not advertise the GTO2 (in contracdiction to the official Fireblades and Ultimates).
    They used the Harware sites to spread the news about the GTO2 but they certainly won't put them on their website nor do advertisers for them (remember that dealers still have got quite some stock of
    "real" 850XT and XT PE which costed them some good amount of money and they simply don't want competition fm a EUR200 card)

    The special thing on these GTO2s is that they are said to be hand picked/selected.
    Thats why they say that they guarantee that the unlock works.
    You might be able to unlock also the last quad on a Fireblade, but who guarantees you tthen that
    the last 4 pipes work as supposed ? These R480 chips might not be fully funtional hence one quad
    has been locked by ATI and sold to Sapphire as a 12 pipes chip.

    Fireblade : guaranteed overclockablility
    GTO2 : guaranteed overclockability AND guaranteed unlockable

    As for Germany it was said that only 2 online dealers would get these special GTO2s (but quantities
    should be sufficient).

    rgds
  15. Unregistered Guest

    Found this link which must therefore confirm Fireblade is not a GTO2 as they are actually calling it GTO2:

    http://www.sapphiretech.com/gallery/main.php?id=109

    Will therefore cancel my Fireblade order and wait till I here of anywhere in UK offering GTO2.
  16. Ebola New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metz, France
    I fully agree with that. What would become an expensive X850 XT/PE in a crow of modable GTO² and upcoming R520 (that get the leadership)

    We must get more feedback from Fireblade users, but from what i eared till now is that they are not unlockable.
  17. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,630 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,360
    it is not unlockable .. how often do i have to repeat myself: only the gto² is moddable
  18. Ebola New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metz, France
    For me one time is enough :D but as you can see through the whole web, the rumor that firebalde is modable is again the top priority

    GTO² is labeled 'Limited Edition' right ? and box is referenced as SKU#310-18791B
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2005
  19. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    anybody else get this card yet? I wonder what's the likelihood they'll hit xtpe speeds? Does this card come with a power cable?
  20. Haplo_09 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    12 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes it comes with power cable.
    the stock oc software determined 590 as memory speeds and
    520 core..
    with stock cooler..
  21. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    SONOFAGUN!!!!! I just bought an A400 6800GT that easily overclocks to 6800 Ultra Extreme Edition speeds. I thought that was a good overclock, I guess I'm wrong. Well actually, according to benchmarks, the 6800 Ultra's do perform better with almost every good game, until you turn on AA and AF, then they lag just a few points behind the X800's. Anyway, I was really regretting buying the card because of this little card, but it's only PCIe and I've got AGP. So who cares, I got an AGP 6800 UEE, that should do pretty well compared to you lucky mofo's with your new X850XTPE's (GTO2).
  22. Kinan Guest

    Which dealers are these? Is it known?
  23. Unregistered Guest

    mad-moxx and alternate (maybee others will get these cards too but these 2 named will be the first ones (first cards shall become avail this/next week))
  24. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    so if I slap a zalman or a ati-silencer on there it will be even better..... not bad for a $200 card. :D
  25. AMDCam New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado, United States
    Nobody knows if they'll make an AGP version?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page