1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Your PC ATM

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by DaMulta, Jul 7, 2008.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    np bro, and yes you should indeed put it on if you already have it:D

    i just find it shitty that its like that from ASUS
  2. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Did a bit of cleaning up, which is quite hard actually. I need to get me some black sata cables and sleeve the front panel ones.

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  3. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    It turned out that my boot failures were being caused by an OC I left in the BIOS a while back. It was only at 3.6GHz but something's not enabled or disabled because it doesn't work. I was able to disable the floppy drive so it's gone. A CD drive is still showing up though, it's not in device manager to disable. It also turns out that the 100MB "System Reserved" partition has some boot and diagnostic stuff on there. I think I can get rid of it but there's no real reason to.

    I read something about enabling "ACHI" mode for the hard drives instead of native IDE mode, or something like that, and that it increases HDD performance. Does anyone know anything about that?
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    do you use daemon tools or similar?
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,415 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    +1

    A virtual drive is usually the extra drive you see in your window. I use daemon tools and alcohol 120 but limit it to 1 drive
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Whoops yeah. PowerISO was putting that extra drive there, thanks for the reminder. It was set to emulate one drive at the moment, I disabled it.
  7. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    phew, we can call of the alarm then:p
  8. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Yes, I run poweriso as well. But I make a point to mental note the virtual drive letter E:... Good call (FIH) The Don.

    But soylent...didn't you say it was a fresh windows 7 install? If so the virtual drive should not have been there unless you installed PowerIso after the fresh Win7 install.
  9. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    [​IMG]
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  10. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
  11. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Oooooo...very nice fitseries ^^
  12. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,723 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Looks.... Warm, Fits.

    I have the CPU cooler, got a 120mm on it and it's probably the best air cooler i've ever used. Amazing kit.
  13. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Yeah it's fresh, but PowerISO is installed. I use it a good bit so it was on the urgent list.
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,904
    Got my 2nd fan for my rear radiator, looks much better. Once the 1090T gets in, I'll put the white tubing on, clean up the loop better and flip the rear radiator. During all of this I realized a much better solution to my water cooling using a Mountain Mods Pedestal: http://www.mountainmods.com/tower-pedestal-p-565.html and I have a 3x120 XSPC RX Radiator on the way. The pump/res combo and XSPC RX120 will also go into the pedestal. The wheels will be removed from the bottom of the Lian-Li and the pedestal will be mounted beneath it, and a simple hole will be cut at the bottom of the case to allow passage of the block(s) and tubing. Then re-mount the wheels under the pedestal. Total cost comes to about $350 which is a bit less than I expected.:)

    Anyways, here it is now. (I can't wait to get my HDD space back!)

    [​IMG]
  15. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Really nice erocker!! :respect:

    Tell me though...why are all your pics reversed?
  16. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    The case is like that, not his pictures lol
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,492 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,904
    ChaoticAtmosphere says thanks.
  18. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,605
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    LMAO!!! Right....I'm the retarded one :slap: me please!
  19. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    He's holding his camera upside down, or hes from Australia :laugh:
  20. anonemus

    anonemus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Davao City, Philippines
    [​IMG]
  21. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Wow that Scythe Ninja Plus is big. Even in your huge (for a mid tower) V3.
  22. anonemus

    anonemus New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Davao City, Philippines
    @SK-1 -- should I spray-paint it black?
  23. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    :rockout: The perfect solution.
  24. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Yeah I love it, "sleeper" is the right term there. Fits a full ATX board while remaining mATX size. The only problem I have with it is heat buildup at the top, since I run a low airflow config it doesn't suck the air out of there. I plan to fix that with a blowhole later on.

    Cable management is hard, but not impossible.

    The 5850 is missing there, it's currently packed up into its box, waiting for it to be sold. I'm getting a different card, most likely a 5770.
  25. IINexusII

    IINexusII

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    906 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    London, UK
    i just got some money... :D ill be building an phenom x6 rig after my exams so in about a week or two :D

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 12, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 8 (0 members and 8 guests)

Share This Page