• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

2560x1440 IPS 27" LED Monitor on the Cheap!

Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,621 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,992
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
I am interested in buying one, like really soon.

Are you able to hook up the monitor to GPU with a single HDMI or DVI-D? My GPU has one mini-HDMI port and two DVI.
DVI-D works fine ;)
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Yup: i have mine hooked up to the motherboard (see specs) and it's working just fine.

@ 1st, it wasn't working and i couldn't figure out why, but then i noticed i had the DVI-D disabled in BIOS :slap: : enabled it and it's working great ever since.
 
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
Thanks guys. I look forward to enjoying this display soon.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,602
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
wow awesome! anyone try this for video editing??
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
Sounds like backlight bleed, I do have some though nothing worth worrying about and it's still miles better than my old Sammy TN panel :toast:
Well that's what I thought at first but as I moved my head around, it affected the whole screen , not just the bottom area

Sounds more like IPS glow- normal for IPS screens although the degree to which it is visible does vary between brands and units. I have it ever so slightly on the bottom right corner of my Ultrasharp.
Just looked up IPS glow and I think this is what I'm experiencing. Kind of annoying, don't know why I never heard of it before buying this screen! I can definitely live with it though, the screen is amazing apart from that. Maybe if I sit a bit further away it will be better.
 

fullhd99

New Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2011
Messages
22 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
I just want to share information about Spec,Variant LG IPS PANEL 27" 2560x1440
This panel most use by korean monitor brands like ACHIEVA,CATLEAP,CROSSOVER,PCBANK
To find out which panel are using you must disassemble the monitor :D


LM270WQ2=CCFL

Specs 1

Specs 2






LM270WQ1=LED


Specs1

Specs 2

Specs 3

Specs 4

Specs 5

Specs 6

Specs 7








link can help you why bios does not appear
see picture at the bottom in vga compatible NVIDIA and AMD...
Not Compatible=Bios,Loading Screen can not be displayed,but windows no problem to display 2560x1440
Compatible =Bios,Windows show no problems
integrated Gpu i think not support for high resolution 2560x1440
Apply For ALL Korean Monitor 27" 2560x1440 IPS Brand
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
395 (0.08/day)
Likes
251
Location
New Taipei City, Taiwan
sorry... what has the "not compatible" to do with the fact if the it gives display immediately after boot?

And don't worry, even Intel integrated graphics can display 2560x1440 just fine.
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2006
Messages
455 (0.11/day)
Likes
41
Location
Hereford, England
Processor Intel Core i5 750
Motherboard Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling Ultima 90i
Memory 4GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) PNY GTX465 @ GTX470 w/ 1280MB vRAM
Storage OCZ Vertex 2E 60GB + 2x1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) Samsung 245B
Case Black Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 2ZS
Power Supply Antec NeoHE 550W
Software 7 Ultimate 64bit, OSX
Dunno, I used mine with an HD5850 and had 0 problems, could see BIOS and everything. I have also heard other people online say the same. But I have also heard of some people who couldn't see their BIOS. I'm guessing it's something to do with the res or refresh rate that those cards use during POST/before the OS is loaded.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
With the monitor I'm using there are two things you need. A video card that has a dual link DVI output and a dual link DVI cable.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,602
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,621 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,992
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
IPS monitors, from what I've seen list their response times in black to white to black. Most TN panel manufacturers list grey to grey. In the end they are about the same.. 2ms g2g = 6(ish)ms b2w2b.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,422 (1.60/day)
Likes
1,602
System Name RemixedBeast
Processor Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4Ghz
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Pro3
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 16GB Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 1.5TB Seagate/128GB Samsung 840
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + LG Flatron 19in Widescreen 1440x900
Case Antec Three Hundred Two
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 620w Antec High Current Gamer HCG-620M
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite, Ligowave NFT-3AC
You mean high? low response times are a good thing regardless :toast:
well some of them are decent and have 8 or less and that's good. but some have like 14+ms and that's no good...
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,817 (0.80/day)
Likes
604
System Name HTC's System
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asrock Taichi
Cooling NH-C14
Memory G.Skill Kit 16GB DDR4 F4 - 3200 C16D - 16 GTZB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 480 OC 4 GB
Storage 2 * Samsung 1 TB HD103UJ
Display(s) LG 27UD58
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Logitech Performance MX
Software Ubuntu 16.04 LTS
Dunno, I used mine with an HD5850 and had 0 problems, could see BIOS and everything. I have also heard other people online say the same. But I have also heard of some people who couldn't see their BIOS. I'm guessing it's something to do with the res or refresh rate that those cards use during POST/before the OS is loaded.
Mabye the problem was this (in bold):

Yup: i have mine hooked up to the motherboard (see specs) and it's working just fine.

@ 1st, it wasn't working and i couldn't figure out why, but then i noticed i had the DVI-D disabled in BIOS :slap: : enabled it and it's working great ever since.
I thought i was screwed for sure for a while there but it was just me being dumb :eek:
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
I use a Philips LCD TV (32") and the BIOS thing is as follows:
9 out of 10 times the computer goes into Windows loading screen before the screen "wakes up".
So if I need to enter BIOS, I press quickly "DEL" after keybaord lights turn on without seeing anything, and some 30 seconds later I see stuff.
If I want to see my BIOS posting - loading lines I have to press "pause" and wait until screen wakes up and sometimes it does not.
Definitively is something low-res communication related...
Unless doing an overclocking session it is a non issue reallly.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
432 (0.12/day)
Likes
54
I use a Philips LCD TV (32") and the BIOS thing is as follows:
9 out of 10 times the computer goes into Windows loading screen before the screen "wakes up".
So if I need to enter BIOS, I press quickly "DEL" after keybaord lights turn on without seeing anything, and some 30 seconds later I see stuff.
If I want to see my BIOS posting - loading lines I have to press "pause" and wait until screen wakes up and sometimes it does not.
Definitively is something low-res communication related...
Unless doing an overclocking session it is a non issue reallly.
I take it you are using HDMI? that is not so much a computer or monitor issue as it is a copy protection issue. We have to take it in the ass so the RIAA and MPAA can make sure we are using an "approved" device.

I have a Pioneer reciever in between my computer and my 60 inch Pioneer plasma that I use for a monitor and I can see the HDMI light blinking while the HDMI handshake bullshit takes place.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,570 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
HDMI yes... You imply that a DVI cable would not show these troubles?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2008
Messages
1,710 (0.51/day)
Likes
278
Location
ATL, GA
System Name My Rig
Processor AMD 1950X
Motherboard Asus Zenith Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master 360mm AIO
Memory G.Skill Trident DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1080 Ti Strix OC
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 512GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34
Case Corsair HAF120
Power Supply Cooler Master 1200W Gold Edition
Mouse Razer Lancehead
Keyboard Razer Widow Maker Keyboard
Software Window's 10 Pro
I just ordered one of these....looks good
 

helloWorld

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
Ordered a Crossover 27" 2560x1440 IPS display from "accessorieswhole" on eBay on Saturday and I just received it today, three days later! This is from Korea to Texas!!!

The display is amazing. The color is amazing. The brightness is amazing. The viewing angle is amazing. I did those online dead / stuck pixel tests, and I have not seen a single dead or stuck pixel.

Using a DVI-D, I was able to see POST / BIOS and everything like that without having to do any weird tricks to get it to display!





 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Ordered a Crossover 27" 2560x1440 IPS display from "accessorieswhole" on eBay on Saturday and I just received it today, three days later! This is from Korea to Texas!!!

The display is amazing. The color is amazing. The brightness is amazing. The viewing angle is amazing. I did those online dead / stuck pixel tests, and I have not seen a single dead or stuck pixel.

Using a DVI-D, I was able to see POST / BIOS and everything like that without having to do any weird tricks to get it to display!
Just curious... Why did you choose the crossover. I am looking at the catleap personally. I don't mind glass or no glass, but I am also read that many of the glass displays have dust behind them.
 

helloWorld

New Member
Joined
May 29, 2011
Messages
176 (0.07/day)
Likes
32
Location
USA
System Name My Computer
Processor Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.8 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Cooling Custom Liquid Cooling On CPU
Memory 8 GB (2 x 4GB) AData DDR3 @ 1.6 GHz (24/7 Stable Clock)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Windforce GTX 670 @ 1313 MHz Core / 1507 MHz Memory
Storage 120GB Corsair Force GT
Display(s) Crossover 27" IPS @ 2560x1440
Case Dimastech v2.5 Easy
Audio Device(s) On Motherboard
Power Supply Antec HCP 1.2kW
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium w/SP1
@ james888

I purchased the Crossover because I had read that the Crossover had, in general, an overall better build quality. I also read from a lot of people that the Crossover had less input lag. To be honest, I have an idea as to what input lag is, but I really do not know what it is. The way people were talking about it, it seemed like a big deal.

I have no dust behind my glass display, from what I can tell.