• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

5800x (and other Zen 3 chips) PBO settings/Temperature fix

Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt

This guide should help you. Depends how agressive you want the curve. But set up as per guide then adjust to your personal preference. Theres so many varying factors with fan curves depending on types of fan static case pressure, pull vs push. Location of the PC itself. Room Temp's etc etc. list goes on. But main thing is finding the most audible bearable fan speed the doesnt make your ears bleed, and that can actually cool your pc during load for me.
Well the annoying thing I want to fix is the constant ramping up of the cpu fans.. The 5800x is usually hitting 55- 60. Like when you first boot into windows it'll ramp up the cpu to 60 then idle back down. Can you set the fans to like 50%only when it hits 55-60 temps then when it goes beyond 70 you put it to 100%?
 
Low quality post by Pivo187
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
Bump anyone alive around here
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
944 (1.27/day)
Bump anyone alive around here
Just check the link @MaddoggMiranda posted: https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?threads/guide-how-to-set-up-a-fan-curve-in-the-bios.369711/
You can set the curve from bios as you want , you can have 4 or 5 steps curve depending on how the fans are connected or motherboard model, you can just set a flat curve from step 1 lets say at 55C to step 2 at 70C at 30% fan speed or whatever you like and the fan(s) will run at 30% till temps will get to 70C.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
Here are a few pictures of my bios. It looks like it's not even showing the cpu fans so I'm not sure how I can control those if there is no readings? Also seems like the case fans 3,4 are DC.. Also for the 3,4 fans I can't seem to control the curve at all. It only allows me to choose smart fan. I'm currently controlling the cpu fans via the corsair software but it not showing up here in bios I'm wondering if something is wrong and that is why the fans keep ramping up in speed randomly. Maybe the sensor corsair is using is not the cpu sensor?
 

Attachments

  • 20230315_081938.jpg
    20230315_081938.jpg
    831.5 KB · Views: 101
  • 20230315_081922.jpg
    20230315_081922.jpg
    691.9 KB · Views: 105

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
944 (1.27/day)
Here are a few pictures of my bios. It looks like it's not even showing the cpu fans so I'm not sure how I can control those if there is no readings? Also seems like the case fans 3,4 are DC.. Also for the 3,4 fans I can't seem to control the curve at all. It only allows me to choose smart fan. I'm currently controlling the cpu fans via the corsair software but it not showing up here in bios I'm wondering if something is wrong and that is why the fans keep ramping up in speed randomly. Maybe the sensor corsair is using is not the cpu sensor?
Did you connect the fans from your AIO to the CPU fan header? If not you should connect them there.
If your fans are PWM then you should select PWM instead of DC.
Smart Fan mode is OK.

I see you have Corsair h100i, you can use iCUE software or what is called to control your fans/pump instead of bios. (i prefer bios)

 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
Did you connect the fans from your AIO to the CPU fan header? If not you should connect them there.
If your fans are PWM then you should select PWM instead of DC.
Smart Fan mode is OK.

I see you have Corsair h100i, you can use iCUE software or what is called to control your fans/pump instead of bios. (i prefer bios)

Get izy it seems
Did you connect the fans from your AIO to the CPU fan header? If not you should connect them there.
If your fans are PWM then you should select PWM instead of DC.
Smart Fan mode is OK.

I see you have Corsair h100i, you can use iCUE software or what is called to control your fans/pump instead of bios. (i prefer bios)

I think my fans are connected to the h100i header and not the mobo. Also I think I have sum kind of silencer on the fans. Is this ok for it to be connected this way? I have an older h100i that doesn't work with icue. I had to use older corsair software but I'm not sure what the software is using to detect the cpu temps to go by for fan speeds??
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
944 (1.27/day)
Get izy it seems

I think my fans are connected to the h100i header and not the mobo. Also I think I have sum kind of silencer on the fans. Is this ok for it to be connected this way? I have an older h100i that doesn't work with icue. I had to use older corsair software but I'm not sure what the software is using to detect the cpu temps to go by for fan speeds??
Just check the video i have linked ^_^
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
So I'm confused.. Should the cpu fans connect to the cpu fan header or pump fan header!? I had it connected in the pump fan header on mobo
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
CPU fan -> CPU header :)
Well I changed it to there but it's just showing the rpms of the pump and not the rpms of the fans.....
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
50 (0.05/day)
Location
UK - Sheffield
System Name Maddogg Custom Build
Processor i9 14900KF 5.7ghz (ALL P CORES) 4.5ghz (ALL E CORES)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z690
Cooling Deepcool LT720 360mm AIO
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Royal 4000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 3090 FE
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC 31.5" 165hz 1440p
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO XL
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 ELITE Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB mk2 SE
Software Windows 11 Pro (Ghost Spectre)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Timespy - 21139 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/46840624
Well I changed it to there but it's just showing the rpms of the pump and not the rpms of the fans.....
I think you maybe misread. But the PUMP (AIO) Should be plugged into the CPU FAN Header on the MOBO then you connnect the splitter cables to the cpu fans on the radiator, Basically there should be nothing connected to Pump Header on the MOBO in the corsair setup. Then your CPU RPM should be correct and control both fans correctly via bios.

However in my experience the best way to actually control the pump is the via the iCue software with the Corsair Series of AIO's its one of the reason's i swapped the EK AIO minus better cooling but because its less software and you can control both fans & pump via Bios.

Also this certainly isn't the correct thread to be discussing this issue. I feel like we are spamming a thread way off topic here. @Mussels will need to move/clean the thread up afterwards.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: izy
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
I think you maybe misread. But the PUMP (AIO) Should be plugged into the CPU FAN Header on the MOBO then you connnect the splitter cables to the cpu fans on the radiator, Basically there should be nothing connected to Pump Header on the MOBO in the corsair setup. Then your CPU RPM should be correct and control both fans correctly via bios.

However in my experience the best way to actually control the pump is the via the iCue software with the Corsair Series of AIO's its one of the reason's i swapped the EK AIO minus better cooling but because its less software and you can control both fans & pump via Bios.

Also this certainly isn't the correct thread to be discussing this issue. I feel like we are spamming a thread way off topic here. @Mussels will need to move/clean the thread up afterwards.
This is how I have it setup but it's showing my rpms as 2300 I know that's not the speed of the fans but again the speed of the pump. The fans max speeds are 1360....i have nothing plugged into the pump header that's where the 3 pin connection was and I moved it to the cpu header on mobo...why is bios not showing the fan speeds now instead of the pump speed?!
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
50 (0.05/day)
Location
UK - Sheffield
System Name Maddogg Custom Build
Processor i9 14900KF 5.7ghz (ALL P CORES) 4.5ghz (ALL E CORES)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z690
Cooling Deepcool LT720 360mm AIO
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Royal 4000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 3090 FE
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC 31.5" 165hz 1440p
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO XL
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 ELITE Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB mk2 SE
Software Windows 11 Pro (Ghost Spectre)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Timespy - 21139 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/46840624
This is how I have it setup but it's showing my rpms as 2300 I know that's not the speed of the fans but again the speed of the pump. The fans max speeds are 1360....i have nothing plugged into the pump header that's where the 3 pin connection was and I moved it to the cpu header on mobo...why is bios not showing the fan speeds now instead of the pump speed?!
Its how the bios reads it the first thing on that pwm line is the pump then the fans are controlled separate to the pump via the onboard AIO fan control with the pre connected pwm splitters which the bios cannot interperate hence why you have to use software (iCue). Unfortunately its just the way it is for Corsair AIO's and has been for a long time.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
Its how the bios reads it the first thing on that pwm line is the pump then the fans are controlled separate to the pump via the onboard AIO fan control with the pre connected pwm splitters which the bios cannot interperate hence why you have to use software (iCue). Unfortunately its just the way it is for Corsair AIO's and has been for a long time.
So are you saying these fans can't be controlled by the bios only corsair software? What was the purpose of changing the 3 pin to the cpu header on mobo then from the pump header lol...
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
50 (0.05/day)
Location
UK - Sheffield
System Name Maddogg Custom Build
Processor i9 14900KF 5.7ghz (ALL P CORES) 4.5ghz (ALL E CORES)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z690
Cooling Deepcool LT720 360mm AIO
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Royal 4000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 3090 FE
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC 31.5" 165hz 1440p
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO XL
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 ELITE Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB mk2 SE
Software Windows 11 Pro (Ghost Spectre)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Timespy - 21139 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/46840624
So are you saying these fans can't be controlled by the bios only corsair software? What was the purpose of changing the 3 pin to the cpu header on mobo then from the pump header lol...

Because you will get CPU FAN not installed error if you dont.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
Because you will get CPU FAN not installed error if you dont.
I don't think I do get that error? So I can't control the fans thru the bios or I still can? Since I don't see them in bios..
So here's a picture of my corsair software that runs the fans on the AIO. I'm not sure what sensor the cooler is using to go off of for temps to control the fans? In settings I don't see any sensor that says cpu I only see what you see here in the picture...
 

Attachments

  • 20230324_070906.jpg
    20230324_070906.jpg
    925.8 KB · Views: 57
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
50 (0.05/day)
Location
UK - Sheffield
System Name Maddogg Custom Build
Processor i9 14900KF 5.7ghz (ALL P CORES) 4.5ghz (ALL E CORES)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z690
Cooling Deepcool LT720 360mm AIO
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Royal 4000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 3090 FE
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC 31.5" 165hz 1440p
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO XL
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 ELITE Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB mk2 SE
Software Windows 11 Pro (Ghost Spectre)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Timespy - 21139 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/46840624
I don't think I do get that error? So I can't control the fans thru the bios or I still can? Since I don't see them in bios..
So here's a picture of my corsair software that runs the fans on the AIO. I'm not sure what sensor the cooler is using to go off of for temps to control the fans? In settings I don't see any sensor that says cpu I only see what you see here in the picture...
You should get that error.. slightly worrying it would let you boot without cpu installed to the header. But no you cant control fans in the bios with any corsiar AIO because of how they are manufactured. Change AIO maybe if thats what your wanting to achieve by controlling fans and pump in bios.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
You should get that error.. slightly worrying it would let you boot without cpu installed to the header. But no you cant control fans in the bios with any corsiar AIO because of how they are manufactured. Change AIO maybe if thats what your wanting to achieve by controlling fans and pump in bios.
Ok thats fine. The next issue here is what is the AIO software from corsair using to guage what the CPU temps is? If you look at my picture above there is no temp sensor for cpu in the drop down box
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
50 (0.05/day)
Location
UK - Sheffield
System Name Maddogg Custom Build
Processor i9 14900KF 5.7ghz (ALL P CORES) 4.5ghz (ALL E CORES)
Motherboard ASUS PRIME Z690
Cooling Deepcool LT720 360mm AIO
Memory 32GB G.SKILL Trident Royal 4000mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) NVIDIA RTX 3090 FE
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVME
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC 31.5" 165hz 1440p
Case Lian Li O11 Dynamic EVO XL
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso 7.1 Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX1200
Mouse Corsair M65 ELITE Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB mk2 SE
Software Windows 11 Pro (Ghost Spectre)
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Timespy - 21139 https://www.3dmark.com/spy/46840624
Ok thats fine. The next issue here is what is the AIO software from corsair using to guage what the CPU temps is? If you look at my picture above there is no temp sensor for cpu in the drop down box
The AIO temp sensor is the pump coolant temp which corsair uses to gauge temps.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
1,900 (0.43/day)
Location
Denmark
Processor ryzen 7 5700x3d
Motherboard MSI B550 a-pro
Cooling Theremalright peerlees assassin 120 black
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-4000 - 32GB - CL18 (3733 mhz cl 16)
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual GeForce RTX 4070 EVO
Storage 1x2tb KC3000 & 2tb samsung 970 evo plus, 2 x 2 tb external usb harddrives
Display(s) LG 32GP850, IIyama G2470HSU-B1
Case Corsair 5000D airflow tg
Audio Device(s) Mission 778X Triangle Esprit Titus Ez
Power Supply Corsair RM850X White
Mouse Logitech G PRO Superlight
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB TKL Champion
Software Windows 11 64 bit, Free bitdefender
I tried to lower Max cpu boost clock override to -250mhz so it would boost like a stock ryzen 5700x but still boost to 4.850mhz

Does seem to effect the temps much when i game still 65 c or higher (if it boost to 70 i can't remember but i hav done that)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 23, 2023
Messages
65 (0.13/day)
Processor Amd 5800x
Motherboard MSI MAG X570 TOMAHAWK WIFI Motherboard
Cooling Corsair h100i
Memory 32gb
Video Card(s) 3070ti
Storage Nve, SSD,
Display(s) 27 inch
Power Supply 850 watt
The AIO temp sensor is the pump coolant temp which corsair uses to gauge temps.
Isn't that an inaccurate way to keep track of temps? I'm tired of hearing the fans ramp up for no reason when hw temp is showing system only 50 degrees lol
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2022
Messages
563 (0.65/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory G.Skill Trident Z Royal 2x16GB
Video Card(s) MSi RTX 3080ti Suprim X
Storage 2TB Corsair MP600 PRO Hydro X
Display(s) Samsung G7 27" x2
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500W
Mouse Logitech G903
Keyboard Steelseries Apex Pro
Isn't that an inaccurate way to keep track of temps? I'm tired of hearing the fans ramp up for no reason when hw temp is showing system only 50 degrees lol
Water temperature is less spiky than the actual hardware temperature. Therefore it is better to use the water temp sensor for pump/fan control. The stock fan profile in the H100i is to aggressive for most, so it will cause annoying fan speed changes. Making a more boomerang shaped curve is usually a good thing. Then find a temperature above the normal spikes to set the steepest increase in fan speed.

If you want to keep your fans connected to the H100i you need to use the older Corsair software to set the fan curves. This profile is saved to the H100i directly, so there is no need to run the software constantly.

If you want to use the motherboard to control the fans, you have to unplug them from the H100i first, then connect them to the motherboard directly. Use CPU and CPU_OPT headers if you have both. Alternatively CPU header with a splitter. Then your fans will follow the fan curve set in the bios.

The pump rpm output from the H100i should be connected to the CPU header on the motherboard if you keep your fans connected to the H100i, so that the motherboard can warn you if the pump is not running. If you move the fans to the motherboard instead, you should move this back to the AIO pump header.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
1,900 (0.43/day)
Location
Denmark
Processor ryzen 7 5700x3d
Motherboard MSI B550 a-pro
Cooling Theremalright peerlees assassin 120 black
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-4000 - 32GB - CL18 (3733 mhz cl 16)
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual GeForce RTX 4070 EVO
Storage 1x2tb KC3000 & 2tb samsung 970 evo plus, 2 x 2 tb external usb harddrives
Display(s) LG 32GP850, IIyama G2470HSU-B1
Case Corsair 5000D airflow tg
Audio Device(s) Mission 778X Triangle Esprit Titus Ez
Power Supply Corsair RM850X White
Mouse Logitech G PRO Superlight
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB TKL Champion
Software Windows 11 64 bit, Free bitdefender
Shouldn't it be fans and pump to aio pump and cpu fan header on the mb, usually a good mb kan warn you about no rpm or just keep a temp,rpm reading in the taskbar with HWInfo64
 
Last edited:
Top