1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

A-10 5800k Apu crashes/restarts when playing games on IGPU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Aardwolfe, May 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hello guys, my apu crashes when playing games on igpu, i don't know why, tried everything, lowering clock, disabling turbo boost, everything, nothing helps, does anyone else have the same issue? is it my apu or the board? please help, what should i do

    My PC specs:
    Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4
    A-10 5800k APU
    kingston hyper x 1866mhz
    550w Chieftech PSU
    1 TB WD green
     
  2. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,369 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,921
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you try putting the latest AMD catalyst version on the system to see if that fixes it?
     
  3. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Using 14.4, that's latest i guess
     
  4. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,369 (3.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,921
    Location:
    Texas
    I saw another post about an bios issue, you may have a bad bios version so I would try putting the latest Stable version from gigabyte.
     
  5. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    687 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    I'd check board/CPU temps
     
  6. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    well i recovered that, back to f4 version, as i said temps are good, doesn't go above 50 ... crashes when playing 5-10 mins of game, don't know why ...
     
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,421 (5.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,525
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This. What are your APU temperatures like?
     
  8. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    stays around 40-45 at most intense cpu use

    Well here u go guys, prime95 tests and some other:
    Temps can be seen at the right side in all cpu meter:

    [​IMG]

    after 20 min of nfs most wanted 2012 gameplay, apu crashed, temps shown on right side in all cpu meter:

    [​IMG]

    apu crashed after 5 mins of kombuster test:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2014
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,421 (5.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,525
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If you're still using the stock cooler, it's possible that the CPU is throttling when the temperature starts going over 60*C or so. For example, the screenshot of NFS:MW shows the GPU temp to be 63*C and since the GPU and CPU are the same die, it's reasonable to assume the CPU cores are probably a bit on the toasty side as well.

    So my recommendation would be to get a better cooler if you're using the stock one.
     
  10. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    687 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Still doesn't explain why it crashes...

    I'd guess it might be to do with the voltages, best option IMO would be to RMA to board and/or CPU. Try contacting GB/AMD customer support and see what they make of it.
     
  11. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    i guess u should read the whole thread, i'm using deep cool gamer storm, and gpu temperature always higher than the cpu ... @GorbazTheDragon, what's RMA? the voltages are stock ... didn't try to lower as i wouldn't know what voltages to set ... even downclocked it to 3.6ghz, that didn't help ... the cpu doesn't crash, only igpu crashes upon gaming ... that's all
     
  12. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    687 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Basically send it back to the manufacturer.

    Seeing that you underclocked it, and AFAIK you have not done anything with the hardware (VRM heatsinks, Volt modding, etc) and it still crashes, and hardware problem is most likely not under your control.

    I'd like to know what kind of crashes are you getting? BSODs? Just computer turning off? It could be related to power delivery (mains stability/PSU) or maybe just the program having problems. I had a period where my laptop would repeatedly get BSODs in games, mainly BF3. Tracked it down to conflicting drivers for the GPU and keyboard backlight.
     
  13. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    here, this is what cooler i'm using ...
    [​IMG]

    Already made a thread in amd-apu section on amd's forums, no reply, shit heads, AMD never made me happy, just wasted my money on this shit ...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2014
  14. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    687 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Try this http://support.amd.com/en-us/warranty/pib

    Never been a fan of asking for customer support in support forums...

    You also might want to consider checking with Kingston and Gigabyte support for the board/memory..
     
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,421 (5.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,525
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's running that hot at stock? Cooler aside, that should be able to handle it just fine but I would expect lower temps from that cooler under GPU load. Are you absolutely certain that you didn't use too much thermal paste when you mounted it or that it's mounted properly? I would personally opt to the have the fan on the opposite side, pulling air through the heat sink as opposed to pushing it through, but that's me. I also assume that the airflow in your case is half decent as well.

    I did read that thread. You never mentioned what cooler you were using. Also you said temps were good but even on NFS you can see how toasty the iGPU is getting. I sounds like a driver issue to be honest though.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2014
  16. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    so what should i do? i guess it's the driver version, but i can't find a way to revert it back, 14.4 stays there, do i need to re-install windows? memory sticks are just fine, i wonder what temps would i be getting with stock cooler :/ ... this cooler is so awesome that it kept q9400 at 3.6ghz at maxmimum temps of 53c ... the cooler isn't the problem, might be a faulty chip? and i can't claim the amd warranty or anything since it was a retail chip provided by amd to some people in my country ... u can think of them as reviewers ... also i have 2 psus, both psu gives +-12v ... like 12.096v and 11.88v on 12v railing ...
     
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    9,421 (5.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,525
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    When you made this APU machine, did you do a clean install or did you transfer Windows from another machine? It's very possible old driver files are linger around and that a driver cleaner application (after uninstalling Catalyst,) might be in order. So I would start by starting clean with 14.4 and then working backward from there.

    This might help: http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=379505
     
  18. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    okayy, i did fresh copy of windows 8, installed 13.12, no shit, this can't be solved, this machine is efd up, fruck amd and gigabyte
     
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,716 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,254
    Ram and power supply
     
  20. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    294 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    since, were going on a last ditch effort here...
    install linux trusty tahr
    (ubuntu, or mythbuntu, xubuntu, or any on the 14.04 kernel... does not matter which... (i prefer MythBuntu, or Xubuntu)

    then
    Code:
     sudo apt-get upgrade
    sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    
    then install the open source amd drivers...
    (i have a mythbuntu system, and the only way i got the VDPAU to work on an asrock am1h-itx, amd 5350 system was to install this PPA.

    Code:
    sudo apt-add-repository ppa:oibaf/graphics-drivers && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    
    (http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=ubuntu_1310_oibaf&num=1)

    when that is done, reboot, then install the gputest 0.7 (http://www.geeks3d.com/20140304/gpu...w-fp64-opengl-4-test-and-online-gpu-database/)

    in doing that you can test the gpu with furmark, or volplosion, if that crashes the system good chance that the system is NFG.


    SEEing how this (will be/is) to much trouble,

    is the Sata mode in BIOS , AHCI?.

    looking at your motherboard you have a led display... does the board boot-up error free?.
    reset everything to stock. (clear the CMOS, or remove the battery from the MB.) then load "stock bios settings"

    check the memory, see if it is 1333, if it is good, leave it that way for the moment.

    then erase the hard drive, (remove all partitons...) then install win8.
     
  21. GorbazTheDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    687 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    I'm thinking its something other than the processors...

    What kind of crashes are we looking at anyway??? Hardware based BSODS, or just program crashes (xxxx.exe has stopped working)?

    The ubuntu idea seems like it should work. Maybe run memtest and such for seeing errors.
     
  22. Aardwolfe

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    86 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    u mean to say
    u mean to say format my whole 1TB? :O and installing linux? never did that, don't know how to, it's efd up, if it's efd up it will be efd up no matter what, now i shall wait for my discrete gpu ... amd are so shit, didn't even reply on the forums, assholes :mad: ... but it never worked for what i bought this apu shit ... i hope it gets sold soon, will never buy amd again
     
  23. redeye

    redeye

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    294 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    mississauga, on, Canada
    no remove the partitions, and a clean install.
    (better yet, remove the partition and let windows create it) just running the win8 update disk will not fix stuff.

    then install win8, the apply all the updates, then install 8.1... then install the amd catalyst drivers.
     
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,938 (5.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,893
    Test your RAM. You might also have to bump up the voltage on the RAM, it is only running at 1.5v but some HyperX 1866 kits require 1.65v to run stable(the CAS10 kits run at 1.5v but the CAS9 kits require 1.65v).

    Also, most Chieftech power supplies are crap, so that could be causing the issue too.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,716 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,254
    This sounds like faulty ram. Had that happen before on both intel and amd.

     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.