• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD/ATI Flashing Guide

Status
Not open for further replies.

grimmi

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Hi, i am trying to flash a rx 480. i followed the guide here (Win98 USB Bootstick). after i boot up from the usb drive and enter atiflash -i. there is no card found. where is my mistake?

XFX RX 480 Core Edition 8 GB (RX-480M8BFA6)

thanks
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,703 (3.79/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
probably the wrong version of ATI Flash. I uploaded the latest one which supports the 4 series cards in the OP Its for Windows. I belive the DOS version only works on 2 series cards and below.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.64/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

grimmi

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
when i boot from the usb stick no card found. if i start it in Windows 10 the card will be found. but u said no flashing in windows is this also correct for this version?

i don't want it to flash it to a rx580 only modded rx480 bios.

if a create a backup of my bios the file is 256 KB, some moded bios i found to download are 512 KB. they also working? when i open my saved bios file with the Polaris BIOS Editor, there is a warning, This BIOS is less then the standard 512 KB size. Flashing this BIOS may corrupt your graphics card.

thanks
 
Last edited by a moderator:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
40,435 (6.64/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
when i boot from the usb stick no card found. if i start it in Windows 10 the card will be found. but u said no flashing in windows is this also correct for this version?


i don't want it to flash it to a rx580 only modded rx480 bios.

if a create a backup of my bios the file is 256 KB, some moded bios i found to download are 512 KB. they also working? when i open my saved bios file with the Polaris BIOS Editor, there is a warning, This BIOS is less then the standard 512 KB size. Flashing this BIOS may corrupt your graphics card.

thanks

Those procedures may be able to help you on yourcard, no matter what bios you are trying to put in.
 

grimmi

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
okay i'll read this also :)
i can find the cards in windows, but when i try to flash the following error comes.

Can not flash a 0x0 length image into a 0x40000 length rom!ROM not erased

any idea? thanks
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,703 (3.79/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
okay i'll read this also :)
i can find the cards in windows, but when i try to flash the following error comes.

Can not flash a 0x0 length image into a 0x40000 length rom!ROM not erased

any idea? thanks

Start your own thread this thread isnt for tech support. this is just the guide. You will get alot more hits making your own thread.
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,703 (3.79/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
I want to add UEFI support to my Radeon HD7850. I asked Sapphire for a patched BIOS and they send me a file with .ul2 extension. Can I flash it with this guide, do I have to convert it to .rom or do I have to request a .rom file from them? I've attached the file as well as original .rom to this post if it helps.

This thread is not for tech help!

Please make your own thread for FLASH problems!

you will have better luck making a thread.

Please make your own thread.

This thread isnt for support requests, like the OP and previous posts mention.

Start your own thread this thread isnt for tech support. this is just the guide. You will get alot more hits making your own thread.


Some people just do not get it.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top