• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

AMD/ATI Flashing Guide

grimmi

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
18 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
Hi, i am trying to flash a rx 480. i followed the guide here (Win98 USB Bootstick). after i boot up from the usb drive and enter atiflash -i. there is no card found. where is my mistake?

XFX RX 480 Core Edition 8 GB (RX-480M8BFA6)

thanks
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
probably the wrong version of ATI Flash. I uploaded the latest one which supports the 4 series cards in the OP Its for Windows. I belive the DOS version only works on 2 series cards and below.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

grimmi

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
18 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
when i boot from the usb stick no card found. if i start it in Windows 10 the card will be found. but u said no flashing in windows is this also correct for this version?

i don't want it to flash it to a rx580 only modded rx480 bios.

if a create a backup of my bios the file is 256 KB, some moded bios i found to download are 512 KB. they also working? when i open my saved bios file with the Polaris BIOS Editor, there is a warning, This BIOS is less then the standard 512 KB size. Flashing this BIOS may corrupt your graphics card.

thanks
 
Last edited by a moderator:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,197 (5.03/day)
Likes
4,798
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
when i boot from the usb stick no card found. if i start it in Windows 10 the card will be found. but u said no flashing in windows is this also correct for this version?


i don't want it to flash it to a rx580 only modded rx480 bios.

if a create a backup of my bios the file is 256 KB, some moded bios i found to download are 512 KB. they also working? when i open my saved bios file with the Polaris BIOS Editor, there is a warning, This BIOS is less then the standard 512 KB size. Flashing this BIOS may corrupt your graphics card.

thanks
Those procedures may be able to help you on yourcard, no matter what bios you are trying to put in.
 

grimmi

New Member
Joined
Jan 12, 2017
Messages
18 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
okay i'll read this also :)
i can find the cards in windows, but when i try to flash the following error comes.

Can not flash a 0x0 length image into a 0x40000 length rom!ROM not erased

any idea? thanks
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
okay i'll read this also :)
i can find the cards in windows, but when i try to flash the following error comes.

Can not flash a 0x0 length image into a 0x40000 length rom!ROM not erased

any idea? thanks
Start your own thread this thread isnt for tech support. this is just the guide. You will get alot more hits making your own thread.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,262 (4.28/day)
Likes
6,067
Location
Florida
System Name Not named yet
Processor I5 7640x 5Ghz 24/7
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling Corsair H55
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x Seagate 3TB Drives (RAID 0) 1x Seagate 256GB SSD 1x Adata 120GB SSD
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Onboard on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
I want to add UEFI support to my Radeon HD7850. I asked Sapphire for a patched BIOS and they send me a file with .ul2 extension. Can I flash it with this guide, do I have to convert it to .rom or do I have to request a .rom file from them? I've attached the file as well as original .rom to this post if it helps.
This thread is not for tech help!
Please make your own thread for FLASH problems!
you will have better luck making a thread.
Please make your own thread.
This thread isnt for support requests, like the OP and previous posts mention.
Start your own thread this thread isnt for tech support. this is just the guide. You will get alot more hits making your own thread.

Some people just do not get it.
 
Last edited: