• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD/ATI Flashing Guide

Status
Not open for further replies.

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,680 (4.31/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill 3600
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller
Keyboard Keychron K8
Software W10P

Karl. C

New Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Thanks for your help Solaris17 !!!
I managed to upgrade a Gigabyte R9 390 to an R9 390x with amazing results. All 44 CU are now unlocked. I was scared as i hit enter in dos and squinted as i continued. So glad i did. I got an average of 40 extra FPS in BF4 and Grid autosport had a simular increase in performance. Other games varied hugely. Now to try Fallout 4 which is a dog at times. Thanks again and yes, some but not all R9 390 can go to 390X. Double check Bios is the right one, and back up before hand !!!!

Note: I think it would be wise to use the versions of ATIflash and the other files as kindly bundled above by Solaris17, i had issues using newer versions.

Thanks again!
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,730 (2.63/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
Flashed my old X800 Pro VIVO to XT Platinum Edition without problems last night. Damn I can't even remember when I last time booted into DOS for a (v)BIOS flash :laugh:

Tho never had problems when flashed from Windows when I tried different bioses to my R9 290 some time ago, I guess that it's better not to recommend it o_O
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,681 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Flashed my old X800 Pro VIVO to XT Platinum Edition without problems last night. Damn I can't even remember when I last time booted into DOS for a (v)BIOS flash :laugh:

Tho never had problems when flashed from Windows when I tried different bioses to my R9 290 some time ago, I guess that it's better not to recommend it o_O

That's ok, Its just not a recommended method. Software flashing introduces too much risk between hardware communication CPU interrupts and other pieces of software that can interrupt the flashing process.

While I am happy that some of you have managed to flash without incident I will not be changing or ever recommending that people do this. Considering the readers the guide targets, mitigating so much risk is better than getting them hooked on bad practice.

They will need to know how to flash via BIOS anyway should OS flashing go wrong, a detail I think most of the windows flashers are overlooking. It works for you, for now because you already know how to flash properly.

If you were to teach someone new to flashing how to flash via Windows and it didn't go through correctly, those people are now stuck since they have no method to fall back on.
 

Chloefile

S.T.A.R.S.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
10,730 (2.63/day)
Location
Finland
System Name 4K-gaming / guest-PC
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X @ PBO+200 / AMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ PBO+200
Motherboard Gigabyte B550M Aorus Elite / Asus ROG Crosshair VII Hero
Cooling Arctic Freezer 50 / Alphacool custom loop
Memory 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-3466 / 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200
Video Card(s) PowerColor RX 6700 XT Fighter / Asus HD 7970 Matrix
Storage 2x 1TB NVMe + 3x 480GB + 256GB SSD + 6TB HDD / 128GB + 2x120GB + 240GB SSD
Display(s) Acer Nitro XV273K (27" 4K120 IPS) + Lenovo L32p-30 (32" 4K60 IPS) / 24" 1080p144 TN + 24" 1080p60 VA
Case Fractal Design Define Mini C / Corsair 4000D Airflow White
Audio Device(s) Asus TUF H3 Wireless / Corsair HS35
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W w/ Cablemod red sleeved cables / Seasonic Focus+ Gold FX-750
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legendary / Logitech G400s
Keyboard Roccat Vulcan 121 AIMO / NOS C450 Mini Pro
VR HMD Oculus Rift CV1
Software Win 11 Pro / Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Benchmark Scores They both run Crysis
That's ok, Its just not a recommended method. Software flashing introduces too much risk between hardware communication CPU interrupts and other pieces of software that can interrupt the flashing process.

While I am happy that some of you have managed to flash without incident I will not be changing or ever recommending that people do this. Considering the readers the guide targets, mitigating so much risk is better than getting them hooked on bad practice.

They will need to know how to flash via BIOS anyway should OS flashing go wrong, a detail I think most of the windows flashers are overlooking. It works for you, for now because you already know how to flash properly.

If you were to teach someone new to flashing how to flash via Windows and it didn't go through correctly, those people are now stuck since they have no method to fall back on.
I think that's about a perfect information about it. :)

Yeah, I've screwed up few times looooong time ago with the Windows flashing, but I relied on the backup BIOS on the R9 290 ;) And to add more risk, I've flashed (v)BIOSes always with an overclocked system, which I wouldn't recommend to others. I'm just too damn lazy to put my system to stock clocks before flashing :laugh:
 

Jippo

New Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2016
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Hello

I'm probably not in the right place here to post this issues but its feedback to the autoflasher tool that Solaris17 made:respect:. I'm trying to flash a HD6350 with the hybrid rom made using your GOPupd tool.

As I try to flash it it gives the following error.

"Cam not flash a 0x1d200 length image into a 0x10000 length rom!"

I made a new copy of the original rom and ran that with the GOPupd tool again. Placed that rom on the USB and tried flashing that but still no success. I have no clue on what the error message is trying to tell me.:confused:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
255 (0.08/day)
Location
Lurking over a keyboard ...
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom WC
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200MHz C16 @ 3800MHz C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XTX (MBA)
Storage 2x SN770 2TB, 4x 870 EVO 4TB
Display(s) Asus MG279Q
Case Be Quiet Dark Base 900 (Mods: Front mesh panel, improved top panel for airflow)
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Mouse Logitech G700S
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/29041947 https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/84973091
@Solaris17

The issue on Fiji onwards is no "pure DOS" version of atiflash supports them, so you have to use Windows CLI/GUI ATiWinFlash. The Stilt posted on OCN v4.18 of ATiFlash for DOS with Tonga support, but I have found none for Fiji/Polaris. Even when asking on AMD community site where AMD's Robert Hallock uploaded updated ROMs for Fury X/Nano, there was no response from AMD on "pure DOS" version of atiflash :( .
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,681 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
@Solaris17

The issue on Fiji onwards is no "pure DOS" version of atiflash supports them, so you have to use Windows CLI/GUI ATiWinFlash. The Stilt posted on OCN v4.18 of ATiFlash for DOS with Tonga support, but I have found none for Fiji/Polaris. Even when asking on AMD community site where AMD's Robert Hallock uploaded updated ROMs for Fury X/Nano, there was no response from AMD on "pure DOS" version of atiflash :( .

Thats good to know. I will look into this.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
255 (0.08/day)
Location
Lurking over a keyboard ...
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom WC
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200MHz C16 @ 3800MHz C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XTX (MBA)
Storage 2x SN770 2TB, 4x 870 EVO 4TB
Display(s) Asus MG279Q
Case Be Quiet Dark Base 900 (Mods: Front mesh panel, improved top panel for airflow)
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Mouse Logitech G700S
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/29041947 https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/84973091
Sweet :) .

I've even asked tech support of GPU AIBs directly, at times just using P/N / serials off images on the web to create support tickets with known issues where I'd get a bios update :D . No AIB has supplied "pure DOS" AtiFlash for Fiji onwards, any ROM packs that AIB have on support sites like Asus/Gigabyte bundle AtiWinFlash with them.

With Fiji/Polaris to make sure windows flash goes smooth you must not have any util monitoring system sensors, like GPU-Z, MSI AB, TriXX, HWiNFO, etc. Otherwise there have been reported issues.

I advise in Fiji bios mod thread to make sure rig is not OC'd and have generally stable OS. Personally I haven't had any issues with flashing whilst having CPU OC'd, but I do go nuts on stability testing for my OC :D , clocked up hundreds of hours of f@h, etc :D .
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,681 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Sweet :) .

I've even asked tech support of GPU AIBs directly, at times just using P/N / serials off images on the web to create support tickets with known issues where I'd get a bios update :D . No AIB has supplied "pure DOS" AtiFlash for Fiji onwards, any ROM packs that AIB have on support sites like Asus/Gigabyte bundle AtiWinFlash with them.

With Fiji/Polaris to make sure windows flash goes smooth you must not have any util monitoring system sensors, like GPU-Z, MSI AB, TriXX, HWiNFO, etc. Otherwise there have been reported issues.

I advise in Fiji bios mod thread to make sure rig is not OC'd and have generally stable OS. Personally I haven't had any issues with flashing whilst having CPU OC'd, but I do go nuts on stability testing for my OC :D , clocked up hundreds of hours of f@h, etc :D .

Yeah info like this is good. If its relevant I will always add it to benefit the greater good. If I cant find anything I will add or amend a section on the safest way to flash via windows if needed. Thanks again!
 

Tatty_Two

Gone Fishing
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
25,782 (3.90/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Rocket Lake Core i5 11600K @ 5 Ghz with PL tweaks
Motherboard MSI MAG Z490 TOMAHAWK
Cooling Thermalright Peerless Assassin 120SE + 4 Phanteks 140mm case fans
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB SR) Patriot Viper Steel 4133Mhz DDR4 @ 3600Mhz CL14@1.45v Gear 1
Video Card(s) Asus Dual RTX 4070 OC
Storage WD Blue SN550 1TB M.2 NVME//Crucial MX500 500GB SSD (OS)
Display(s) AOC Q2781PQ 27 inch Ultra Slim 2560 x 1440 IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek ALC1200/SPDIF to Sony AVR @ 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic CORE GM650w Gold Semi modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
255 (0.08/day)
Location
Lurking over a keyboard ...
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom WC
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200MHz C16 @ 3800MHz C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XTX (MBA)
Storage 2x SN770 2TB, 4x 870 EVO 4TB
Display(s) Asus MG279Q
Case Be Quiet Dark Base 900 (Mods: Front mesh panel, improved top panel for airflow)
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Mouse Logitech G700S
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/29041947 https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/84973091
So version 2.74 atiflash does not work in pure dos mode?

@Bojcha v2.74 is AtiWinFlash , the Win in the title denotes Windows. It is only Windows GUI (graphical user interface = atiwinflash.exe) and Windows CLI (command line interface = atiflash.exe). None of those executables will work under "pure DOS" (ie USB stick with bootable DOS files) for any AMD card.

AtiFlash v4.17 is on TPU this supports AMD GPU before Tonga for "pure DOS".

AtiFlash v4.18 is on OCN (The Stilt posted it) this supports AMD GPU upto Tonga for "pure DOS".
 

MacNavy

New Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
10 (0.00/day)
Hi guys,
i can't update my Fury X (sapphire) at the last bios, i have follow the guide (thanks to have realized it), but atiflash reply me "no adaptor found"! How it's possible?
Thanks
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,681 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Hi guys,
i can't update my Fury X (sapphire) at the last bios, i have follow the guide (thanks to have realized it), but atiflash reply me "no adaptor found"! How it's possible?
Thanks

Please make your own thread.
 
Joined
Dec 12, 2015
Messages
43 (0.01/day)
I've a question about latest AGP VGA; how all ones know this kind of VGA have 2 main chips: the real processor of the video card which operates as pci-express serial unit and the bridge unit able to manage the flow of data computing them into AGP MODE; Since the vga implements this 2 different kind of processor the bios flash utilities (atiflash for example) state the presence of 2 different ADAPTERS or bioses listing them with different nouns and or codes with the same length (bytes); so begins the confusion:
  1. one or more eeprom exist for each adapters;
  2. only one eepom exists listing 2 different bioses or adapters;
  3. the new bioses concerns only the pci-express eeprom;
  4. the bridge bios is the same such as the pci express bios;
  5. the birdge bios is different form the pci-express adapter;
  6. 2 separate eeproms are plugged on the PCB with different bioses;
  7. 2 separate eeproms are plugged on the PCB with the same bios;
  8. 1 only eeprom is plugged on the PCB providing one only bios;
  9. 1 only eeprom is plugged on the PCB providing 2 sections which represent 2 different adapters each one with its specific bios.

    This information is useful to understand how and what flash in an hybrid pci-express agp vga. thanks.
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
561 (0.12/day)
System Name Salamander
Processor Ryzen 5 3600 @ 4.325ghz 1.206v
Motherboard Asrock X370 Taichi
Cooling EK Supremacy Evo | Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS XFlow | Noiseblocker BlackSilent Pro 120mm x 3
Memory Team T-Force Xtreem 2x8GB DDR4 3733 @ 3733mhz c16 1.4v | IF @ 1866mhz
Video Card(s) XFX RX-470 RS Single Fan flashed to RX-570 @ stock water-cooled
Storage Samsung 850 Evo 256gb M.2 | Crucial M4 128GB | WD Blue 1TB | WD Blue 500GB 2.5" | Toshiba 2TB 2.5"
Display(s) LG 27MP68VQ 27" 1920x1080 75hz IPS Freesync monitor
Case Fractal Design Define C
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Gold 650w
Mouse Steelseries Kana White
Keyboard Steelseries 6GV2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro N
does the autoflasher work for polaris cards? Cause up till now atiflash still doesn't have an updated version that supports polaris cards in dos mode and I had no luck flashing the gpu inside windows.
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,681 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
does the autoflasher work for polaris cards? Cause up till now atiflash still doesn't have an updated version that supports polaris cards in dos mode and I had no luck flashing the gpu inside windows.

Than no
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Help. I am a stupid:banghead:. My Sapphire Rx480 nitro try bios update via Windows. But vbios is damaged. System not booting. i'm flashed again backed up original vbios but I can't boot up. :(
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,680 (4.31/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill 3600
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller
Keyboard Keychron K8
Software W10P
The card has two BIOS swap to the backup
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2017
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
The card has two BIOS swap to the backup
There is no switch on my card
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,681 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Help. I am a stupid:banghead:. My Sapphire Rx480 nitro try bios update via Windows. But vbios is damaged. System not booting. i'm flashed again backed up original vbios but I can't boot up. :(

This thread isnt for support requests, like the OP and previous posts mention.
 

cdawall

where the hell are my stars
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
27,680 (4.31/day)
Location
Houston
System Name All the cores
Processor 2990WX
Motherboard Asrock X399M
Cooling CPU-XSPC RayStorm Neo, 2x240mm+360mm, D5PWM+140mL, GPU-2x360mm, 2xbyski, D4+D5+100mL
Memory 4x16GB G.Skill 3600
Video Card(s) (2) EVGA SC BLACK 1080Ti's
Storage 2x Samsung SM951 512GB, Samsung PM961 512GB
Display(s) Dell UP2414Q 3840X2160@60hz
Case Caselabs Mercury S5+pedestal
Audio Device(s) Fischer HA-02->Fischer FA-002W High edition/FA-003/Jubilate/FA-011 depending on my mood
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200w
Mouse Thermaltake Theron, Steam controller
Keyboard Keychron K8
Software W10P
Joined
Jan 17, 2015
Messages
255 (0.08/day)
Location
Lurking over a keyboard ...
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom WC
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200MHz C16 @ 3800MHz C16
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XTX (MBA)
Storage 2x SN770 2TB, 4x 870 EVO 4TB
Display(s) Asus MG279Q
Case Be Quiet Dark Base 900 (Mods: Front mesh panel, improved top panel for airflow)
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply CoolerMaster V850
Mouse Logitech G700S
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/29041947 https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/84973091
Help. I am a stupid:banghead:. My Sapphire Rx480 nitro try bios update via Windows. But vbios is damaged. System not booting. i'm flashed again backed up original vbios but I can't boot up. :(

The card has two BIOS swap to the backup

There is no switch on my card

I have that card yes there is. Try reading something about it

Seems @Hobar is right.

SKU codes 11260-01 , 11260-07 , 11260-10 in specs show dual bios, these are cards with PCI-E power plug on rear. This is also true for SKU codes 11260-02, 11260-09.

SKU codes 11260-13, 11260-16 in specs show no dual bios, these are cards with PCI-E power plug on side. This is also true for SKU code 11260-20.

As advised open another thread @Hobar .
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top