• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon VII Has No UEFI Support

Joined
Aug 1, 2011
Messages
69 (0.02/day)
Location
WIGAN, UK
System Name BlackDragon
Processor FX-8350
Motherboard Asus M5A99X EVO
Cooling Corsair H90 2 fan system
Memory 32 gb 1866 Corsair vengence pro
Video Card(s) Powercolor RX580 Red Devil 8gb
Storage 5 SSD's
Display(s) 29WK600 Ultrawide screen DP to DP
Case NZXT 630 phantom case
Audio Device(s) Asus DGX 5.1
Power Supply 700Watt Cooler master
Mouse Generic gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G19s gaming keyboard
Software Win 10 (1809)
Personally I would not buy any new card until all the bugs are ironed out this way its shows the manufacturers whos boss them or us the consumer..... SPEAK WITH YOUR WALLET don't buy shoddy goods
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
113 (0.17/day)
Location
Finland
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard Asus Z87-Expert
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S, &case fans all controlled by Aquaero 6
Memory 2x8GB TeamGroup Xtreem LV 2133MHz
Video Card(s) Vega 64
Storage Samsung 840 Pro + 2x 5GB WD Red@RAID1
Display(s) Dell U3014
Case Lian Li PC-A71B
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR, Objective2 (2x), AKG K702&712, Beyerdynamic DT990
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 650 (+Eaton 5P 1550 as "backup power")
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G810
I think this just confirms this card wasn't in any of AMD's longer term plans and materialized when Nvidia's pricing left opening to release this expensive to make card for consumers.
 
  • Like
Reactions: M2B
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
658 (0.60/day)
System Name Unimatrix
Processor Intel i9-9900K @ 5.0GHz
Motherboard ASRock x390 Taichi Ultimate
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory 32GB GSkill TridentZ RGB DDR4 @ 3400MHz 14-14-14-32
Video Card(s) EVGA 2080 with Heatkiller Water Block
Storage 2x Samsung 960 Pro 512GB M.2 SSD in RAID 0, 1x WD Blue 1TB M.2 SSD
Display(s) Alienware 34" Ultrawide 3440x1440
Case CoolerMaster P500M Mesh
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
Keyboard Corsair K75
Benchmark Scores Really Really High
Jeez, I don't even know what to say here.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
2,862 (2.27/day)
It's a non-issue as far as the functionality of the card. All you would need to do is disable secure boot for the card to work perfectly fine in any system. Secure boot is a motherboard thing. NOT a Windows 10/OS requirement. You can run W10(or any OS since Windows 8 for that matter) with, or without, secure boot enabled in the motherboard's UEFI/BIOS(still running Windows 7 or earlier? VBIOS UEFI support is meaningless/makes no difference whatsoever). NON-ISSUE! RMA is not necessarily going to fix it either. It could, if they decided to flash a BIOS with UEFI support on it and ship it back to you. If not, you'll be getting a card back that is the same as the return.
I wonder how many PC users today know how to use BIOS... 30%? Less? Any guess?
You write these theories like everyone was into this kind of things. And people really aren't.

I'm really disappointed. Not by AMD, because - let's be honest - it's their way of doing stuff.
I'm disappointed no one has came up in this thread to say that's it is better this way because it is "fun" and that's what real "enthusiasts" do. :)
 

Emu

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2018
Messages
12 (0.02/day)
Ironically, flashing a GPU BIOS is a lot safer then flashing a motherboard BIOS. If your GPU BIOS flash fails then you can still boot your computer using a second GPU and then attempt the flash again. If your motherboard BIOS flash fails then you are probably up for a RMA on the board...
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2010
Messages
4,749 (1.44/day)
Location
Rīga, Latvia
System Name HELLSTAR
Processor Intel 5960X @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD3
Cooling Custom Loop. 360+240 rads.
Memory 4x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz 15-17-17-36 CR1
Video Card(s) ASUS 1080 Ti FE + water block
Storage Optane 900P + Samsung PM981 NVMe 1TB + 750 EVO 500GB
Display(s) Philips PHL BDM3270
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Fractal Design Newton R3 1000W
Mouse Razer Basilisk
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Windows 10 insider
It ain't the first time... 7970 had the same, so what?
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
2,862 (2.27/day)
Ironically, flashing a GPU BIOS is a lot safer then flashing a motherboard BIOS. If your GPU BIOS flash fails then you can still boot your computer using a second GPU and then attempt the flash again. If your motherboard BIOS flash fails then you are probably up for a RMA on the board...
Flashing anything is a procedure no PC user should be forced to do, ever.
If you like this kind of things because of adrenaline and you're not fit enough to try skydiving, then go ahead - flash your GPU every day.

I wonder how would people react if they had to flash their cars or ovens. :)

As was already mentioned: in this case recall is the only action a serious company would take. We'll see how serious AMD is.
And remember! It's a great pro card, right? Let's see how they treat pro clients. ;-)
 
Joined
May 12, 2017
Messages
622 (0.66/day)
You do understand that AMD can only provide BIOS update for their reference cards, not for boardpartners cards.
I'm fully aware. What I want to see is, if their was a BIOS update available it will flag-up in the Radeon Software & with a single click it will download, then you will be ask do you want to update firmware. Logitech software does this, it detects software & firmware updates with very simple clicks to update. What I wanted is a safe way for all users with reference cards to update their firmware. Besides this it will always be maintained & you will always have the latest flash utility built-in. That's call supporting your own product firmware & I would like AMD Radeon Software to follow the same route as Logitech.

EDIT: User(s) that intended to flash their cards I recommend removing all overclocking before flashing. This goes for all devices when updating firmware.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
526 (0.71/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
Well good for those OEM dell system then.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
7,407 (2.03/day)
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name Newer Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) RTX 2080ti MSI Duke @2Ghz ish
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) LG 32" 165Hz 1440p GSYNC
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
Not sure about that. if you are competent enough to install a gpu you can follow instructions to manage a few clicks and update the bios. Not that complicated. I doubt many gamers are noobs like that purchasing a $700 Graphics card.
The physical instal of a device and a simple software instal (driver) is less stressful than a bios flash. I think too many folk on these forums assume everyone has a competency with this level of 'involvement'. That's simply not true. For most people, installing a piece of hardware is a mystery, let alone, a magical bios flash. And if it hadn't escaped attention, how many bios flash threads warn about the possible issues? I'm a tech noob but my work colleagues think that I know way more.

Anyway, in the grand scheme of things, the UEFI issue simply adds to the notion that AMD really rushed this release. And I don't understand why they felt the need.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2019
Messages
26 (0.08/day)
Location
Kaunas/Klaipeda, Lithuania
Processor Ryzen 1700
Motherboard AB350 Pro4
Cooling Wraith Spire RGB
Memory 2x16GB Crucial 2400MHz CL16
Video Card(s) RX580 8GB Red Dragon V2
Storage 256GB M8Pe M.2 + 2TB Toshiba 7.2K RPM
Display(s) S2418H
Case Focus G Gunmetal Grey
Power Supply Focus+ Gold 550W
Software Win10 Home licensed :P
It's a VERY rushed product for sure.
Navi, we need your help :cry::respect:
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
167 (0.08/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Main Machine
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
Cooling Water cooling, EK-DDC 3.2 PWM, 1x360mm+1x240mm+1x120mm Rads, CPU XSPC RayStorm Pro RBG
Memory 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4-3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon VII
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 250GB, 2x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 1TB, 4x3TB Seagate
Display(s) BenQ ZOWIE XL2730 144Hz 27 inch Freesync
Case Cooler Master COSMOS C700P
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Elite Pro Tournament + Elite Pro TAC
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series HX1200i 1200W Platinum
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro
Software Win 10 Pro
@btarunr
Thanks a lot for the info.
I just flashed mine Sapphire Radeon VII with the ASRock bios with zero issues using the ATIFlash.
As always ATIFlash is very useful tool. :toast:

By the way, GPU-Z is not working properly on my system ever since I moved to Radeon VII.
The different clock frequencies (GPU, Memory) are always shown empty. :confused:

My screen shot looks different than what you have attached.

1549918950001.png
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
19,867 (3.49/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
By the way, GPU-Z is not working properly on my system ever since I moved to Radeon VII.
The different clock frequencies (GPU, Memory) are always shown empty. :confused:
Yeah I'm aware of this and working on it, will have something this week, hopefully.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
167 (0.08/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Main Machine
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
Cooling Water cooling, EK-DDC 3.2 PWM, 1x360mm+1x240mm+1x120mm Rads, CPU XSPC RayStorm Pro RBG
Memory 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4-3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon VII
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 250GB, 2x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 1TB, 4x3TB Seagate
Display(s) BenQ ZOWIE XL2730 144Hz 27 inch Freesync
Case Cooler Master COSMOS C700P
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Elite Pro Tournament + Elite Pro TAC
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series HX1200i 1200W Platinum
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro
Software Win 10 Pro
Yeah I'm aware of this and working on it, will have something this week, hopefully.
Thanks a lot.
As always I am thankful for the nice tools TPU provides to us. :lovetpu:
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,944 (2.10/day)
Location
USA
I really hope Nvidia is still not on a 2-3 year cycle for new cards... Intel dedicated GPU will be high end they said... let's hope it brings competition in late 2020.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2013
Messages
113 (0.05/day)
I'm fully aware. What I want to see is, if their was a BIOS update available it will flag-up in the Radeon Software & with a single click it will download, then you will be ask do you want to update firmware. Logitech software does this, it detects software & firmware updates with very simple clicks to update. What I wanted is a safe way for all users with reference cards to update their firmware.
The portion of people that by reference cards is too small compared to cards from boardpartners and they only sell them until custom variants become available. Also not every model number gets a reference variant. I'm not saying this is not a good feature, but the possible user base is small for the investment.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2018
Messages
134 (0.31/day)
pytorch and rocm will rock the world but amd making it painful to experiment.
 
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
487 (0.53/day)
Soooo, can I start my pc with radeon vii in it if it's brand new?

Luckily I have a r7 240 to put in it and get things going till I get my radeon vii saturday!
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,709 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Jokes on UEFI and secure boot, b/c I don't use it!
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2017
Messages
526 (0.71/day)
Location
Asia
Processor Intel Core i5 4590
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97x Gaming 3
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-800MHz [1600MT/s]
Video Card(s) XFX RX 560 4GB
Storage Transcend SSD370S 128GB; Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S20D300 20" 768p TN
Case Delux DLC-MV888
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Corsair VS450
Mouse A4Tech OP-620D
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores BaseMark GPU : 250 Point
You do understand that AMD can only provide BIOS update for their reference cards, not for boardpartners cards.
Well ABI could use that tool the same way we use ATIflash, but in secure and official way to update UEFI.
 

Nkd

Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
291 (0.07/day)
@btarunr
Thanks a lot for the info.
I just flashed mine Sapphire Radeon VII with the ASRock bios with zero issues using the ATIFlash.
As always ATIFlash is very useful tool. :toast:

By the way, GPU-Z is not working properly on my system ever since I moved to Radeon VII.
The different clock frequencies (GPU, Memory) are always shown empty. :confused:

My screen shot looks different than what you have attached.

View attachment 116237
This usually happens if you change cards and GPUz will have issue in fully recognizing the card and specs. use DDU to uinstall drivers and then do a fresh driver install and you should be good.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,925 (3.63/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Oh FFS, only AMD could score an own goal like this! :shadedshu: I mean, how does something so fundamental on a new product even happen?

This looks like a quality control issue and a real embarrassing humdinger. No wonder I'm sticking with NVIDIA, high prices or not and if I can't afford to upgrade, I stay with my trusty GTX 1080 until I can.

I could keep ranting so I better stop here.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
167 (0.08/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Main Machine
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
Cooling Water cooling, EK-DDC 3.2 PWM, 1x360mm+1x240mm+1x120mm Rads, CPU XSPC RayStorm Pro RBG
Memory 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4-3200 CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon VII
Storage Samsung SSD 960 EVO NVMe 250GB, 2x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 1TB, 4x3TB Seagate
Display(s) BenQ ZOWIE XL2730 144Hz 27 inch Freesync
Case Cooler Master COSMOS C700P
Audio Device(s) Turtle Beach Elite Pro Tournament + Elite Pro TAC
Power Supply Corsair Professional Series HX1200i 1200W Platinum
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro
Software Win 10 Pro
This usually happens if you change cards and GPUz will have issue in fully recognizing the card and specs. use DDU to uinstall drivers and then do a fresh driver install and you should be good.
Thanks I will try it. :)
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2016
Messages
2,862 (2.27/day)
Oh FFS, only AMD could score an own goal like this! :shadedshu: I mean, how does something so fundamental on a new product even happen?
Everyone's praising AMD for aggressive pricing. Where do you think that comes from? Electricity is cheaper on their side of the road? They get free toilet paper?
 
Top