• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Request o:? for an Unlock the shaders bios / more information

Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
18 (0.40/day)
Likes
6
#1
hi ppls~!
this is my gpuz lookup https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/asus-rx-560-evo-oc.b5257
an ive been researching shader unlocking and figured id join here to get some more specific advice about it :3
is it possible to get all shaders unlocked for this card with a bios flash?
could someone educate me please or maybe please help me if its not asking too much?
thanks for reading
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
887 (0.46/day)
Likes
891
Location
somewhere
#2
@eidairaman1 should be able to help out with this I think.

Btw i will just say that personally, IMO, it is not worth it with this card. the extra 128 Shaders do not make a huge difference in all honesty. Have you tried overclocking, maybe 1300-1400Mhz possible, or is that limited by power limit too> In which case a bios flash may help. Or you can do a powerplay mod in the registry but im not the person to ask for that. Is the card slot powered or has an additional powerconnector? :D

edit i am blind. i read your link and has no power connector. That'll limit the OC for sure :(
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
18 (0.40/day)
Likes
6
#3
@eidairaman1 should be able to help out with this I think.

Btw i will just say that personally, IMO, it is not worth it with this card. the extra 128 Shaders do not make a huge difference in all honesty. Have you tried overclocking, maybe 1300-1400Mhz possible, or is that limited by power limit too> In which case a bios flash may help. Or you can do a powerplay mod in the registry but im not the person to ask for that. Is the card slot powered or has an additional powerconnector? :D

edit i am blind. i read your link and has no power connector. That'll limit the OC for sure :(
o: thanks for reply ! well not all ssmall gains shine but overall perhaps many small improvements make better gains together ? (idk) i did play open afterburner and before oc i was reading up on my cards specs and learnt about the shader ordeal thing, so figured id look into updating the bios prior to any overclocking, do the custom bios affect oc potentials?havent heard about powerplay mods yet~ an ya its powered by the slot, no connectors going to it~ -
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
14,025 (4.13/day)
Likes
8,169
#4
I do not recall a 560 being able to unlock anything... but admit I do not know for sure. Assuming that card you linked is the exact model without external power, then you are limited to about 10W more anyway. Just crank the power limit slider and enjoy is the best thing you can do to that card.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2013
Messages
887 (0.46/day)
Likes
891
Location
somewhere
#5
o: thanks for reply ! well not all ssmall gains shine but overall perhaps many small improvements make better gains together ? (idk) i did play open afterburner and before oc i was reading up on my cards specs and learnt about the shader ordeal thing, so figured id look into updating the bios prior to any overclocking, do the custom bios affect oc potentials?havent heard about powerplay mods yet~ an ya its powered by the slot, no connectors going to it~ -
Well you're right every little helps^^. But just gotta be sure it worth the risk. flashing card is sometimes risky on cards with no dual bios switch. anyway @eidairaman1 is pretty expert at GPU bios flashing so when he gets online im sure he can help you out~
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#6
Ok please be patient, I will help you when I have time to, I will tag you in and send you a private message.

I am currently on my Job so it may take some time.

First things first please provide pictures of the white stickers off the back of the card and pleaee provide a GPU-Z screen shot.

Bear in mind not all cards do unlock but we will try anyway.

@ForestElves
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
18 (0.40/day)
Likes
6
#7
Ok please be patient, I will help you when I have time to, I will tag you in and send you a private message.

I am currently on my Job so it may take some time.

First things first please provide pictures of the white stickers off the back of the card and pleaee provide a GPU-Z screen shot.

Bear in mind not all cards do unlock but we will try anyway.

@ForestElves
o: hi! thanks!have good day at works~~ ^u^
heres the pics and some nifty extra extras in case itd help~
& if theres anything else you need, lemme know or if theres anything else possible with the bios id be curious to learn more from someone experienced,
and as side note i was curious if you know wat tools exist to use to back this current bios up~
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
Ok sorry for late reply. I will start looking

This is your card

https://www.asus.com/us/Graphics-Cards/RX560-O4G-EVO/specifications/

Will start looking

This is your Original Bios
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197919/asus-rx560d-4096-170925

These are 1187/1500, they might be 560D bios (896) or non D Bios (1024)

I would try these 2 first, let us know then we will proceed.
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/207156/207156

https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/208703/208703



I do not recall a 560 being able to unlock anything... but admit I do not know for sure. Assuming that card you linked is the exact model without external power, then you are limited to about 10W more anyway. Just crank the power limit slider and enjoy is the best thing you can do to that card.
Some 560Ds can be unlocked, not all

@ForestElves
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
18 (0.40/day)
Likes
6
#9
Ok sorry for late reply. I will start looking

This is your card

https://www.asus.com/us/Graphics-Cards/RX560-O4G-EVO/specifications/

Will start looking

This is your Original Bios
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197919/asus-rx560d-4096-170925

These are 1187/1500, they might be 560D bios (896) or non D Bios (1024)
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/207156/207156
sweet o: thank you thts a good resource to have!(i guess that first one is my recovery backup then? )
is there a rom flashing program ill need for this? not sure what wat to expect :3
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#10
sweet o: thank you thts a good resource to have!(i guess that first one is my recovery backup then? )
is there a rom flashing program ill need for this? not sure what wat to expect :3
Ok for safest bet use gpu-z to back up your bios, i provided that link as a backup to that.

Start with that first then we will proceed, do you have an igp?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
492 (0.29/day)
Likes
294
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 4.05ghz smt off / 4.025ghz smt on
Motherboard asrock b350m pro4 with asrock x370m pro4 bio
Cooling arctic cooler 240mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-34 1.40v
Video Card(s) PNY XLR gtx1060 3gb
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#11
if you save the original bios using gpu-z and upload it here i will mod it for you. this way you dont have to worry about incompatibility.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#12
if you save the original bios using gpu-z and upload it here i will mod it for you. this way you dont have to worry about incompatibility.
I was looking for closest compatibility in the files, those match but not a guarantee, others have a B in their subsystem ID, others have totally different numbers, gotta tread lightly with the approach I have
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
492 (0.29/day)
Likes
294
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 4.05ghz smt off / 4.025ghz smt on
Motherboard asrock b350m pro4 with asrock x370m pro4 bio
Cooling arctic cooler 240mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-34 1.40v
Video Card(s) PNY XLR gtx1060 3gb
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#13
I was looking for closest compatibility in the files, those match but not a guarantee, others have a B in their subsystem ID, others have totally different numbers, gotta tread lightly with the approach I have
in most cases where the card would unlock by just modding the stock bios like the method i use, you can flash a verified unmodded bios from a card that has all the shaders and not need to worry about patching the driver afterwards. you just have to make sure the bios matches up with the card. both methods work but i find it easier to just modify the stock image and have them run the pixel clock patcher after every driver update.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
64 (0.02/day)
Likes
8
System Name Master & Blaster
Processor FX 6300 4.4 GHz | Xeon E5440 3.85 GHz
Motherboard M5A97 | P35C-DS3R
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Plus | Themis
Memory 8 GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX R9 270X 2 GB
Storage OCZ ARC 100 240GB | Patriot Blast 240 GB
Case Arcadia
#14
TS u can try an ASUS RX 560 4GB Micron bios from TPU bios collection, beware that your card has no add-on 6-pin PCIE power connector and you might get reduced clocks! This bios is from the strix model that runs at 1275 MHz Core. You will also need atiflash tool, always make BACKUP of your current bios 1st! If at the end your card runs fine you can undervolt it to avoid getting lower clocks. I recently converted a Sapphire Nitro RX 460 4G into a RX 560 with success.
 

Attachments

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#15
in most cases where the card would unlock by just modding the stock bios like the method i use, you can flash a verified unmodded bios from a card that has all the shaders and not need to worry about patching the driver afterwards. you just have to make sure the bios matches up with the card. both methods work but i find it easier to just modify the stock image and have them run the pixel clock patcher after every driver update.
Your solution is faster, i just used the hard line as an alternative method but greater risk of inoping the card.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
18 (0.40/day)
Likes
6
#16
Ok for safest bet use gpu-z to back up your bios, i provided that link as a backup to that.

Start with that first then we will proceed, do you have an igp?
ihave a i7 3770 with an interal graphics processor, saved the baffin bios-

if you save the original bios using gpu-z and upload it here i will mod it for you. this way you dont have to worry about incompatibility.
not letting me upload it through the regular post, is there a way to link it?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,426 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,580
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.43v
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
#17
ihave a i7 3770 with an interal graphics processor, saved the baffin bios-


not letting me upload it through the regular post, is there a way to link it?
Save as a file then upload using the reply feature in this thread
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
18 (0.40/day)
Likes
6
#18
Your solution is faster, i just used the hard line as an alternative method but greater risk of inoping the card.
wonder what those differences are at an end user level

Save as a file then upload using the reply feature in this thread
keeps saying "
Oops! We ran into some problems.
The uploaded file does not have an allowed extension.
"
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,426 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,580
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.43v
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
#19
wonder what those differences are at an end user level


keeps saying "
Oops! We ran into some problems.
The uploaded file does not have an allowed extension.
"
Put it in a zip file
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
5,426 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,580
Location
West Midlands. UK.
System Name Ryzen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 - 4.0Ghz 1.43v
Motherboard mATX Asrock AB350m AM4
Cooling Raijintek Leto Pro
Memory Vulcan T-Force 16GB DDR4 3000 16.18.18 @3200Mhz 14.17.17
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ 4GB RX 580 - 1450/2000 BIOS mod 8-)
Storage Seagate B'cuda 1TB/Sandisk 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6220813
#21
in most cases where the card would unlock by just modding the stock bios like the method i use, you can flash a verified unmodded bios from a card that has all the shaders and not need to worry about patching the driver afterwards. you just have to make sure the bios matches up with the card. both methods work but i find it easier to just modify the stock image and have them run the pixel clock patcher after every driver update.
Subbed as I'm interested to see what you modify to unlock the shaders :)
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2014
Messages
492 (0.29/day)
Likes
294
Processor ryzen 5 1600 @ 4.05ghz smt off / 4.025ghz smt on
Motherboard asrock b350m pro4 with asrock x370m pro4 bio
Cooling arctic cooler 240mm
Memory Super Talent F3200UA8G x2 (16gbs total) @ 3200mhz cl16-17-17-17-34 1.40v
Video Card(s) PNY XLR gtx1060 3gb
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Triactor 128gb ssd/3TB HDD
Display(s) Lenovo 21.5'' 1920x1080p ips
Case Rosewill CULLINAN
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply corsair 750w
Mouse Best Buy Insignia
Keyboard Best Buy Insignia
Software Win 10 pro
#22
here you go.

this is the method i use post#35
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
18 (0.40/day)
Likes
6
#23
TS u can try an ASUS RX 560 4GB Micron bios from TPU bios collection, beware that your card has no add-on 6-pin PCIE power connector and you might get reduced clocks! This bios is from the strix model that runs at 1275 MHz Core. You will also need atiflash tool, always make BACKUP of your current bios 1st! If at the end your card runs fine you can undervolt it to avoid getting lower clocks. I recently converted a Sapphire Nitro RX 460 4G into a RX 560 with success.
how does undervolting keep the clocks high? is it done in motherboard bios or the gpus bios? jus curious to learn everything i can prior to the flash

here you go.

this is the method i use post#35
o: thank you so much for the time you took to do this! :D
ps i was also wondering wats the physical differences in this edit method and the hard line edit method mentioned above by eidairaman1?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
25,857 (6.00/day)
Likes
8,893
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#24
how does undervolting keep the clocks high? is it done in motherboard bios or the gpus bios? jus curious to learn everything i can prior to the flash


o: thank you so much for the time you took to do this! :D
ps i was also wondering wats the physical differences in this edit method and the hard line edit method mentioned above by eidairaman1?
Okay the method that I'm talking about is taking the bios from a different card that shares a lot of the same characteristics as yours and putting it on there @Final_Fighter method is to take the existing bios from the card and modify it, with major bias modifications it sometimes requires patching due to the drivers being used.

My Method may not require it but there is a bigger risk of the file Bing is my break your card but typically Polaris base cards are real easy to recover
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2019
Messages
18 (0.40/day)
Likes
6
#25
Okay the method that I'm talking about is taking the bios from a different card that shares a lot of the same characteristics as yours and putting it on there @Final_Fighter method is to take the existing bios from the card and modify it, with major bias modifications it sometimes requires patching due to the drivers being used.

My Method may not require it but there is a bigger risk of the file Bing is my break your card but typically Polaris base cards are real easy to recover
ohh i understand, so i backed up my bios here earlier, and have the custom bios , i guess im good to go attempt a flash anytime now? any tips for the ati flashing program or recovery tips if it dosent post/display after replacing it?
 
Top